Fiction logo

Voluntold

Someone else volunteering your time, and informing you after

By Natasja RosePublished 6 months ago 1 min read
9
Voluntold
Photo by I.am_nah on Unsplash

"Oh, by the way, you volunteered to cater for Talia's school bake sale this weekend."

Maria, in the middle of a valiant battle against ten classes worth of Final Essays and a list of who needed extra credit work to graduate, looked up long enough to raise an eyebrow. "I don't recall doing anything of the sort."

A wiser man would have taken her tone as the blaring warning sign that it was, but Maria's brother had never been the smartest of men. "Well, they needed volunteers, and everyone said they were busy, so I said we'd do it, but I have a game this weekend, so you need to help out."

There were some benefits to teaching high school English, among them the ability to sniff out bullshit, and creative use of the finer points of the English language. "In other words, I didn't volunteer; I'm being voluntold."

Maria knew the other involved parents at her nieces school; most of them were also teachers, and hadn't volunteered for the same reason she hadn't; marking season. Already, her phone was starting to blow up with texts asking if she was aware of what her brother signed her up for.

Fortunately, the school receptionists were also in the group chat.

Bless those absolute legends.

Maria stood up, stretching her legs. "Then you'd better get eggs and milk by Tuesday, and you're in charge of cooking for the month. I'm not doing both.

familyMicrofiction
9

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Great word Natasja, annoying intro by the bro, but great word.

  • Omggg!!! I'd be so furious is I was voluntold! Loved your story!

  • Delightful & spot on, Natasja! God bless the receptionists.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.