Fiction logo

Wasteland Guide

I'm the man on a mission

By ImraldPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Wasteland Guide
Photo by Louis Reed on Unsplash

Through streams and flows I'm traveling, as the main cartographer of a one man squad.

The Lizard Foundation sent me here, as the only organization remained alive and that had made is goal to repurpose the toxic wasteland of these ancients lands to be suitable for life again, just as their once were, before the daunting accident that exterminated the entirety of the mankind that had preceded ours.

When I was a kid and they told me that I was one of the lucky ones to go live in the biospheres. I did not understand how I could be considered lucky to have to go to live far away to my family and friend, but now I do.

If it wasn't for those brave scientist that had to sacrifice everything for the survival of the human species, probably I won't be here and so my peers and companions.

The journey is still long, but I need to find refuge before the rain will come. It's still too acid to move under it. Just only the fact that the terrain got used to it and it's not damaging as it was it's a big win.

Before my eyes lies an infinite reflection on what needs to be done to achieve this gigantic goal. Am I truly able to accomplish such a task?

I always love learning new things even if I hated to study so I decided to be one of the people working on fixing the mistakes of the previous generations and giving back my homeland its ancient splendour.

I want the biomes in the biospheres to infect the entire world to be green, lush and marvellous again. Ah, if this confidence in me was real. It's not that I cry myself to sleep every night because I'm afraid I will not succeed.

I'm slower than my colleagues, I proceed steadier and with more depth, obtaining even better results, but I still envy their fast and decent progress. That's why when the chief proposed me to go to a research travel on my own I accepted despite being less remunerative, but at least I can face the challenge at my own pace.

I should stop whining and putting me down. I've achieved a lot in my constant progress, even if a at slower rate than other, and if I've been the only one entrusted to go on such an important research alone, it means that my effort is important and appreciated. Stop with the bad thoughts, I've more important things to attend to.

I'm just a paper man who has to run avoiding the pouring rain, the hasty winds, the fierce fires that spread eating up everything they meet. My wit is enough to support me in this adventure, no matter what substance or material I'm made of.

Fear and doubt are my best companions in this journey, but my duty it's only one: glide along the Abyss and complete the mission that all of the others failed. The chance of demonstrating that only because I'm thin and fragile as a piece of paper I can obtain what the ones before me could not.

I'm only halfway on my trip and I've already found out many important piece of information that can allow us to make this place liveable again and I know that in the end, I will discover the last missing fragment that's been escaping our common sense and minds since the few months after the explosion of the Experimental H.Q.

The rain has stopped, I'll wait just a bit for the ground to dry and I will persevere in my quest.

There's no time anymore for complaints!

Inspired by City of the Lost and their Wasteland Guide II

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Imrald

I'm a 29yo dreamer with a difficult relationship with emotions/affection.

I want to change sex but my family doesn't support me, so I struggle a lot in life.

I love writing, reading, Minecraft, animes and Nature.

Hope you'll enjoy reading me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Imrald (Author)2 years ago

    Thank you Ash, and sorry for my late response. I agree that I need to perfect my grammar skills and I'm working on it every day. I'm very happy that you still appreciated my story. As I explained the World is part of the album's author so I don't plan to expand it as it is not entirely mine. The 31 short story challenge is almost over for me, the last story is on revision and I'm planning on posting more stories that are not tightly tied to someone else's opera, hope to see you there. For now I thank you for your precious advice and I wish you a great day! Thank you also for your kind words about my situation, thriving is in my future,

  • Ash Taylor2 years ago

    I liked the emotion and concept behind this, I would love to learn more about the world and your protagonist. There are parts that would definitely benefit from copy-editing to double check grammar but on the whole it was an enjoyable piece of fiction. Also, as someone who is transgender myself I wanted to say that I see you. It's a difficult road, but one day there will be people around you who will help and support and love you for who you are.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.