Fiction logo

Reaping What Love Sowed (Part 4)

The End of Us

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 8 months ago Updated 6 months ago 2 min read
Reaping What Love Sowed (Part 4)
Photo by Milad Fakurian on Unsplash

In case you missed Part One , Part Two and Part Three. For part four continue on:

Over the years I kept tabs on my girl. I watched as she fell in love and had a family. Then her family had families of their own and so on until it was the size I saw before me today. I felt like a proud father, seeing how much she had grown and the life she was able to build because I saved her. Which only saddened me more, knowing that it was about to come to an end.

I sighed, as I came back to reality and saw my Cher in her wheelchair. She smiled to herself as she watched her many grandchildren without a care in the world. 

I watched as her eyes darted around, following the game they were all encompassed in. Until she caught sight of me and her smile broadened slightly.

With another snap of my fingers, I popped up alongside her.

Immediately, she turned to me, “I wondered when you would come.” She murmured. 

“Were you expecting me?” I asked a little shocked by the welcome.

“I am quite old.” She countered with a wry smile that creased her aged eyes.

“I’m sorry,” I muttered with a crestfallen expression, crouching so that I was at eye level with my Cher.

“No need to be, I’m ready” She admitted with a smile as she reached out and caressed my cheek.

I fought tears that began to blur my vision, “I’m glad you are because I’m not sure I am” I admitted, trying to hold a brave face.

“Don’t worry, I hear it’s as easy as falling asleep.” She replied in a steady voice, still smiling at me fondly.

“I’m the one that told you that,” I stated in a weak voice, as I returned her smile.

“I know, I just don’t want you to be sad when I’m gone.” She explained, her eyes twinkled lovingly.

“Thank you, my friend,” I spoke as I placed a hand on her shoulder and watched as her spirit left her body.

My Cher’s spirit stood up and took my hand, just as she had all those years ago.

I sighed as I squeezed her hand and we stepped away from her body. Then headed towards the light that appeared just ahead of us. It shone so bright that the scene around us that contained her family began to fade away and there was nothing but the pair ion us where we stood.

“Will you stay with me?” Cher inquired, her eyes almost as large as they were on the day we met.

“I wouldn’t dream of leaving you now,” I admitted, as I led her towards the centre of the bright light and only continued to grow brighter.

Tears tracked down my cheeks as a white light engulfed us and we walked into the next plain.

Author’s Note:

This little series was inspired and requested by one Miss Dharrsheena.

She had given me the prompt of having people die in ironic/ funny ways which I think I did in part one but then this story developed into something more. I let the story lead the way and grant me the honour of being the one to tell it.

So I would like to thank you Dharrsheena for the prompt and thank my avid readers for coming along on this journey with us!

Short StorySeriesMicrofictionLoveFantasy

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • The Invisible Writer8 months ago

    This was such a poignant beautiful end to this short series. Still kinda of curious about what happens to them after they go into the light

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    It amazing what a simple prompt can produce. It reminds me how much I love to read and find real life lessons of the human condition through the minds of other creators. This was a heartfelt ending. Excellent work, Donna.

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    Yep! Crying my eyes out! I knew it! This is such a profound little story, Donna! You have a way of writing that brings characters so much rich personality. I find myself really caring for Mort and Cher as if they were real! You should be proud of this Donna! <3

  • Caroline Craven8 months ago

    Oof. That was a really sad ending, but I really loved it. Loved all the stories in this series. Great job Donna.

  • I'd be lying if I said I didn't tear up. This was so sad yet so sweet! Gosh you made it so emotional and Ioved it! Thank you so much for playing along with my crazy ideas! You're the best of the bestest! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Mark Gagnon8 months ago

    That was a fitting ending to a story well told. You kept me throughout the chapters. Well done, Donna!👏👏💙

  • JBaz8 months ago

    I am so pleased you took on the challenge, then let it grow into this beautiful story, a true love story. I have a file in my head where I place all my favourite pieces I’ve read in my life. Yours has just found a spot.

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    I was there straightaway as soon as it was on here. I loved this, Donna. Made me all teary. Think you did a great job.

  • Test8 months ago

    Donna, I appreciate the sense of closure that you provide the reader. Even though the narrator is sad to lose Cher, they are able to say goodbye and move on to the next chapter of their own lives. This is a message that many people can relate to, and it is a fitting way to end your story. I think you did a great job of writing about death and the afterlife. Your ending is beautiful, heartwarming, and thought-provoking.

Donna Fox (HKB)Written by Donna Fox (HKB)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.