Fiction logo

Unexplainable Questions

The Dragons

By Andrya MarshallPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

There weren’t always dragons in this Valley. Alysen looked around almost concerned. They appeared as if they were at peace, they weren’t going to attack anytime soon. Alysen and her best friend, yet older brother Rylan Hammond hiked here at least once a week, so how long had the dragons been here? Metaphorically speaking Dragons didn’t exist, they were a part of fairy tales, they were mythology. Alyson spun her head around looking for Rylan. He was 3 years older and he wasn’t supposed to leave her alone on their hiking trips, if there parents had found out, they would no longer be allowed to go on them.

“Rylan?” A branch snapped from behind her, and Alysen jolted.

“I’m right here Al. Chill. Holy cr-”

“Rylan Dou-”

“Shhh. Shh. Shush.” He commanded. “ We need to talk to the experts.” Which meant Mama, and our Aunt Hannah. He grabbed my arm, and briskly walked back through the woods.

We arrived at Aunt Hannah’s first, after Rylan drove us in his race car. Dad was obsessed with them as a 16 year old boy too. Told Mama to meet us here. She drove the Jeep, apparently and beat us here. She must be sitting inside with Hannah. Mama sits at the dining room table fiddling with her ring. We don’t text her like that much, since she is usually so busy, but we know we can go to her for anything, we can go to either of our parents for anything. Her long blonde hair sits in braids along her back, and she pushes her glasses up.

“I don’t know Hannah. Why would they want to speak to both of us? I hope Rylan didn’t get a girl pregnant, he knows how our family has struggled, and Tiffany still struggles.”

“Woah Woah Woah, Mama I didn’t get any girl pregnant. Breathe. This is a mythological thing.” Mama jumps and is immediately hugging us.

“Oh thank god.”

“Thanks for pretty much saying you regret having us.” He grumbles.

“Honey, you know that’s not what I meant, you my son, are one of the greatest gifts life has given me. I was 17 and in love with the idea of being a mother.”

“So mythological you say?” Hannah ushers us to sit down.

“There were dragons in the valley.”

“Dragons?” She mutters. “Come into the library.” We gather in her small book nook, Mama gives me a skeptical look.

Aunt Hannah tsks until she finds her mythology books. I throw my dirty strawberry blonde hair into a bun on top of my head, just like Mama does with her blonde hair. “Which Valley?” She asks.

“The one off of Jefferson.” Rylan answers. She nods.

“It was so strange, they were at peace, just laying in the grass, not causing any harm to anything, there were even some babies there.”

“Baby dragons?” Mama asks. Rylan and I nod.

Uncle Emory walks into the house. “Hannah?”

“In the library babe.” She yells back at him.

“My favorite niece and nephew are here?” He asks. After Rylan was born, when he was almost 2, Uncle Emory, Dad’s brother, and Aunt Hannah tried to adopt children, and they even tried to , and they even tried to have one of their own. But it never stuck, Uncle Charlie, Dad’s oldest brother says it was a childish delusion.

“Hi Uncle Em.” Rylan and I embrace him.

“Hey Ana.”

“Hi Emory.” Mom and Uncle Em greet one another.

“Where’s my brother?”

“He’s working on a car, and didn't want to bother him.” Mama says.

“Ahh.”

“Take me to them.” Hannah says after Uncle Em leaves. She has some books gathered, and sets out the front door. She puts them in Mama’s car, and Rylan decides to go show her.

We are at the Valley again, and the Dragons are peacefully lying down again, the babies all playing together.

“Holy crap.” Mama and Hannah mutter. My phone vibrates in my back pocket.

“Hey Dad.” I answer wandering back out to the cars.

“Hey honey. Did you hear from Mom?” There’s a concern in his voice.

“Dad did you do something?”

“I’m not sure.” He sighs.

“I’m with Mama.”

“Is she okay?”

“Yes Dad, she’s fine. Her phone must be in the car. We’ll be home in a little bit.”

“Okay honey. I’m going to finish these calipers, and I’ll be there too.”

Whenever Mama doesn’t answer him, he gets concerned, and none of us blame him, it’s either she is avoiding him, or something is wrong, like the car accident she got into when I was 3, or when I was 7, or when she started cutting again, and almost died. Mama has had a lot of near death experiences, and her life sure hasn’t been easy. When I walk back, Mama is shivering, and her hands are shaking. She’s too pale, and her eyes keep twitching. She’s breathing slowly, almost too slowly as if it’s timed.

Alysen Maxine: SOS on Mama.

Dad: What’s wrong?

Alysen Maxine: Is she taking her medications?

He doesn’t answer. He knows just like I do something is wrong. I push that from my mind, and try to figure out the task at hand, the Dragons.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.