Fiction logo

Unsinkable

Friends don't let friends rob a museum alone.

By Meag CampbellPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
Unsinkable
Photo by NOAA on Unsplash

Two seagulls screech, battling over fries on the boardwalk.

I wince, exhaling slowly.

“All those times you wished for a piece of the Titanic, I never imagined this.”

“You owe me, muffin.”

Kara was right. I did.

“Okay. Let’s go.”

Doing it midday was her idea. Halifax is nicest in July; it’s one of Maritime Museum’s busiest months.

Lots of people.

Fully staffed.

But we had a plan.

Basically: Kara had met a guy at Durty Nelly’s with a certain job, and she’d gotten her hands on a certain key.

It’s an isolated target. We’re patient. Finally I give Kara the nod.

Eyes closed, she grabs it.

Alarms!

Not in the plan.

Kara panic-drops the wreckage fragment.

I eye the hallways.

We split toward separate exits.

Running hard, I repeat the steps to the street in my head like a chant.

(Later my FitBit app would show 17 minutes in “Peak” heart zone.)

We both get to the rendezvous and sit down hard, backs against brick walls.

Kara curses. I know she’s about to cry.

“All that for nothing.”

I slip a shard of wood in her hand.

“Not exactly.”

“What?! How’d you—”

I shrug. We smile.

“I owed you.”

AdventureMicrofiction
Like

About the Creator

Meag Campbell

An Atlantic Canadian millennial who's been having a never-ending identity crisis since 2009.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.