Fiction logo

What Are Friends For?

friendship

By KhutsoMachikaPublished 5 days ago 3 min read

The cafe was quiet except for the gentle hum of conversation and the occasional clink of cups. At a corner table near the window, Sarah sat sipping her latte, staring at her phone with a mixture of frustration and disappointment.

Across from her, Emily frowned sympathetically. "What's going on, Sarah? You look like you've lost your best friend."

Sarah sighed, her brow furrowing. "I might as well have. Remember Jason, the guy I've been dating?"

"Yeah, the one you couldn't stop talking about last month? What happened?"

"He broke up with me," Sarah confessed, her voice tinged with hurt. "Over text, no less. Said he 'needed space' and that he wasn't ready for a serious relationship."

Emily's eyes widened in surprise. "What? That's awful! After everything you've been through together?"

"I know," Sarah said, her voice cracking slightly. "I thought we were doing fine. We were planning a weekend getaway next month, for crying out loud."

Emily reached across the table and squeezed Sarah's hand. "I'm so sorry, Sarah. That really sucks."

"Yeah," Sarah murmured, staring down at her untouched latte. "I just don't get it. We seemed happy. And now... I feel like I'm back to square one."

Emily leaned back in her chair, thinking for a moment. "You know, sometimes people just have their own issues to sort out. It might not be about you at all."

"But why couldn't he talk to me about it?" Sarah asked, frustration creeping into her voice. "I thought we were close enough for that."

Emily nodded understandingly. "I get that. It hurts when someone you care about shuts you out like that."

Sarah sighed heavily, feeling the weight of disappointment settle in. "I thought I finally found someone I could really connect with. Now I'm starting to doubt everything."

Emily leaned forward, her expression earnest. "Hey, don't let this one setback make you doubt yourself or what you deserve. You're amazing, Sarah. Jason's loss if he couldn't see that."

Sarah managed a weak smile. "Thanks, Em. I really appreciate you listening to me rant about this."

"Of course," Emily said warmly. "That's what friends are for, right? To be there for each other through the good times and the bad."

Sarah nodded, grateful for Emily's presence. "You're right. I just need to... I don't know, take some time for myself and figure things out."

"Exactly," Emily agreed. "And in the meantime, I'm here whenever you need to talk or vent or whatever."

"Thanks," Sarah said again, this time with more conviction. "I'm lucky to have you as a friend, Em."

"And I'm lucky to have you," Emily replied, smiling. "Now, how about we get out of here and do something fun? A distraction might be just what you need."

Sarah chuckled softly, feeling a glimmer of hope amidst the lingering disappointment. "Sure, why not? What did you have in mind?"

As they made plans to explore the city and take their minds off of Sarah's recent breakup, Sarah couldn't help but feel grateful for Emily's unwavering support. Maybe Jason wasn't the right person for her after all. Maybe, in the grand scheme of things, this was just a small bump in the road leading her to something better.

---

Friendship, Sarah realized, wasn't just about sharing laughs and good times. It was also about being there during the tough moments, offering a listening ear and a shoulder to lean on. And as they left the cafe together, Sarah knew that with Emily by her side, she would be okay.

Love

About the Creator

KhutsoMachika

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    KWritten by KhutsoMachika

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.