Fiction logo

World Peace

And Values to Create Peace

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
World Peace
Photo by AM on Unsplash

What is the best fantasy world? Is it Harry Potter, or Star Wars or those two somehow swirled?

I think it is no war, no keeping score.

Who are the world leaders? The best readers?

Does it matter? So long as they know what comes after…

So long as they are kind, generous and compassionate. Loving, wise, honest, truthful, brave, considerate.

Add respect and humility, and you may have what it takes to find world peace. Can anyone make the fighting cease?

Does it happen overnight? No, it doesn’t, that’s right.

It takes strong leadership, will we have to get off this Earth ship?

Some may, I won’t have that say.

As we age, some call our wisdom sage.

Most call us old and ignore or scold.

There are so many wiser than I, and some of them have been ignored and even punched in the eye.

A Lakota man told me that generosity was his peoples first value, because when his people were starving, they fed a stranger that then pointed them in the direction of their next meal, generosity became a virtue.

The Dalai Lama talks all the time about compassion and kindness, a couple values that I consider regularly and try not to miss.

Okay, here goes, this fiction fantasy prose rant, as I’m flying by the seat of my pant, and the smell of a rose, with the tip of my nose.

We settled into a new community, far off the grid. Everyone was asked to sign a form that committed to teaching certain values to every kid. Was this scary for some. Indeed, it was for me and my many chum. We were moving to a place that promised world peace for all. Of course, it was only in this world of ours, this small piece of the global ball. And how exactly do we keep it that way? Many asked and few liked the answer today. For now, it was, “who ever in their right minds would come searching this part of the world, or know of this?” I knew some people who would, and even though our promise to keep this place a secret, we could expect some to go amiss.

There was a big adjustment period for all, and spring and summer had gone, and it was fall. Were we prepared for fall; did we have enough of a hall? We tried to ensure all the comforts of home, although it wasn’t the same in our dome. We worked hard and kept busy working on our garden and the yard. We didn’t have someone we paid to take care of us here, like we did before we left there. I’m out of the habit of calling the other place home as I really feel like here is home and the best place in the world to be. I always think this, although, I’m always telling the kids, “we shall just see.” Our children are happy and we are looking mighty snappy. We aren’t asked to dress alike but we have started to. Probably as we are all doing similar things and it makes sense to do.

So, for now, we will live for world peace and start with our small group of 1,000 men, women, and children. We know in time there will be grandchildren and great grandchildren. It feels somewhat like the religious groups that are living back in the past, with not much interaction with the majority population or others. The difference may be that we are not required to practice any one religion or really spout any dogma and that we are living by agreed upon values, in a community that for now is secret and not open to even our brothers. We do interact with a few that haven’t moved with us and that is how we keep up with day to day needs that we can’t yet get in our community, you know. Some are working on that though.

World peace is a fantasy place for me. We need a whole lot more than just a place, with non-violence, and changing the way we see. It is so important to love myself and that makes it possible to love you too. I learned I don’t have to like everybody and that I can still love everybody, who knew. And I was lucky enough to find this is true. So for today, I remember to smile as that is needed for our very first mile. Keep the peace and have a great day!

Fantasy

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.