Fiction logo

Watchers

A campfire story

By Alivia VarvelPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
31
Watchers
Photo by Sven Brandsma on Unsplash

“Just follow the lights, and you’ll be home before you know it.”

I repeat Mama’s words to myself like a prayer. If I say them enough, maybe I’ll stop hearing all the creaks and cracks of the nearly pitch-black forest around me. As long as I keep the small flickering lights on either side of me, I know I’m heading in the right direction.

A strange almost tickle arises on the back of my neck. You’re just scared because you’re alone, that’s all.

I think they’re fireflies. After all, they fade in and out like a carefully choreographed dance. If it wasn’t the dead of night and maybe I had the company of someone else, I would find the display beautiful. But it’s far too quiet to appreciate anything, and all that’s running through my mind is how the path in front of me is like a void.

Wait. It is too quiet. Shouldn’t there be the constant chirp of crickets and their other nocturnal friends?

More snaps come from my left and right.

For the first time since my trek began, I face the lights head on. Flicker, flicker, flicker.

I lock in on two that are alighting on and off in tandem. At the exact same time.

And the two next to those do the same.

And the two next to those.

All the blood in my body drops to my feet, and bile arises in my throat.

Eyes.

***

This was written for Mother Combs' Campfire Story challenge.

HorrorMicrofiction
31

About the Creator

Alivia Varvel

time is the most precious commodity

https://www.aliviavarvel.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)8 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story🎉

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    Gahhhhh!! So creepy 🫣🫣🫣 great work!!

  • Ian Read8 months ago

    A brilliant classic horror story! Awesome job!!

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    This one took me back to my young days when we actually told them around the campfire. Well done and congratulations!

  • Addison M8 months ago

    Very nice, horror slice.

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    A Terrifying situation indeed. Very well written also. Congrats on your top story!

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Well now, I subscribed after reading this! This was so creepy and paced beautifully. Well done! and Congrats on Top Story!

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    This gave me goosebumps!

  • Aaliyah Madison8 months ago

    Congratulations

  • Suze Kay8 months ago

    Wow. I'm so glad this challenge exists, because I could not think of a single idea for this... and here is a phenomenal example of a short, punchy, authentically scary story! Congrats on TS, this is such a wonderful spooky read. Great job.

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Fantastic job! Wow! I never considered this creepy possibility, and now I'm forever spooked night hikes and fireflies. You captured this so well, that build up, the turning to face them head on…I can tell you paid a lot of attention to the details. Bravo, and congrats on TS!

  • Judey Kalchik 8 months ago

    This is why I don’t hike

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    Yikes, and yikes, and...yikes! Just want to hide under the bed now...

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    Holy crap! This was so creepy! I could feel the tension rising up my spine as POV forges through the dark wood. Been there and let me tell you that you nailed that feeling

  • Omgggg this was soooo creepy! Well done!

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    Terrifying! Perfect spooky story for (almost) Autumn!

  • Mattie :)9 months ago

    Wow! You set up so well. Did not expect the ending. Left me wanting to read more. Great job, Alivia!!!

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Oh this is nice and scary I have chills

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.