Fiction logo

What Is In That Box Between My Screen Door And Wooden Door?

"The Mystery Box"

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
4
What Is In That Box Between My Screen Door And Wooden Door?
Photo by Sabri Tuzcu on Unsplash

A suspicious package wrapped in brown paper and a small box was in between my screen door and the wooden door. It wasn't evident if it had been mailed or shipped by Fed Ex or another delivery service and placed on the floor. Whatever could it be? It was so light, I thought maybe just paper!

Well, could it be a caper? The small, pickled flower buds with a distinctive salty taste. Very tasty and not available to most, and that is such a waste.

Is that what is in the box, covered in brown paper, a caper? Someone else said I thought caper was capering around. The children were capering or dancing without sound. Or how about pulling off a caper, or am I too old for this caper? You can read about it in the paper!

So, let's get back to what was in that package. I love a great surprise; will it be something I deeply desire? But who is to judge, is it the sire? I have been getting packages from the publisher's clearinghouse for many months now. I never know what is coming, as it always looks better in the ad than it does when it arrives, well anyhow.

Time to write out the checks for the packages I have already received. I am getting older, and it is so much easier to be deceived. I thought the PCH drawing was months ago. And I am still waiting to hear about the winners you know. 

My favorite package is the tennis racket-looking bug zapper gizmo. As when we went camping, it zapped many a mosquito.

Because of the pandemic many more people are ordering through eBay and Amazon. I have ordered less than many and the husband has not ordered any, as he is busy mowing the lawn. Boring! This is when I bring out a big sigh and a big, big yawn.

Suspicious packages wrapped in brown paper remind me of the girly magazines that used to be in the magazine racks and are in the mail that way.

So, what else comes that way, I say. I hear the US mail and UPS discourage packages wrapped in brown paper and brown paper with string. I am sure it is okay if you want to carry it to its destination, all the brown paper that you can bring.

My very favorite suspicious package wrapped in brown paper was so lightweight, with no indication of what was in there, with no name. Someone had bought me some great-looking sunglasses that I had admired, and they were just the same.

At the time I was looking for a nice pair of sunglasses and complimented every pair on every woman I saw wearing the perfect pair that stood out.

No one said anything when suddenly, a picture was sent of the glasses that were glasses just like mine, and lookout as I did shout. I was so pleased and so excited to see them and to finally know whom I might thank for my sunglasses at last. What a blast!

What I did not expect, was just how magical the glasses were that I would wear. I had heard before about rose-colored glasses; it is an old song, and I did not know that I had just received a pair.

Anytime I put them on the world looked beautiful. The sun was shining even with clouds in the sky, and it was wonderful. There were rainbows here and there without any rain. When looking in the mirror, I became vain. My wrinkles were gone, and my eyes were bright, and I didn't cough.

I could see things that I could not see when I took my glasses off. Even the Hubby was so lovely and so much fun. Such a lovely gift from someone, what a Hon. Then the day came when I misplaced my sunglasses. I hoped to replace them and hoped there were masses of glasses like that kind.

But no such luck, as that was the end of my time with my gift that was much better than anything else I would ever find. And when I tried to tell people what I had encountered with my gift, they would just look at me and shake their heads and say, easy to say when you do not have them to share. And others could only stare.

When I told others, they would simply say, "Oh you, I am so glad you had that time, now let's have a cup of tea, just you and me." Shall we listen to that song, "Rose Colored Glasses?" I would say. Then they might say, "It is country western music, right? I think we should pass."

When I would tell the Hubby he said, "Country is the best! Such a silly lass." And sometimes he would even leave the l off of lass. And so as not for anyone to hear him, I would cough!

Mystery
4

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • John Evaabout a year ago

    Denise, great writing here, keep up the vivid story telling!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Terrific story!!! Loving it💕❤️❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.