Fiction logo

When Life Ends

The End Comes For All Of Us Eventually.

By Carol TownendPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
2
When Life Ends
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

Here in this old cabin, I sit in my comfortable chair drinking my last bottle of whiskey. I am now 100 years old, but in my next life, I will live forever.

I do not feel sad, for I have lived a good life in this world. I worked as a carpenter creating great things for over 60 years, I have a happy family and friends who will follow me into my next life.

I know this life is ending, but life itself does not end. We move on to another planet with a new life, where we carry on creating good things and shining love across the whole universe.

One thing we learn in this life, is that there is good and evil. Life is never black and white. There will be good and evil in my next life too.

However, as I take another sip of whiskey. The sharp, warm taste washes down my throat and wipes away the tears from my eyes.

Tears from memories of happy times spent with my family, my wife, and my children.

I shall not fade away in sadness. I shall watch and guide my family from my new home, and in my new home, I will create love and peace amongst the chaos of evil.

One cannot help but worry at this stage.

Will my family manage without me?

As the clock strikes midnight, I look through the same window that I have been looking through for all of my living years.

I see my children as they were growing up playing in the garden, and I see my wife tending to them dearly.

As the next minute fades, before my eyes close. I see myself, the carpenter crafting a shelf. I perfectly shape the shelf, ignoring all the imperfections before my eyes. I stop and observe my happy family laughing and joking with each other, and I feel gratitude.

Then everything becomes dark, and time fades.

When I fall into my forever sleep, I am at peace with myself.

I don't even know I am asleep, because when I open my eyes; I have stepped back in time.

Back into that happy time with my wife, my family, and my young children.

When life ends it isn't really the end, though the end comes for us eventually.

I remember my eyes closing, but I don't remember falling asleep.

Although this is the end. It is only the end of a past gone by.

My wife calls me into dinner, and I sit around a large oak table with my four children who happily tell me about their day, and what they have been doing. There is laughter and love around the table. My four-year-old jumps on my lap,

"Daddy please read to me," he chirps in a sweet, happy voice.

My eyes sparkle, yet fill with tears as everyone listens to the story happily while we eat by the warm glow of a roaring fire.

It suddenly occurs to me that although the end comes for us eventually.

It is not really the end of life, but the start of a new beginning.

We all sleep peacefully through the night; and when I wake in the morning, I go to the bathroom and shave. I groom my dark hair carefully, just like I did when I was in my 20s.

My wife calls me for breakfast, and she kisses me as soon as I enter the room. She is young too. Her long brown hair flows down to her waist, and her deep brown eyes smolder as she smiles at me.

There is no memory of our past lives together. It is like we are living in a new world.

The one thing we realize is,

The end comes for us eventually.

However, it is not really the end because time is forever. When the clock strikes midnight, a new day starts. Time starts again, and new beginnings begin.

CONTENT WARNINGShort StorySci FiPsychological
2

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)8 months ago

    ❤️📝👌

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.