Fiction logo

Leedle-Laudle

Verb: to saunter about in a casual manner, to act without a care in the world or act carelessly. Other forms, leedle-laudling, leedle-laudled, leedle-laudles, and leedle-laudler. Noun: to be a time waster or one that lacks work ethic.

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 8 months ago 1 min read
15
Leedle-Laudle
Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

There goes Bob again, leedle-laudling about his day.

My neck cracked in an admittedly dramatic eye-roll that nearly decapitated me.

“Ugh,” I sighed to myself, grabbing my neck in pain.

“Alright, Janice?” Bob called, leedle-laudling past my cubicle.

“Yeah,” I muttered as I scowled at the back of his head.

I hate that guy, he gets paid to walk back and forth to the water cooler, wasting time and kissing ass as he does so.

Meanwhile, I need proof of approval to use the restroom.

Fricken Bob.

I couldn’t believe the buzz around his name, something about a possible promotion on his horizon. I didn’t even know there was a vacant position. What were they going to do, make up a new title and position for him?

Bob Nasser Head of Leedle-laudling and Tomfoolery.

I chuckled to myself at the idea that his office and desk nameplates might read that.

“I’m headed out.” Bob bid me goodnight, as he leedle-laudled past my desk one last time.

“Bye, Bob,” I called, not looking up as I feverishly typed something and sent it to the printer.

I quickly got up and ran to collect the piece of paper and some scotch tape. Then I leedle-laudled past Bob’s cubicle and taped the page under his name plate.

It now read:

Bob Nasser

King of the Leedle-Laudlers

I smiled to myself, eager to see what the general reaction might be come Monday morning. Then packed my things left for the day.

Short StoryMicrofictionHumorExcerpt
15

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    oh noooo this is why Bob was out to get Janice??? I kinda hope they keep feuding though LOL

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Funny, fun word. Every office has a leedle laudler. Usually they are related to the boss. So funny,

  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    Haha! I love this entry - and the revenge!

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Tsk tsk!! 😉

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    Luckily, we don't have one of these in my office, but I've spent some time Leedle-laudling in the past. "Bob Nasser Head of Leedle-laudling and Tomfoolery." this was a brilliant line and exactly what I was thinking of when POV thought about a brand-new position for Bob! Really fun piece to read as always Donna :)

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    Excellent story. It’s true we just laugh at this type of people of the world. Lawmakers who don’t do anything but kiss their campaign founders butts. I might adopt this word myself. Great word. I love the humor, “Bob Nasser Head of Leedle-laudling and Tomfoolery. I chuckled to myself at the idea that his office and desk nameplates might read that.”

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    I can see myself using this one regularly.

  • Test8 months ago

    Donna your story is well-written and engaging. I highly recommend it to anyone who has ever had to deal with a coworker who brags too much."😘💖👍

  • Real Poetic8 months ago

    lol I am guilty of leedle-laudling and neck cracks that almost take my head off 🤣

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Haha. Great word and story. Wonder how Bob would react in Monday.

  • Caroline Craven8 months ago

    Ha! What a great word! Will def roll that one out! Good stuff Donna!

  • Hahahahahahahahahahahaa! I need to know what's everyone's reactions too! Especially Bob's! Leedle-laudle is a word I can see myself using because I do know a lot of leedle-laudlers! 🤣🤣🤣🤣 Your word and story was so hilarious and brilliant!

  • Mark Gagnon8 months ago

    Gee, and all this time I thought those people were called Teflon because they got away with everything. Good story!👍

  • J. S. Wade8 months ago

    Mother Goose needed this word. Good one Donna. I have some employees like this, well, I did have some! 🤣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.