Fiction logo

Trapped

Arielle’s Story (A remix of "Little Red Riding Hood")

By Hailey Alexandria BaldwinPublished 3 years ago 21 min read
1
Trapped
Photo by Camila Quintero Franco on Unsplash

The forest was dark, and the trees were lifelessly bare. Arielle’s mother had told her to never go into the forest alone, but she was on the run. She had to escape from the chaos of living with a widowed addict. Dead leaves crunched under her feet with each step, and the sound of crows screeching echoed in the distance. I didn’t even grab a flashlight. It was about 5 o’clock, and soon the shadows would swallow her. I will never make it out alive if I can’t see. The thought sent chills down her spine, and her baby blue eyes swelled with tears. I can do this. Nothing is worse than living with mom.

Arielle’s father was murdered on a Friday afternoon at a small town bank in deep East Texas. He was cashing his check after a long work week when two armed robbers ran in and shot everyone in sight. When Arielle’s mother, Shauna received the horrific news, it hit her like a hurricane. A few weeks after the funeral, Shauna attempted suicide, but Arielle found her passed out on the floor by an empty bottle of pills, and immediately phoned the ambulance. The doctors were able to pump her stomach and save her life, but they were not able to revive the part of Shauna that was gone forever. The entire town found out about what had happened, and out of embarrassment Shauna quit her job, and vowed to never leave the house again. When she told Arielle that she had to be homeschooled, Arielle cried and begged on her knees.

“Don't make me homeschool! Please Momma! I’ll turn into the weird kid, and no one will like me. How am I supposed to keep friends or a boyfriend?”

“Friends don't exist, and men will only leave you to feel helpless and alone! Now go to your fucking room and don't say another word, or I’ll beat the fuck out of you!”

Arielle’s mom started drinking all the time, and would pop however many pills she felt necessary throughout the day. She stayed glued to the black couch in the living room while watching re-runs of Friends and Golden Girls everyday. Arielle hated her mother for giving up on life, but every time she tried to talk to her, Shauna would get pissed and beat her. Arielle could barely handle her father’s death, but her mother’s hatred and aggression made her feel worthless. She was only thirteen, but she felt the weight of the world on shoulders.

Months went by and Arielle felt completely trapped. She was responsible for all of the house chores and paying all the bills online with her mother’s computer. Arielle had secretly kept her cellphone and continued paying the bill, so she could still talk to her friends and Kent. He was the only person who seemed to understand her, and he was the only guy that had texted her after her father had passed away.

Arielle met Kent at her friend Emily’s house one night when Emily’s older brother was having a party. It was six weeks before Arielle’s dad passed away. Kent was a senior in high school, and all the girls wanted him. He had dark brown hair, beautiful blue eyes, and he was the captain of the football team. Arielle knew she had to have him, so she made it her mission to get his attention at the party. She found Kent standing outside posted up against the brick wall of the house smoking a cigarette. She stood there in silence observing his every move. God he is so hot! What if he thinks I'm annoying. What if he doesn't wanna talk to me.What can I….Spill my drink! Perfect.

With a drink in her right hand, she swallowed her fears, and stumbled over to Kent pretending to be drunk. Arielle let her left foot hit a rock on the ground and flung her body towards him. Her drink went flying out of her hand and all over Kent. She used her left hand to grab his arm to catch herself.

“Oh my god! I am soooo sorry!” Arielle said. “I’ve had too much tonight.”

“All I have to say is if you were a guy, I’d knock you the fuck out,” he said.

Arielle looked down. Fuck he hates me.

“Hey Arielle, I was kidding,” he said. “Are you okay?”

“Oh.” She giggled. “Yeah, I’m fine. I am sorry again, I will get you a towel.”

Arielle turned to walk back inside.

“Hey wait. I will go with you,” Kent said.

The two walked into the laundry room, and Kent started taking off his black Rock Revival t-shirt. Arielle couldn't help but stare at his perfectly toned and tanned body. It’s the middle of December, and he’s still tan. Arielle’s eyes studied up and down his body, and when she looked up her eyes met his.

“What? Never seen a man’s body before?”

“Huh?” “I wasn’t…” He cut her off.

