Fiction logo

Under the Purple Clouds: The life & death of a star

A short story by Amberlynn S.

By Amberlynn StewardPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

Under Purple Clouds: The life & death of a star

A Short Story by Amberlynn S.

Every night at midnight, the purple clouds come out to dance with the blushing sky. The fifth sunset of the night has always been my favorite. When the fifth star disappears into the void and the clouds roll in my love finally arrives. I see her in the distance a silver dew drop of soft light. She carries a warmth about her, a purity.

I've loved her for a thousand years now. She's small compared to the bold lights drifting about that purple sphere. I have always noticed her in the distance, but I don't think she's ever noticed me. I don't blame her. How could she see me in the distance when she is always surrounded by so many shining suns? I wish she would notice me just once before I dim, but my light is minuscule compared to theirs. My light shines in pale silver rays, while theirs shines in gold. But she is like me. Except she doesn't shine she glows. Our colors match each other perfectly. Does she not see we are meant to be together?

I used to be like them...the golden lights. I was once a red giant too, a scarlet orb with infinite potential. I burned through my fuel in my prime, but maybe she would have noticed me back then if she had seen how I shined. They all noticed me back then. The moons...they'd cheer with excitement every time they'd see me rise in the darkness of the pinpricked void. When the purple sphere finally allowed me to shine. I would rise and glow with every ounce of helium in my core. I was beautiful, I was fearless, I was...loved.

As time trod on and meteorites passed by my scarlet color faded and I shrank into what I am now. As each sun rises and falls, so too does the brightness of my light. Before long I will also be a part of the void. If my light fades into darkness you will never come to see me. That fear has kept me going throughout these darkened days.

I don't know when or how you first arrived, but I do remember the day you stole my heart. When the clouds parted back then, I was finally able to see the void. I hadn't seen anything but stardust for so long. I grew lonely as I awaited the day the dust would clear. When the dust finally dispersed everything around me had changed. As the veil was lifted, I saw you. You were the first thing I saw after so many years of isolation. You were like a pearl against the black velvet sky. You glowed so brightly that I knew I'd love you for the rest of my life.

Ever since then, I've waited impatiently every day just to get a glimpse of you. If only I weren't trapped on this side of the planet maybe I could reach out and touch you. Maybe I could finally tell you how much I love you. Maybe I could be your source of light. But even with all your warmth and my love, every day gets a little colder. I get a little colder. I fear that all I once was, and all I have ever been will soon disappear. When I run out of fuel...will I still be me? Could I still watch the clouds' part from my place in this web of dark matter? You may never see me, but could I still see you as you rise when the fifth sun descends?

I may never shine my silver light on this planet again, but you and the five suns still have many years left to rise and shine. One day, you too will also be a part of the void. When that day comes maybe we can finally be together. I will await that day in this, my cold and dark edge of the galaxy.

I hope I never forget you, my serene and beautiful MOON...

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Amberlynn Steward

I’m an artist, a writer, and a poet. I recently started an Instagram page in hopes of selling my artwork someday. My instagram page is moon_rabbit1212 I post all of my artwork in this page, I hope you enjoy it. 💜

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.