Fiction logo

Under the Pear Tree

Exploring the Love of Life and Fruit

By Rebecca TaylorPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Under the Pear Tree
Photo by Svetlana Kuznetsova on Unsplash

It was a beautiful starry night when a young company spread out a large, checked picnic blanket. Madelyn and Liam seemed so happy as they looked up at the stars and admired my flowers as they were in full bloom in the springtime and shared a few glasses of wine and some sweets together.

I looked around at all the other trees in the orchard and wondered what had made them pick me? Why was I a better choice than the apple trees or other pear trees? Was it because I was close to the path? Or did they see something in my branches, leaves or flowers that attracted them to me, like they had been attracted to each other?

Over the next several months, Madelyn and Liam returned to see me. Each time they’d bring a picnic. One day, they carved their initials into my bark. I wasn’t sure whether to be pleased or upset about this. The knife didn’t hurt me, but I had some concerns. All too often, I’d heard my friends the birds and leaves talk about relationships that didn’t last.

Even though there was a heart around the MB and LC that had been carved into me, I hoped that they wouldn’t be something that would eventually be cut out of me or painted over with a yucky substance like tar because they weren’t meant to be together.

Everything that I saw from Madelyn and Liam’s interactions told me that they were a great couple. And, since they probably didn’t realize that I could see and hear everything that they were doing, I decided that they were likely being authentic. Since, I saw them often and their characters remained the same, I did not think they were playing a part. At least I didn’t think so.

One day, Madelyn came to the tree alone. I was very surprised because it was the first time that she was not with Liam. She spread out a blanket, but it wasn’t the one that I was used to seeing. She had a cup of tea with her. I could smell the aroma of peppermint. She sipped at it slowly. Then, she reached into her purse and took out a small cardboard box. Inside the box was something that looked like a thermometer. But, when I got a closer look, I realized that it was a pregnancy test and there was a positive symbol on it.

I tried to read Madelyn’s expression. Was she happy that she was expecting a child? Had she and Liam been trying for this? I indeed hoped that it was Liam’s and that she hadn’t made a mistake and strayed from him. There were tears in Madelyn’s eyes. But were they the happy or sad kind?

A little while later, she packed up and left. For the next few days, I couldn’t keep my mind off of what was happening with Madelyn and Liam as I looked at their carefully carved initials in my bark. I had been tattooed by their love, and I wasn’t sure what was happening. I was relieved when I saw Madelyn and Liam return a week later.

This time, they had a picnic basket and their usual checkered blanket. But, instead of eating first, Madelyn reached out and took Liam’s hand. I could see that she was holding it extra tight. Then, she reached into her handbag and took out the box that contained the positive pregnancy test. She showed Liam the box. He was extremely surprised when he saw it.

Then, I noticed that Liam’s eyes lit up and he pulled Madelyn close and kissed her. His hand went to her stomach. It was clear to be that Liam couldn’t wait to become a father. As I listened to Madelyn and Liam talk about their future and how excited Madelyn was to share the news, I learned that Liam had been out of town on a business trip. Madelyn hadn’t wanted to tell him over the phone or on a video call. It had been hard for her to wait to share the news.

I was so pleased to have been part of this special announcement and to be able to watch their relationship grow. I hoped that they would visit often with the baby and that spending time with me would continue to be part of their routine. My pears were nearly ready to be picked and I could imagine their child one day enjoying a sweet, delicious pear sauce as one of the first foods that it could eat.

family
1

About the Creator

Rebecca Taylor

Rebecca Rose Taylor is a freelance writer and author. She has published two novellas (The Moderna Way, and The Heart's Way) and two children's stories (Finding My Blue Ribbon Pet, and The Magical Chicken Egg).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.