“Arielle, I saw you looking. It’s okay. Don't be embarrassed.”

“Okay. So what if I was looking? You're sexy as fuck,” she said.

“You think so? Really? I think you are too, but I’m too old for you.”

“So. Age doesn’t matter, and no one has to know if you don't want them too,” she said. Kent grabbed her face and kissed her for a long time. He started rubbing his hands down her body and feeling on her boobs. He kissed her passionately and pushed her up against the wall. He kicked the laundry room door shut, and he tried taking her clothes off.

“Wait,” she said. “I have never done this before.”

“It’s okay baby,” he said. “We will take it slow.”

“Okay”, she said. “I trust you.”

Arielle and Kent started sneaking around together, and texting all the time. He told her every day how beautiful she was, and how much he loved her amazing smile. Arielle was in the love bubble, and when she found out about her father’s death she clung to Kent for dear life. He would call Arielle every night to talk to her until she fell asleep, and he would listen to her vent about how much she hated her mom and how much she missed her dad. He would talk to her about running away together when she got a little older, and she couldn't wait for that day.

Arielle put up with her mom for three years, and Kent was the only person who made her feel alive and worthy of love. The two snuck around all the time while Shauna stayed drunk and in a half coma from all the pills she was taking. Arielle would ask Kent to stay the night, and the two would lay in bed and smoke weed until they fell asleep. They figured Shauna was too fucked up to notice them.

Early one morning, while Kent and Arielle were laying in her bed together, they heard Shauna up and moving around. Arielle jumped out of bed and hid her pipe and her marijuana in her underwear drawer. Kent jumped out of bed, put his pants on, kissed Arielle on the forehead, and climbed outside through her bedroom window.

“I am going to Billy’s,” he said. He turned and ran towards the woods.

Arielle walked to the window, and pushed it closed. Her bedroom door flew open and made her jump. Shauna came in screaming and hollering.

  “Where’s my Xanax? You didn’t put your slimly little hands all over my shit did you?”

“No mom what the fuck are you talking about,” Arielle asked.

Shauna stopped. “What’s that smell?”

“I don’t smell anything,” Arielle said. Damn, she smells it.

Shauna walked to Arielle’s night stand and opened the top drawer. Right on top of Arielle’s underwear, she found a blue and green glass pipe and a tiny ziploc bag stuffed with a few single buds.

“Exactly what I thought,” Shauna said. “My daughter’s a fucking drug head!”

Shauna took off after Arielle swinging her fists wildly. Arielle crouched in the corner of her room with her arms covering her face.

“Fucking stop you crazy bitch! Get off of me!”

Shauna’s fists came down harder and faster on top of Arielle’s head until she finally knocked her out on the ground.

When Arielle woke up a couple minutes later, she had drool all down the side of her mouth, and she was laying with her face down on her fuzzy purple carpet. She sat up, and her head started throbbing. I’ve got to get out of here. She stood up, grabbed a bag, and threw some clothes and her phone in it. She climbed through her bedroom window and started running through the woods.

The forest was dark, and the trees were lifelessly bare. Arielle’s mother had told her to never go into the forest alone, but she was on the run. She had to escape from the chaos of living with a widowed addict. Dead leaves crunched under her feet with each step, and the sound of crows screeching echoed in the distance. I didn’t even grab a flashlight. It was about 5 o’clock, and soon the shadows would swallow her. I will never make it out alive if I can’t see. The thought sent chills down her spine, and her baby blue eyes swelled with tears. I can do this. Nothing is worse than living with mom.

Arielle’s heart was pounding through her chest. What am I gunna do? Where am I gunna go? Kent’s friend Billy lives out here somewhere, but where? Fuck me! Fuck my life! A beep interrupted her.

“Fuck!” She knew it was her phone. “I should've made sure this piece of shit was charged before I left that hell hole of a house!”

She threw her phone back into her bag and shrunk to the ground near a giant, rotting stump. Arielle smelled mildew coming from it, so she scooted away from it. She put her head between her legs and began crying. Think Arielle, think! She had been to Billy’s before, but Kent led her there. She wasn't good with remembering directions. She had no idea where to start looking. How the hell am I supposed to find this place?

