Fiction logo

The Aliens Have Landed And Are Taking Over!

Many years ago, a medicine man told a group of us that we were aliens and I thought he just said that to freak out a few people in the audience!

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 5 min read
1
The Aliens Have Landed And Are Taking Over!
Photo by Austin Wade on Unsplash

When I heard the medicine man that helped me with my cancer say, "We are aliens" when speaking with a group of our people. I did think he was just saying that to freak out a couple of people in the audience.

Afterward, I talked to one of those people that did appear a bit freaked and I said, I don't know, what do you think as I was chuckling. She frowned at me and shook her head and walked out of the building. I'm not sure what she was expecting to hear but I'm pretty sure that wasn't it!

I had friends that believed just that and have been waiting for the other aliens to land. In the meantime, there is plenty of conversation going on with other people from other lands.

When in the sweatlodge, and other ceremonies, the conversations happen.

What I mean is that you can be in the sweat lodge and hear others in there that you can't see. You are given messages that don't appear to come from your thoughts about what to do about something or someone even while you are awake.

There are plenty of other things, like bright lights that float around the lodge from time to time. Or float around your house from time to time. My thought is that it is the same visitor that I just heard from in the lodge.

Then there have always been stories our people have told of the little people. Those stories were told in my childhood mostly. I thought they were just like nursery rhymes. Children's stories. Fairy tales.

Stories about how the little people will take you, shrink you down, and keep you with them if you get too close to the water by yourself, or if you are in the woods without an adult.

It makes sense to keep people safe. No one I know has seen the little people. My husband, who grew up with Native American people will often say, "Tell that joke to the little folk." I have questioned him but he knows no more than that.

Then not too long ago it did happen. All over the news, the announcements were made to stay in our homes, in our communities. Negotiations were happening with the president and other world leaders about what would be done with the aliens that have plans to take over the world as we know it!

There were some language challenges until they realized that the aliens were speaking Ojibwe, some Dakota, some Cherokee, and other Native American languages. And that they could all understand each other.

How could that be? I then said that I was so glad to hear that they are speaking the Ojibwe language. As what that medicine man said all those years ago is true. We are aliens.

We did as we were told and stayed close to family and community. One day as the kids were shooting baskets and we were watching them some Native people approached them and asked to speak to their elders.

The kids looked surprised and said, “Where are you from?” They were told that they were people who came to this world from another place where everyone speaks Ojibwe. They were one of those aliens that have been talked about on the news.

The kids said, “And you speak our language? Does that mean we came from where you came from?” They were told that yes, once a long time ago. Creator asked that their people come to this place.

They didn’t want to come here but were told that Gizhemanidoo would never leave them. Gizhemanidoo would always hear the people and they were given asema or Kinnickinnic to use for that purpose.

The Ojibwe speakers said, "When we talk to Gizhemanidoo we are heard. We have gifts to help our people. You have gifts, you have just lost the ability to access those gifts. We will help you to do that again." Then they wanted to see our old people. They said that they had much to talk about.

And that is what happened as we talked. They told stories and shared solutions to problems. They knew some important things that could fix this world. The concern was what harm might the fixes do.

The next morning I was laying in bed thinking about my big adventure. Do I have a choice? No, probably not. I am expected to take this trip to the far reaches of the universe. I will sleep for most of the way I am told and then wake just before getting there.

What kind of adventure is that? Well, it will be a cool experience when I get there! This will be the only time for me as I am getting old.

Okay, enough of that! Time to get up, hop in the shower, get dressed, pack, and be on my way! I must call family. They say it is only supposed to be for a year, but do they know that for sure? Is a year the same for them as it is for me? I guess more will be revealed.

I told the family at dinner that I won’t be back for a year. I hope that is all it is. Everyone is getting older and I want to be here for any of them if they need me for anything.

When you are asked to go to be an emissary delegate from the earth, I guess you go. I'm not sure what I can do or say to help with the transition, I just know that I will be a welcoming presence among the group going.

There are rumors that little people and a few animals will be going as well.

When I got to the spaceship, there were people from all over the world, and a few looked just like one of the Ojibwe clans. The sasquatch as many call them, or Sa'be for bigfoot as I have heard in the Ojibwe language.

Things have to change here on earth, and especially on Turtle Island for the survival of life as we know it.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.