Fiction logo

Where Did Christmas Go?

Nostalgia Make Everything Better

By Audrey Kaye BluePublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Where Did Christmas Go?
Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

Inside, the house is like an oven. Too many people are crammed under one roof. Being in close quarters for so long with nothing to do, we get antsy. Harsh words are exchanged.

I need to get some air. I stomp down the sidewalk in boots a size too small. My own boots are back in my apartment and I’m not going to drive all the way back to get them. So old boots it is for me. The sidewalks have been salted, turning the snow into slush. There was a blizzard only last night bad enough to block the roads, but now it grows balmy.

My family always decorates the house, but it looks rundown this year. The lightbulbs are dead. Our inflatable santa is ready to retire. Christmas doesn’t feel like Christmas anymore. The magic and joy has been sucked away.

A man runs passed me with a sled of laughing children. Once he’s built up enough speed he stops and lets the rope go. They fly down the road screaming with glee. Once they lose momentum they beg to go again. I used to love that, didn’t I? But now I see what the kids don’t see, which is how tired the man is. All he wants is to go inside for that second cup of hot coffee.

I guess the holidays have always been like this. I just know better now. Time to go inside. The cookies are hot out of the oven, ready to decorate.

Stream of ConsciousnessShort Story

About the Creator

Audrey Kaye Blue

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Rachel M.J5 months ago

    Beautiful descriptions, love the contrast between the Christmas imagery and the banality of adult life.

  • Jazzy 5 months ago

    OH my goodness this was like a punch in the gut, this line "But now I see what the kids don’t see, which is how tired the man is" i felt. Our parents did their best, and now its a changing of the guard to us

  • Mark Gagnon5 months ago

    It is all about perspective, isn't it?

Audrey Kaye BlueWritten by Audrey Kaye Blue

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.