Fiction logo

๐–๐ก๐ž๐ซ๐ž ๐˜๐จ๐ฎ๐ซ ๐‡๐ž๐š๐ซ๐ญ ๐‹๐จ๐ง๐ ๐ฌ ๐“๐จ ๐๐ž

A short story by George X

By ๐†๐ž๐จ๐ซ๐ ๐ž ๐—Published 3 years ago โ€ข 4 min read
๐‘ƒโ„Ž๐‘œ๐‘ก๐‘œ ๐‘๐‘Ÿ๐‘’๐‘‘๐‘–๐‘ก ๐‘๐‘ฆ: ๐‘‡๐‘’๐‘Ÿ๐‘– ๐ท๐‘’๐‘”๐‘›๐‘Ž๐‘› ๐‘…๐‘’๐‘Ž๐‘™ ๐ธ๐‘ ๐‘ก๐‘Ž๐‘ก๐‘’ & ๐ถ๐‘œ๐‘›๐‘ ๐‘ข๐‘™๐‘ก๐‘–๐‘›๐‘”, ๐ฟ๐‘‡๐ท

My name is Ella Melton, and Iโ€™m going to tell you a story of how the impossible is possible. I lost my aunt Rose Melton back on April 15th of 2020 due to COVID-19, she often loved to go fishing out in Newport, Rhode Island. We would hop on her boat in the summer, I love collecting misshapen shells that we found whenever we went fishing, my aunt Rose loved the ocean with a passion, she loved catching her some fish. I remember the first fish I caught with my aunt out near the shores. It was hot; I was nine years old I remember because this is when โ€˜TLCโ€™ first came out with their album. I wasnโ€™t able to properly use my fishing rod, it was way too tough, I couldnโ€™t do it, though my aunt taught me to not quit on what was important in life, if I give it my all I could see abundance in the end. When she showed me how to use the fishing rod, I was able to cast it out and grab my first fish which was a Rainbow Trout. Though now I just look upon the ocean, my aunt would always love it here, she the only person who that I loved catching fish especially rainbow trout, when I can just swim around the shore if Iโ€™m bored. I work certain days at a grocery store, I donโ€™t tend to go out much because I have no social life beyond what I know, I have a really difficult time bonding with people. Though this type of bond I had during June of 2021 was one for the books, it was Saturday, and nobody was at the shore that afternoon, so I decided to go for a swim, as Iโ€™m swimming, Iโ€™m just enjoying the view of the ocean, watching as boats pass by getting ready to go out grabbing fish. When I was making my way out of the water, I see something in the distance. It didnโ€™t until I got out of the water, I could see a large fin making its way toward where I was, I knew very well that was no whale fin, nor dolphin, I frantically made my way out of the water to see a shark coming towards me. I never screamed so loud in my life once I seen that shark, but all it did was sit right where it was and swim back underwater, that was a great white that followed me near the land, I didnโ€™t have no clue where it came from. One thing was for sure was I wonโ€™t make that mistake again.

The following next day, it was the evening, and I was trying to catch some fish over near the shore, after what happened yesterday, I wasnโ€™t ready to get back into the water. I felt the line getting tugged on, I knew I got something I decided to reel it in fast, I look to see only the great white poking itโ€™s head of the water, I jumped back making my way quickly away from the shark which couldnโ€™t get on land. The shark spit out the fish I had onto the shore dock where I was fishing, I ease my way slowly back to where my equipment was and seen that the shark was gone then I see its head about to pop up again I ran back away from the white pointer. Suddenly it spits up or plops on the shore dock more fish and vanished, when I made my way back to my fishing gear, I couldnโ€™t believe my own eyes what I was looking at, yet there was a whole group of rainbow trout fish just flopping all around the land. I donโ€™t believe in so many miracles, though I wanted to know what that shark was exactly, I waited until it came back, I waited there for a good two-hour & a half for this great white to come back.

I didnโ€™t see nothing, I started to wrap up my fishing gear making my way back to my off the dock until I seen a large fin coming towards where I was. My heart was pounding too fast for me to be this calm while standing there like a deer in headlights, the shark made its way to the surface it plopped down another rainbow trout in front of me. At this moment I grabbed the rainbow trout from the ground and put it in a container where I kept all my fish, the shark was just staring at me, waiting for me to do something. Though I couldnโ€™t help to see what it wanted, I had to be the most insane person in Newport when I extended my arm to touch the shark, which poked its head out more to tap my hand with its pointy nose. I started to pet the shark, which made a sort of sound that was soothing, the shark went back into the water swimming away all I called see is this huge ball of light of water swimming away until it disappeared. I really didnโ€™t know exactly what had happened though I never saw that shark again, what made more wholesome to me now was when my brother was on YouTube watching these theories, heโ€™s heavily on conspiracies, coverups, and all that scary stuff. So, I asked him what video he was watching because I was interested in it, he explained that the youtuber he was watching explained after death how people could be reincarnated or come back to give those, they love closure to let them know they are fine. Honestly it could be a coincident, or something more one thing for sure is I feel like Aunt Rose is watching over me and making sure that I can continue in life without her. What still warms my heart is that she was the only soul I know who knew I liked the rainbow trout I fish for, hopefully I get to see the great white again.

Short Story

About the Creator

๐†๐ž๐จ๐ซ๐ ๐ž ๐—

George X is a young African-American writer, following his bachelor's degree in creative writing at New England College. Growing, developing his craft within the writing world.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    ๐†๐ž๐จ๐ซ๐ ๐ž ๐—Written by ๐†๐ž๐จ๐ซ๐ ๐ž ๐—

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.