Fiction logo

What happened to J.C.?

A 28-year-old woman who had third-degree burns vanished from ICU Room 143 of the Moose City Hospital on August 26. Here's what we know about her based on the pink diary she left behind

By Irina PattersonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
collage by the author, Irina Patterson, car image by brise21 at pixabay.com

August 25, 2021

I didn't drive myself into that ditch. This is how everything played out. I was speeding on I-95 and texting, as usual, when my screen had a glitch and began flashing with some demonic circles and I couldn't get it to stop, no matter how many times I cursed.

The next thing, BAM, I was staring at the sky from the bottomless pit. WHAT? I couldn’t believe it!

My red-hot Spider Ferrari had been careered off the road and into this slimy mud bog -- a deep, stinky pit brimming with reeking GREEN WATER. Ouch! I imagined my dad's face when he'll see what I did to this car. He gave me this car to get me away from HIM -- and I end up CRASHING IT into this swamp!

The SMELL was enough to make me puke, and my poor baby FERRARI was sinking deeper still into the mud. I tried to get out of the car, but sank myself up to my ankles in filth. It was horrible -- really disgusting. I quickly hoisted my legs back inside the car and slammed the door!

MY PHONE! It was still working! I've kissed it and phoned AAA. They estimated it will take at least an hour for them to arrive.

So, I had to wait... It was cold and wet... All I could do was look at the mud and watch as my car sank.

I thought, "My dad will kill me." My dad, of course, can afford to buy a new Spider Ferrari every week. He has money coming out of his ears. I have no idea what he does to amass so much money, but he works from home and is constantly on the phone. Maybe it has something to do with artificial intelligence, which allows money to flow directly from the Internet into his personal bank account.

"At least it is not raining," I thought and the sky cracked open and IT RAINED. My face got drenched; the cold water ran down my cheeks, under my silk vintage shirt, and down my back.

I was crushed. "HELP!" I yelled, flailing my arms about like I was on a sinking ship, hoping that someone would hear me, but realized I sounded like a feeble squeaker and had to stop, feeling exhausted.

After that, I just sat there, gazing up, watching cars passing by on the elevated highway above me. Nobody came to my rescue. NOBODY!

Maybe they needed to get to the jobs THEY hated, or they thought I was already dead, or it was because they couldn't see me since I was down there at the bottom of the ditch and they were up there on the road living a good life.

With nothing else to do, I began contemplating my existence in general.

My list of goals was always rather basic: I wanted to enjoy my life, be happy and love myself. I didn't intend to end up this way, sobbing in a ditch like a soggy cat.

That was when I heard a breathing sound and felt as though someone was staring at me. I looked and “AHHH!” An ERRIE DISEMBODIED CREATURE stood right in front of me, slightly bending over the hood.

His milky human form was somewhat purple as if he had been hurt. His long silver hair softly billowed in one corner of his head and draped down his back. The dirty water in the ditch rose to his waist.

He inched his way over the hood to my face. "Ahaaa!" His eyes -- huge, round, lidless, white eyeballs with no pupils. His glassy glare pierced through me.

Suddenly, he held up his willow blue arms in a beckoning motion as if inviting me to dance. The radio in my car switched on, blasting, "Do you want to dance?" in Johnny Rivers' booming voice.

I jerked away, trembling.

"HA-HA-HAHA!" He burst into laughter, his eyes rolled back in his head.

He shook from head to toe. "AHA-HA-HAHAAAA!" Several of his yellow teeth were missing. My excellent dentist, Dr. Paul, on 87th Street could assist him, but I pushed those thoughts aside because the rain turned for the worse.

The end of the world was upon us, and I couldn't get any moral support from anyone.

My ghastly suitor turned away and faced the sky. His silver hair waved in the breeze, gracefully. Next, "Baboom,” a lightning bolt struck him down, electrifying his body in a stunning flash and setting MY CAR on fire.

The burning stench, the blood-red sky, and the thunder clapping down on me, “Tammpampammbrraaa” -- that's all I remember.

I must have blacked out. When I woke up, I was in a hospital bed. I have no idea how I got here, and wait a minute... What's that? I can't BELIEVE it! I hear the music and IT IS, "Baby, do you want to dance? Tell me that I'm your maaaaan..."

***

The diary entry came to an end there, and no further information is available. We have absolutely no idea where J.C. is now. Her medical bills have yet to be paid off.

*** ***

Dear Readers, thank you for reading! Hope you've been entertained. Consider subscribing to my stuff, I promise never to bore you. :) Special Thanks to Pamela Mayer — my friend, editor, and collaborator.

Young Adult

About the Creator

Irina Patterson

M.D by education -- entertainer by trade. I try to entertain when I talk about anything serious. Consider subscribing to my stuff, I promise never to bore you.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Irina PattersonWritten by Irina Patterson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.