Fiction logo

Writers and Readers

Talking of extremes

By Andrei Z.Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Writers and Readers
Photo by Jez Timms on Unsplash

"Mum, dad, I wanna be a writer!"

"Son, haven't you read about the life and fate of Gustav von Aschenbach, or Martin Eden, or Charles Kinbote? Writers are poor unhappy creatures doomed not to end well."

I snort. Now they come up with these last-century fictional characters. Was Charles Kinbote even a writer?

"You know, you should sometimes return from the imaginary world you're living in into the real one. It's not that bad in here."

My parents look at me in astonishment.

"What are you talking about?"

You see, they are voracious readers.

"Anyway, it's time for dinner!"

-------------------------------------

Off the record.

Is there some sort of a moral here? I dunno.

MicrofictionfamilyFable

About the Creator

Andrei Z.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Test5 months ago

    Outstanding work,

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    I laughed out loud at your note to the readers. 🤣 Sometimes that's how I feel after I've written something. Is there a message here or am I just sharing a story? I love your narrative choice, a kid wanting to chase a dream and his parents saying don't because its not a safe choice. Even though they support others doing it. Just funny how the world works.

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    I’m a book worm too but I think I live in the real world.. (I think..). 😅

  • Mackenzie Davisabout a year ago

    Haha, I like your little notes to readers. Love the way the speaker turns the tables on the parents. Great pacing, and wonderful hint at a moral, hehe.

  • Mohammed Darasiabout a year ago

    Moral is: don't read so much 😂😂

Andrei Z.Written by Andrei Z.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.