Fiction logo

The Comfort of your Bed

Adventure Drama

By Arshad MecciPublished 12 days ago 3 min read
1

Under the Starlit Canopy

The vast expanse of the sky was adorned with stars as the sun dipped below the horizon. Vigilant, I scanned the heavens, wary of any aerial threat that might lurk. So far, the sky remained clear.

The earth beneath my feet was soft and damp, nurtured by the rain's gentle touch. The air felt heavy, like the aftermath of a rain-washed day. The symphony of crickets filled the air, their chirps harmonizing into a natural chorus.

My makeshift bag pressed heavily on my back, my legs weighed down as if made of lead. Yet, I pressed on, each step a laborious effort to maintain a steady rhythm of breath.

My mind swirled with apprehensions, my vision grew fuzzy with the encroaching darkness. Just in time, I spotted a large rock jutting out of the ground, an anchor amidst the encroaching obscurity.

Hunger gnawed at my stomach, a hollow ache that seemed to drain my spirit. A tide of hopelessness washed over me, submerging me in a whirlpool of anxieties and despair.

Settling onto the rock, its rough surface offering a literal pain in the rear, I slid the bag's straps off my shoulders, leaving impressions on the layers of my clothing.

Taking a shallow breath, I released the weighty bag, its soft thud on the damp ground barely registering. The bag, dirt-streaked from the journey, held little concern for me now.

As I unzipped the bag, the cold metal of the zipper grazed my calloused skin, releasing a strange, unfamiliar scent.

The surrounding trees hummed a gentle melody, the soft breeze offering a momentary respite from my anxious thoughts. As I prepared my meal, the stars seemed to align, guiding me through the labyrinthine wilderness of the Amazon forests. These winding paths had led me to this peculiar place, teeming with enigmatic creatures.

Suddenly, a sound reminiscent of a gunshot echoed through the area, sending shivers down my spine. Fear coursed through me, my mind racing to identify the source.

Continuing to eat the sparse contents of my rucksack, I kept a vigilant watch on the skies and stars, noting the moon's radiant glow.

Glancing at my watch, the date confirmed my expectations. If a squirrel, lizard, or hedgehog were to witness my actions, they'd surely shake their heads in disbelief, muttering in their own languages.

The sound of rushing water drew me away from my bag, and I followed the stream's melody and the guiding stars.

Suddenly, I lost my footing, and freezing mountain water drenched my shoes. I let out a startled shriek, my voice piercing the night.

Cursing the stars, I turned my attention to the task at hand, rinsing my plate clean in the icy water.

Shivering from the sudden cold, I filled my Hydro Flask with the raw water and stumbled back to my makeshift camp.

As I neared the rock, a chilling yelp echoed through the night, causing my heart to skip a beat. Gripping my utensils and bottle tightly, my knuckles whitened in fear.

Looking around, my face pale with terror, I noticed the stars emitting an unsettling red glow.

Hurriedly packing my belongings, my trembling fingers barely managed the task. I heaved the heavy bag onto my back, its straps cutting into my shoulders once again.

Leaving the clearing behind, I wondered what had caused the eerie sound. Tripping over a pebble, I almost tumbled over a looming cliff, narrowly avoiding disaster.

Shaking off the dizziness, I looked up at the stars. They blinked innocently, aligned in a pattern that seemed strangely familiar.

"How?" I muttered, pushing forward, my legs aching with each step.

The scent of daisies and pinecones filled the air, evoking memories of home. Would I ever find my way out of this maze of Euterpe trees?

A knot of nostalgia, fear, and longing tightened in my stomach. Thoughts of warm meals served on ceramic plates with silver utensils danced in my mind.

Continuing onward, I followed the whispering stars, aware of unseen dangers and the gentle hum of the wind and trees.

In these strange woods, hedgehogs had become my companions, though their fate remained uncertain. For now, I bid them farewell, longing for the comforts of home—a soft bed, fluffy pillows, and a warm blanket.

Adventure
1

About the Creator

Arshad Mecci

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.