Fiction logo

What the F is Magical Realism?

Discovering the Magic in the Mundane: A Lesson in Applying Magical Realism to Everyday Life

By leon felixPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
What the F is Magical Realism?
Photo by Almos Bechtold on Unsplash

It was a sunny day in the park, and as I was enjoying my sandwich, a stranger approached me. He was an older man with a kind smile, and he asked if he could sit with me for a moment. I nodded, and he sat down on the bench next to me.

After a moment of silence, he spoke. "Excuse me, do you know what magical realism is?"

I was taken aback by the question, but I nodded. "Yeah, I think so. It's a literary genre that blends elements of magic or the supernatural into a realistic setting, right?"

The man nodded, pleased. "Exactly. But I think it's more than that. Magical realism is about seeing the extraordinary in the ordinary, finding wonder and beauty in the mundane."

He took a sip of his coffee and continued. "I've always been drawn to magical realism. There's something about the way it combines the fantastical with the real that just speaks to me."

I nodded, intrigued. "Can you give me an example?"

The man smiled. "Sure. Have you ever read One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez?"

I shook my head. "No, I haven't."

"It's a classic of the magical realism genre," he said. "The book is set in a fictional town in Colombia, and it follows the lives of seven generations of the Buendia family. But it's not just a family saga - there are elements of magic and fantasy woven throughout. There's a character who lives for over 200 years, another who can levitate, and a woman who ascends into heaven while hanging laundry."

I was intrigued. "That sounds really interesting. But why do you think magical realism is important?"

The man leaned back on the bench and looked up at the sky. "I think magical realism reminds us to look at the world with fresh eyes. It helps us see the beauty and wonder that surrounds us every day, even in the most ordinary moments. It's a way of expanding our imagination and our sense of what's possible."

He looked at me again, his eyes twinkling. "Think about it - we're surrounded by magic all the time. The way a flower blooms, the way a bird flies, the way the sun rises and sets every day. Those are all magical things, but we've become so used to them that we forget how incredible they are."

I thought about his words for a moment. It was true - we often took the wonders of the world for granted, forgetting how amazing they were.

"But how do we apply magical realism in our daily lives?" I asked.

The man smiled. "It's all about perspective. Try to see the world with new eyes. Look for the beauty in the everyday. Find the magic in the mundane. It's not always easy, but it's worth it."

We sat in silence for a few moments, watching the world go by. As I finished my sandwich and got up to leave, the man stopped me.

"Hey, one more thing," he said. "Remember that magical realism is not just about the fantastic elements. It's about the human experience, the struggles and joys and sorrows that we all share. It's about finding the magic in ourselves, as well as the world around us."

I thanked him for his words and walked away, feeling inspired. As I walked through the park, I tried to see the world through new eyes. I noticed the way the leaves rustled in the breeze, the way the sunlight danced on the water, the way the children laughed as they played. And in those moments, I felt a sense of wonder and magic that I had never felt before.

Magical realism, I realized, was not just a literary genre -

Excerpt
Like

About the Creator

leon felix

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.