Fiction logo

Video Game Paradise

The robotic voices declare from the speakers and the skies are good at blaring it and then we all ignore the call that the video game paradise is complete and open for all willing to play the game for forever are now welcomed in to be the main characters of their own desires.

By Keanna Barry Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

I died last night and woke up into what I believe is to be called a video game paradise. This paradise is a gamer’s heaven and I for one am amused to be here. I discretely remember falling asleep in my lovers arms and ended up dreaming so vividly that it shook my sensations and awoke my awareness and I consciously made note that I’m now living in a video game.

I don’t have a voice here. So I believe I’m trapped in my inner thoughts. All I do is move. That’s all that is expected of me. Either by running, jumping, or avoiding chaos or doing all three at once I have found that it’s all play and no work. Which is fun if you consider the length of how long you’ll survive before finally crashing into walls, falling off a cliff or by collecting coins like they do in most of these games for pleasure.

My first instance came like a wave of terror because suddenly I was in a castle setting that is surrounded by tons of trees and it looked as though it had been deserted for ages. I glanced around trying to catch my surroundings when suddenly a red and white coloured dragon appeared and explained the rules of Video Game Paradise and read me my rights and admitted to me why I had won the contest of being granted the experience of a lifetime in which is the beginning of belonging to the game.

Now because many of the other contestants do not achieve the benefit of being picked and placed in the game world such as myself for being blessed and granted the opportunity of a lifetime they misuse their conduct by being superior to the character’s flaws rather than enjoying the game.

It came like a complete shock or maybe even like a thriller’s scream kind of motion that built an armour inside of me that is tailored to fitting surprises when suddenly a loud “in 3…2…1” came booming from the clouds and I began running down the castle hallways collecting coins by the nanosecond and with a brief smile I felt more alive than I ever was to know of myself and the extreme extent of adrenaline! Now don’t get me wrong this is loads of fun but for as long as I was running I felt as though I was being followed by something scary and I wanted to turn my head to the side just to ensure my curiosity was correct and there it was. The largest dragon in Temple Run was chasing after me!

Now I can remember that I was no track star back in high school but once it had fully registered in my brain that I was being chased after by this scary dragon I guess I pulled a suicide move and went flying off the cliff loosing all my coins and having to restart my level. It pulled me back to square one and I was disappointed.

Then the sudden “in 3…2…1” was recited and I was off once again running and being tailed by this ginormous creature who’s only purpose is too make sure I’m not making it out to the end of the level. This time the running aspect was a breeze and the coin catching was cool until it amplified because I hit a power up and by then I had begun racing through the game like there was some sort of flashy expensive prize to be won at the end of it.

The power ups power finally slowed down and then until it became nothing once again I was able to keep on running at a safe pace I could get used to if I play this game a couple more rounds and I began to enjoy the energy flow I was playing out as I had no doubts in my mind that this was the best thing ever. Sadly for me while playing this one through I bumped my head on the low bridge I was to crawl under and had to once again restart the level I’ve reached in the game as coin collecting waits on no man!

Once I bounced back from my injuries and was certain I could play it again I had found my body hurling down a spiral encounter in which it detached my heart from my feelings and a new game was opened. This time im not running through an obstacle course but a sword was placed in my hands and fruits began to fly at me. Im assuming this one is ‘Fruit Ninja’. Much fun! I don’t have much time to think about it as fruit starts flying towards me and I have to play as a samurai and slice them all as quickly as possible without the barrier of accidentally slicing a bomb and having to restart my round. It’s going well until well there it is now a bomb sliced and my round lost.

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

Keanna Barry

Give me a chance to help you with my own words?

My writing is intended to be read by you and the lessons being learned from what i am saying is all i pray and hope for to help improve quality of life for you, me, and like everyone else too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.