Fiction logo

Why we do the things we do, a fictional short story

Viewer discretion advised: blood and violence, trigger warning

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Why we do the things we do, a fictional short story
Photo by Martin Kníže on Unsplash

There really is no way to the feeling describe seeing your own blood being washed off into the drain of a shower. It's still a strange feeling that you never really get used to. My name is Dean. I'm a 20 year veteran of professional wrestling, specializing in death match wrestling. For those of you unfamiliar with death match wrestling. Just take the normal wrestling you've seen on TV but add: barbed wire, light tubes, staple guns, thumb tacks, hell even fire. You name it I've done it or fallen off of/into it. 20 years of sheer pain.

Today was especially brutal. I was competing in a "tournament" of death. Several matches throughout the day against multiple opponents. The grand prize was the "King of the Deathmatch" belt and a $50K cash in hand. This event lasted damn near 12 hours, but thankfully I walked away the grand victor of the whole event. After each match I was taken to the back and had the glass removed from my back, got my smaller cuts covered Vaseline similar to the way boxers do, and some words of encouragement from my wife still cheering me on after all these years.

I had 5 matches in total. Of course it got progressively worse and worse. So much pain. My back was embedded with thousands of shards of glass, my forehead was absolutely ravished from all the cuts both done the easy way and the hard way, and I even had things stapled to my back. Not a fun day for me from the outside looking in. The last match's grand finale was me tackling my opponent though a table, that was on fire, and below the table were about a dozen light tubes and a few hundred thumb tacks below that. Yeah just pain, pain, and more pain. Thankfully though I won. Then just as always she jumped in the ring to help me celebrate my win.

Speaking of my wife. Thanks to her recommendation I started to use some Marigold as an all natural way to help some of the smaller cuts and bruises. We actually added it to our garden a little while ago, I wanted to stop taking painkillers to spare my liver. Thankfully my wife is quite the botanist, after a long day of work and watching some pretty extreme violence I guess the gardening keeps her centered. Maybe I should join her someday, she was right about the Marigold. It really does help a lot. In fact my entire garden is thankfully flourishing with many different plant with various medicinal properties. Very strange of a wrestler to say that I know. But hey, wife made me a believer in Marigold.

So here we are, as mentioned in the shower watching my blood wash off into the drain. So why do I do it? I can't explain it, I love it. I absolutely love wrestling and I have for as long as I could remember. I love the adrenaline rush. And sure the pain can really get intense sometimes. But it's okay, I'm going to keep doing this until the wheels fall off. The only person that's going to tell me that I'm finally done is me.

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics and I'm starting to write more fiction pieces. Feel free to give those other articles a read or two. Also if you would be so kind, I'd greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly if you really feel so inclined tips are always appreciated but by no means required.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.