Fiction logo

When Warren Met Gwen, part four

A Chance to Reset

By Shelley CarrollPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
2
When Warren Met Gwen, part four
Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

For their second “official date”, Warren and Gwen decided to meet at the Bird Sanctuary and go for a little hike. They agreed they’d walk about 3 km or so and, if they still liked each other, they’d follow that up with a warm meal and perhaps a couple of stiff drinks.

The fresh, cool air and physical activity served to boost their heart rates as well as their moods. Furthermore, in focusing on their footing and balance while enjoying the scenery, they could also avoid any notion of sex talk… at least for a little while. They fed the chickadees from their hands, took pictures, and just generally took advantage of the Vitamin D.

Satisfied with their 45-minute foray into fitness, they determined to keep the party going and venture to the local pub for libations and sustenance, rewards for a job well done and a good excuse to continue in one another’s company.

They sipped upon their warm brandy-apple ciders and idly perused the menu before Gwen popped the question:

So… what are you expecting out of all of this?

Taken aback, Warren nearly choked on his mouthful of cider. Pausing a moment to gather himself, he responded with a question of his own. “I’m going to ask you to clarify that before I give you an answer.” He chose his words carefully, both in hopes of buying himself some time to figure out her meaning and to formulate a response.

I just mean… where are we heading?

Well,” he drawled, “being as this is only our second date, I suppose I was maybe anticipating a third?

No, Warren,” she bristled. “What happens for us next? What do you envision for us? Am I relationship material for you or not?” She cocked her head to one side to underline her point.

The waitress stopped by to ask “So, are we ready to order?

Warren cleared his throat and gently asked, “Would you mind giving us a few more minutes please?

The waitress nodded and turned away.

Warren put down his menu, took a deep breath, and reached across the table to touch Gwen’s waiting hands.

If you’re asking me if I’d like to take you home and go to town on your beautiful body and screw you senseless, then yes, the thought has crossed my mind.

Gwen blushed at his bluntness but remained silent.

But how long would that take, if we’re being honest? About an hour? If we’re lucky, right? And not to oversell it or underestimate it, but I think an hour is pretty generous, eh?”, he offered.

She shook her head yes.

But if you’re asking me what I want out of this or any relationship, then I’ll tell you…

Go on,” she urged.

I want to be with someone with whom I can spend a Sunday afternoon curled up on the couch, someone who sits at one end reading a book or playing on her phone or writing on her laptop while resting her feet in my lap. And I want to be sitting there on the opposite end of that couch rubbing her legs and feet with one hand and holding the TV remote or my note pad in the other. Because that’s the stuff that lasts when we’re done in the bedroom or the backseat of a car. That’s what I’m looking for. I’m looking for more.

Gwen didn’t know what to say.

So I guess that’s where I’m at. If you’re looking for just sex, I can do that for you. But this… whatever this is,” he waved his hand back and forth across the table between the two of them. “This,” he continued, “has potential. And if you’re willing to reset your password, so to speak, and adjust your mindset or figure out what you want, then I guess that’s what I’m offering and I guess that’s where I see this heading… if you’re interested.

The waitress returned. “Are we ready?” she asked.

Yes, I know what I want,” Warren said confidently, staring directly at Gwen. “I’ll have the seafood lasagna, please.

Excellent choice,” said the waitress, smiling. “And you, madam?

Gwen returned Warren’s gaze.

I’ll have what he’s having.

*****

If you’re looking for more about Warren and Gwen, you can find the first installments of their story here:

https://vocal.media/fiction/when-warren-met-gwen

https://vocal.media/fiction/when-warren-met-gwen-part-two

https://vocal.media/fiction/when-warren-met-gwen-part-three

Short StoryLoveHumor
2

About the Creator

Shelley Carroll

Ms. Carroll is a 50-something year-old retired public servant and mother of three adult children. She and her partner Hal live in Amherst NS with a sweet, anxiety-ridden rescue dog. Shelley loves reading, running and red wine.

She/Her

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    Great writing l!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.