Fiction logo

When you're stuck like glue

A short story

By Rambler's SocietyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
When you're stuck like glue
Photo by Huper by Joshua Earle on Unsplash

I begrudgingly drank from a stained glass mug. The contents were supposed to be closer to juice but came out thick and lacked viscousness. The color was also a dulled smoggy brown. The taste seemed muted, with hints of dusty blandness. Laughter erupted in waves in the shanty tavern my cohort and I have settled in. The floors creaked under the slightest pressure of the people’s heels. Once their toes slammed down on the dusty boards plumes of sandy dust billowed up. I had to keep moving locks of my dirty blonde hair out of my face. Barely even a word had left my lips since we arrived, meanwhile you hadn’t stopped talking since you entered.

It’s been about a week since we ran off together. You’ve been leading the way ever since, and I’ve been making sure you don’t wind up getting up killed. At first it was an adventure, now I feel like it’s a full-time job. You attached yourself to me like glue, and I needed a change of scenery. Your auburn hair bleached ever so slightly by the sun, somehow never fell out of place. Your eyes stayed wide and blue like the ocean. They were touched with specks of green that could only be seen under the sun. We felt like polar opposites, but you know what they say.

This desert wasteland was grueling, but it’s the only thing we’ve ever known. I grew up in the small oasis town of Ophelia. It was truly beautiful. There was plenty of flora and a few fauna that filled our dull dusty corner of the desert. You tore into Ophelia with the tumbleweeds, and before I knew it I was tearing out of town behind you. You swept me off my feet, I could never admit it though. Maybe someday.

Pop!

Pop!

Pop!

Shots rung out and silenced the tavern. After the initial shock I turned towards my assailant who stood unphased and unwavering in her confidence filled grin. What kind of person has little remorse for their own actions? I’m sure in her head she’s not a menace but a strong-willed hellion chasing thrills. A strand of auburn hair fell softly into her face. It almost fell in such a way that highlighted her sporadic nature, it made her that much more appealing. She sat back down as quickly as the shots rang out just moments earlier.

“Can I get another drink?” She sat back and crossed her legs. If you didn’t know her you could say she looked patiently waiting for her request to be delivered. Little did anyone else in the room know, she was putting up a threat, a warning, she held this air of command that didn’t read well across her face.

“Little lady I’ll need you to grab your things and leave this establishment. I don’t tolerate any kind of commotion like that here. Take your friend with you while you’re at it.” The barkeep, presumably the owner, puffed his chest out and started his way over to her table. He was easily twice her size, and could probably pick her up with one hand if he really had too. I finished my glass and stood up. It was still dead silent in the room.

The barkeep kept his strong and overbearing gaze on her, and she met it with a small grin. She wanted to start a fight, a commotion, something to put the spotlight on her. I made my way towards the door, knowing this wasn’t over yet for her. I looked back before exiting, just maybe, she would have followed me just this time.

AdventureExcerptShort StoryYoung Adult
1

About the Creator

Rambler's Society

Hello everyone! I write fictional surreal stories and poems. I love writing and I hope that you enjoy reading what I've to offer. I have plenty more written down on my website so I'd love it if you'd go check it out!

ramblersociety.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.