Fiction logo

Viridescent

11th March, Story #71/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 3 min read
19
Not wildly happy with the image AI came up with, but it was the best of a bad bunch

They reckoned us children when they found us. Twins. I laughed when I learned what the word meant. They had no idea of our ages, and thought us womb-grown at the same time. My brother was older, although always small and sickly. And of course, we weren't grown in a womb at all.

It was daytime when we came to their land. Cold, damp and dull. My brother already regretted making the journey and wanted to turn back. I knew it'd kill him, so convinced him we must rest and build our strength. Then I'd get us home. I believed it, too.

But how to build our strength? They're not clever, these creatures. They didn't know how to feed us. We were already skinny and weak by the time they found us, and they gave us things that were all wrong. For days, we went with nothing at all. My brother grew weaker.

They didn't know how to talk, either. We had to learn the odd sort of flat singing they do to communicate with each other to be able to speak with them. Then they asked us all kinds of silly questions. Things which we were poorly equipped to answer, their crude tongue being shocking at conveying anything about where we were from to start with, and we being only infants in the use of it.

At last, they gave us something we could stomach, something from the garden. They called them broad beans. It wasn't much, but we were ravenous!

My strength grew quicker than his. When they immersed me in a baptism, I accepted it, knowing I could withstand it. I begged them, as best as I could in this new language, not to put my brother through the same ordeal.

I sit here, beside the pit they found us in, thinking about my brother. I looks at my hands. The natural green colour is almost completely gone from my skin, now. Daily, I look more like them. I adapt. To their world, their food. I dig my fingers into the grass and think about how I will get revenge on the priest for immersing my brother in the hellwater that killed him.

++++++++++++

Word count (excluding note): 366

Submitted on 11th March at 23.38

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

Leave me a link to your own latest story, if I haven't already seen it!

Pay no attention to the writer behind the curtain: This is based on the stories about the Green Children of Woolpit, and incidentally has also been sat in my drafts since about the 12th century.

If you enjoyed this story, the best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another.

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes a 71 day streak. I'm also putting them in my Index post.

Thank you

Thank you again! I do my best to reciprocate all reads.

Short StoryMicrofiction
19

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Fascinating piece! So many aspects that made me want to know about there history and origin!

  • Haven't they ever seen the Wizard of Oz? Everyone should know by now that if a person is green you don't get them wet!

  • JBaz2 months ago

    Well ,you got me again, I may have been a little confused but the ending was wonderful

  • A great commentary!

  • Lindsay Sfara2 months ago

    Oh that last line. Wonderfully written and done. Amazing storytelling as always, L.C.!

  • Oh someone else also wrote about them! It may be Stephanie Hoogstad but I may be completely wrong, lol. Loved your story!

  • PJ Watts2 months ago

    Another great story. I love the narrative voice and the descriptions of how human language must sound ... I never considered it to be flat but actually, thinking about it now and comparing it to whale song, or the sound of the wind - or the birds ... or animals in fact .. it makes perfect sense! I really enjoyed this - thank you :)

  • ema2 months ago

    I was waiting for another ending 😭, but that's the beauty of stories, well done!

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    Feeding them broad beans seems especially cruel.

  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    Damn that ending was depressing. But I like the story. I remember a similar story that was “allegedly” true about two green children that were found in the woods and they were green for months and eventually turned “human” color. Nobody knows where they came from and they claim not to remember and not to know why they were green. Anyway, great story!!!!! 💚

  • John Cox2 months ago

    Another excellent story, LC. We are what we eat? I love the little hints peppered through the story, especially the pit they found them in. Describing baptism as the hellwater her brother was immersed in was very wry. Your explanatory reference to this story languishing in drafts since the 12th century made me laugh out loud!

  • Ooh this was awesome! As is the case with many of your stories, this felt to me like it could become a movie. Maybe the start of a movie. I could really picture some much of what was happening. Really enjoyed this origin of these… not kids… beings.

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Oh, this is fascinating. Is it part of a series? Sorry, I've been awol the past little while.

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Oh this is good. I really hope you’re going to do a follow up to this one.

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    Made me go to my weird side, but still had so much heart and soul, that I love it!

  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    I am intrigued by the idea of writing a story every year on the same date. Really enjoyed this microfiction. Am happy to have spent some time with these characters. Since you asked, allow me to share a recent piece of mine for your enjoyment: https://vocal.media/fiction/even-assassins-get-the-blues

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.