Fiction logo

Reaping What Love Sowed (Part 2)

Past, Choices.

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 9 months ago Updated 7 months ago 3 min read
Reaping What Love Sowed (Part 2)
Photo by Sebastian Unrau on Unsplash

In case you missed Part One, click the link. For part two continue on:

I arrived on the scene of a wreckage that would put scrap metal to shame.

Still in training, I felt breathless at the sight before me.

The family car our clients inhabited was nothing but shredded metal that littered the blood-spattered ditch, alongside a lonely road.

“I have taken care of the parents, yet the child survives. I will leave that to you.” My mentor, Agrona explained. She stood proudly surveying the disaster that was of her creation.

I swallowed hard, not wanting to show weakness in front of Agrona. Then with a nod, I stepped into the carnage and searched for the lone survivor, as instructed.

A wail of fear broke the soundless scene.

I turned towards it and that was when I first laid eyes on her.

A young girl, no older than three human years. She was covered in dried blood as she hobbled on small unsteady feet through the wreckage. Tears streamed down her cheeks as she laid eyes on me and paused for a moment.

My heart broke and my voice caught in my throat. At that moment, I had lost all my courage to do what was required of me.

The toddler sniffled a few sobs back before she decided to approach me. “Have you seen my Papa?” She squeaked, her eyes larger than I thought possible.

I shook my head in response, unable to find words.

“Will you help me find him? He was driving and Mama was yelling at him again.” She explained as she blinked up at me in desperation.

“Of course.” I agree, but regretted it immediately as I knew what we would find.

“You need to get rid of it,” Agrona muttered in my ear, appearing suddenly at my side.

“Okay.” I agreed and was grateful when she disappeared.

The child didn’t seem to notice her though. 

Leaving me to assume that as her Reaper, she was only able to see me.

“Let’s go this way,” I instructed, offering my hand out to the girl.

Which she took without hesitation, giving me a gentle squeeze.

I lead her through the trees, away from the wreckage and into the nearby forest, “What’s your name?” I inquired, as I came to a stop once the accident was out of view.

“Cher David,” She replied in a weak voice. She held on to my hand tighter than anyone ever would.

“Okay, Cher. I can’t take you any further but I need you to walk that way.” I gestured through the trees, “If you can run, you’ll get there quicker. You will find a house and a nice lady who can help you find your parents.” I explained, swallowing hard as I hoped my mentor hadn’t followed us into the trees.

“Why can’t you come with me?” She asked, her eyes growing larger in fear.

“I need to take care of something, right now. But I promise we will meet again.” I explained, with a sad smile.

“Okay.” Cher agreed with a nod before she let go of my hand and walked alone through the trees. Then suddenly broke into a run and disappeared from view, to my relief.

“You let her go?” Agrona asked as she appeared at my side with a look of disappointment.

“She will get lost in the forest and be discovered dead in a few days.” I lied, avoiding eye contact as I searched for a hint of her through the trees.

“Well done. I’ll leave it up to you to check in on this situation in a few days.” She replied with a smile of satisfaction.

“Will do.” I agreed, returning her smile.

After a few days, I checked on Cher, as I was supposed to. 

I confirmed that once she was out of sight, it had only taken an hour for her to reach the home I spoke of and was in the custody of a trusted family member.

I was relieved to know she was safe but knew it was only a matter of time before it would be discovered that she had survived. 

For the first little while, I was certain my secret would be discovered any day but as the days ticked by my worries began to subside. I found myself in a false sense of security, not even worried that I’d be caught and just excited to watch Cher grow up.

But it was that carelessness that landed me in my current predicament.

Part Three:

Short StorySeriesLoveFantasyfamily

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

I have two novellas available on Amazon if you are interested:

A Tale of Thieves and A Tale of An Enchanted Forest.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    Oh yes! This is brilliant storytelling Donna! I am so happy the reaper showed mercy despite her boss' insistence! I cannot wait to see what happens with Cher next!

  • A reaper with a heart of gold, I like that. There are so many places to go with this story. Will the reaper take on the rest of the reaping world to save his Cher? What will Cher become in this second life she's been given? Look forward to reading so much more.

  • JBaz9 months ago

    Just as exciting as the first, I like the serious note it took

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    The back story was a clever way to lead into this episode. Great work as always! 💖

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    Oooo!! Was not expecting a flashback! Getting some serious dread though Loving this series!

  • Ahhh, a flashback! I love the name Agrona! Knowing you, I'm sure it has a special meaning. May I know what is it? Also, if he is the Reaper and is in training during that time, who is Agrona? Like I know you mentioned that she's his mentor. But is there like a hierarchy? I'm sorry for asking so many questions 😅 Also, I found one typo. You accidentally wrote it as Agrina instead of Agrona. It's in the fifth paragraph from the top, not including the paragraph about part 1. I wonder what would have happened to him when it was discovered that Cher didn't die. But sadly, in the current timeline, he has her name on this list! The plot thickens! You really have a knack for pulling your readers in and keeping them on their toes! Awesome work D!

  • Caroline Craven9 months ago

    Looking forward to part three.

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Very sad and great! Going to read part 1 too!

  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    Guess it's true, good guys always finish last. Or do they? Guess I'll find out.

  • Test9 months ago

    The story keeps getting better and better. I'm eager to know how the Reaper's secret will be revealed and what the consequences will be. I'm looking forward to reading the next installment!

Donna Fox (HKB)Written by Donna Fox (HKB)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.