Fiction logo

When Love Fades Away

A Heartfelt Message to Those Who’ve Been Hurt in Love

By Emily Chan - Life and love sharingPublished 21 days ago 2 min read
1
When Love Fades Away
Photo by meriç tuna on Unsplash

If one day, I decide to move on, don’t be surprised if you think I’ve fallen for someone else. It’s not that my feelings for you have vanished, but rather that I’ve realized you may not truly value our connection.

It’s not my intention to part ways, and I’m not using “giving up” as a bargaining tool. Letting go is never an easy choice, but I’ve grown weary and my heart is aching. I can’t go on like this. Letting you go means allowing myself to heal.

I’ve opted to step away, not because I want to quit, but because my heart is heavy with sorrow. Physical exhaustion can be alleviated with rest, but the fatigue that lingers in my mind won’t dissipate no matter how long I wait.

You entered my world and became a part of my life, but now you’ve left, leaving me out in the cold. People often realize the beauty of the past only after it’s lost.

I’ve given you chances time and again, but sadly, you’ve never treasured them. You assumed I wouldn’t leave easily, yet you failed to see how exhausted I’ve become. I’m drained and no longer wish to carry this burden of unrequited love.

I’m tired and no longer desire to live under these circumstances. There’s no prospect of reciprocation, let alone acknowledgment. Since the outcome is inevitable, I must choose to let go. Continuing to love you would only result in my pain.

You won’t appreciate my love or acknowledge my affection. If you’ve been squandering the opportunities I’ve given you, be aware that one day, I will finally move on.

Even though my heart aches when I make this choice, I know that when I love someone, I give them my all. When I decide to let go, I’ll shed my final tears and then choose to forget.

If I decide to give up and move on, I won’t look back. If one day I move on from you, will you ever think of me? The times we shared…

Don’t wait until I’ve grown weary and detached to remember to love me. This message is for all those who’ve been wounded by love. I hope none of us ever have to endure that pain again.

Thank you for reading!

Short StoryLove
1

About the Creator

Emily Chan - Life and love sharing

Blog Writer/Storyteller/Write stores and short srories.I am a writer who specializes in love,relationships and life sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 21 days ago

    Chance after chance not treasured! Very insightful statement. Sad.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.