Fiction logo

Finter

Noun: the season between summer and winter in Canada. An occurrence that causes children in Halloween costumes to have to wear them over their snowsuits.

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 8 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
Finter
Photo by ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Janko Ferliฤ on Unsplash

Dear Mother Nature,

I am writing to you regarding your poor decision-making, over the last eight years of my life. Or at least the last few years in memory.

It was Halloween the other day and I feel the need to remind you that typically happens in fall. Or so I am told.

I have yet to experience this thing that the grown-ups call fall, or autumn when they are feeling fancy.

Anyways, according to the grown-ups, fall is a season when the leaves change colours and fall off the trees. The weather starts to cool down but so much that you need winter gear.

I am also told that it occurs between summer and winter.

So now I would like to ask you, as a resident of Calgary Alberta, are you confused?

Why do we always get a few days of the leaves changing colours but before the leaves start to fall, you bring the snow?

As a child of eight, I find this very confusing and highly illogical.

That being said, I am writing to you in hopes that maybe next year, we may be allowed to experience this fall that everyone talks about, this time of year. Not this Finter business, you have been giving us.

Please have some consideration for those of us who have never experienced Fall.

Sincerely Yours,

Maddy

(An angry eight-year-old whoโ€™s had to wear my Halloween costumes under a winter suit for my entire life.)

Short StoryMicrofictionfamilyClassical

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! ๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿฉต

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (17)

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    This is amazing ๐Ÿคฃ. Loved the way you structured it!!

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Haha, you were just having fun with this challenge. It was one of my favorites. It really put a serious test to creativity. And Yes! Finter is real... Also, the child's name, Maddy was very clever!

  • Kendall Defoe 7 months ago

    Another word I did not know I needed... ;)

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    I really hope this places Donna! What a brilliant word! Would it be strange if I tried to make it a thing here in the UK?

  • Loved this, just like Maddy I am in the same boat in western PAโ€ฆ two inches of snow Halloween night ๐ŸŽƒ

  • JBaz8 months ago

    lol. Ahh the life of a prairie child.

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Your micros with the new words are really fun! Good job!! ๐Ÿ˜

  • Awww, poor Maddy! She asked Mother Nature to take all the snow and shove it up her... no sorry I meant to say shove it into winter so it doesn't end up as finter. Lol. Loved your word and story!

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    I lived near Canada for a couple of years, seriously lacking in Fall for real. The snow is surplus plus. Very Finteresting. I like the word Finter.

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    Finter is so rude!

  • J. S. Wade8 months ago

    Dang it. But, I have no doubt you were/are cute as a button on your Finter Halloween costume. ๐Ÿคฃ

  • Mark Gagnon8 months ago

    Sounds like Halloween in New England. Fortunately, my costumes were handmade so they fit over my finter gear.

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    This is a great one, Donna! Finter in Wyoming is very similar. And I can't wait to get back!

  • Dang, that is kinda messed upโ—

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    LOL! While I have almost no memories of living in Calgary (left when I was like 5) I completely relate to this!! I had to wear my winter jacket and occasionally snow pants more than a few times while growing up here in Ottawa. I highly agree, this 'Finter' business we have to deal with is really for the birds. Had they not all wised up and flocked off south

  • Heather Hubler8 months ago

    Oh, I hope Mother Nature listens for next year!! Loved this one :)

Donna Fox (HKB)Written by Donna Fox (HKB)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.