Fiction logo

Why, Why, Why

A Snow Micro

By Hannah MoorePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Snow Micro Challenge
35

It rained all day today, and I with it. Silently misting, pooling in my eyes, battering the earth, streaming down my cheeks, dripping from the gutters, rain fell all day, as if we would fall for evermore. What can I make from rain though? Only rivers and seas too strong for me to stand against. Now evening comes, let me close my swollen eyes and breathe frost across the sodden tableau. Let me dress this rain as snow.

Now these drips gather to perfect tentacles of translucent ice, precipitous and deadly sharp. These streams tighten and still to silvered slicks, mesmerising and treacherous. But these flakes cloak the earth with caressing fragments, each perfect and unique. Each imbued with the power to numb. Amidst the muffling snow, these pools gleam, a frozen invitation to skate above the depths, and this mist gauzes the gaping night beyond.

Ornamented, bejewelled, beautified, I cast this rain into snow, a simple cooling of water, a transformation from gushing to exquisite hush, from flow to stoppered ice. Here I can draw cool air into drowned lungs and listen to the riming of the chambers of my heart. Here I can lay my hand across your remembered face and feel only brute absence, the lines and folds lost to numbed fingers. Here I can look upon the glade of our garden and furnish it with beauty, layered thick over mud, falling as if grief is lighter than water, knowing it will soon melt back to rain.

Love
35

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (30)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    Absolutely gorgeous writing.

  • A. Lenae2 months ago

    Oh, my heart. This is poetic goldenness. And the sorrow that is felt like the change of seasons and the powerlessness over the weather is just so raw and overpowering in the best absolute way. Congratulations on placing - this is a force and so stunning.

  • A. J. Schoenfeld2 months ago

    This one might be my favorite yet of the winners, such beautiful, poetic, and emotive description. Congratulations.

  • Wooohooooo congratulations on your challenge win! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Grz Colm2 months ago

    Nice work Hannah! Congrats on your placement. 😊

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Yay!! Good on you Hannah! Smashing entry!

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    Great micro, Hannah! And Congrats on another badge! You're racking them up! Keep it going! 🥇

  • Congratulations Hannah on your win in the Snow Micro challenge!!!

  • John Cox2 months ago

    Congratulations on placing in the snow micro challenge, very well deserved!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Damn. I forgot how beautiful this was until I came back for the second read. Congrats.

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    There it is! Well deserved, congrats Ms Moore! Another great placement!

  • JBaz2 months ago

    Back to say a huge congratulations on the challenge. I am so happy to see this in the winners circle. It is very moving. Congratulations

  • Matthew Fromm2 months ago

    man well deserved placement! I believe that is back to back?

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Brilliant absolutely brilliant!!♥️♥️💕

  • Ashley Shiflett3 months ago

    This is beautifully written.

  • Caroline Jane3 months ago

    Oh wow. So much to unpack here. Incredibly poetic!

  • D.K. Shepard3 months ago

    Heart wrenching and beautifully written! So much weight in The freezing and numbing imagery.

  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    “Silently misting, pooling in my eyes, battering the earth, streaming down my cheeks, dripping from the gutters, rain fell all day, as if we would fall for evermore.” is so emotive, and the rain as tears metaphor is brilliant. This is full of grief and stillness, and I hope it has helped to get these words out and onto the page.

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    Oh Hannah. I read some of the comments before and after reading this. This is beautiful and sad, I am sorry for your sadness and the loss you're going through. Understand completely. I hope the writing at least helped, even a little bit at least. Sending warmth and love to yours and yours. You have an exceptional way with words...so poetic. Anyway, yeah. hugs.

  • Kenny Penn3 months ago

    This is so haunting and beautiful, Hannah.

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Finishing strong with that last line, absolutely blown away 😁 Can't wait to see this get T.S. 😁

  • John Cox3 months ago

    If the Inuit have over one hundred words for snow this story is its poetic equivalent! Moving, loving and caressing this reader into a snowy stupor. Wow indeed.

  • I was already crying before starting your story and reading it while crying hit me so hard! I felt it in my bones! It resonated so deeply with me!

  • Phil Flannery3 months ago

    So poetic in your description.

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    This is so beautiful and so intricate in its descriptions. 💗 Beautifully done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.