Her chest was tight and she couldn't control her breathing. Panic attacks got the best of her every time she was upset, but this was worse. No one knew she was out there, and no one was coming to look for her. She knew she should have never came into the woods without getting ahold of Kent first.

A branch snap in the distance.

“It’s just a bunny.”

The noise got closer and closer. It sounded like footsteps. She could hear her own heart pounding. She stood up and looked around.

“Hello, is someone there?” The noise stopped. “Kent, is that you trying to scare me?”

A figure moved closer, and in the shadows of the trees she could make out a man’s silhouette slowly moving forward.

“Kent… Baby?”

The man moved towards her, and she could now see he was much taller than Kent. He had a scar underneath his left eye that fell perfectly along his cheekbone, and his hair was glued to his face with sweat and dirt. For some reason Arielle was not scared, but she thought she should be.

“Come on out. I can see you plain as day,” said Arielle.

The man continued walking towards her, and extended his left hand at her.

“Hey there girlie, he said.” She took his hand and shook it. His firm grip and rough hand was startling to her tiny, soft hand.

“I do not know how you could mistake me for anyone named Kent. They call me Mark, but I actually think I look more like a Paul. How do they call you sugar?”

He stood above her waiting for an answer, staring down at her with dark eyes that could hypnotize her if she looking into them for too long. Arielle felt his eyes cutting deep into her soul, and she squirmed under pressure.

“My name is Arielle,” she said.

“Well darling, what you doing out here all by your lonesome? Don’t you know pretty girls like you get kidnapped in these here woods?

Arielle couldn't focus on what he was asking because his accent was so thick.

“Where are you from?

“Born and raised here in Texas. I ain’t never left this state because it is the best state, but enough about me, myself, and I. You never told me what the hell you're doing out here.”

She shrugged and said, “I don’t wanna talk about it.”

“Well, if you need a forest guide I am your man,” he said. “I have lived in these here woods my whole life, and I can make sure don't no one mess with you.”

She wondered if this man had been following her and listening to her; if he had planned to talk to her the whole time; if he thought now was the perfect moment to kidnap her.

“I’m okay. My friend Billy lives close, and I’m going to meet my boyfriend there.”

“Billy you say! Well, I know a boy named Billy. He lives in a cabin near by. It has got to be the same one ‘cus he’s the only one round here by that name.”

“Do you think you could point me in the right direction then?”

“Yessiree I can,” he said. “See those two oak trees directly in front of you?”

“Yes, I see them.”

“We call those the twin leaves. Go directly in between them, and keep going straight until you see a wrecked 1953 Bel-air. There will be an old brown gate. Go through it and you will be there. Be careful sugar,” he said.

“Thank you,” she said.

She turned to walk away, but the words were already coming out of her mouth, “What did you say you were doing out here again?”

“I didn't say. You never asked. I’m just looking for some good ole firewood. I’m thinking about having a bonfire. Maybe I’ll invite Billy later.”

“Okay. Thanks again.”

Arielle quickly walked through the twin leaves. The sky was getting darker, and the air was getting colder. Thoughts took over her mind.

What was that man really doing out here? How did he get that scar under his eye? How does he know Billy? How does he know girls get kidnapped out here. Maybe I should just go home. It’s not safe out here.

She stopped walking, and a tear rolled down her cheek, but she wiped it away. I can't turn around. I am strong. I can do this.

Arielle finally arrived at Billy’s, but she hesitated when she saw the gate. It was on backwards with the rusted locks on the outside, and she could smell the rot coming from the deteriorating, wet wood. The chain was completely orange with rust, and she knew she would never be able to undo the lock that kept the gate closed. The fence surrounding the gate was barbed-wire, but it did not look as old as the gate. It looked almost new and it was tight, so no one could stretch it out wide enough to crawl through.

What are they trying to keep locked in? I hope it is not a German Shepherd or something. I don't remember seeing this last time I was here, but it was a couple years ago. The house looks kinda the same though, so fuck it.

She walked along the side of the barbed-wire fence until she saw a man standing out in the yard. He was digging a hole in the ground about 50 feet from the right side of the house.

“Hey, is this Billy’s house?”

The man turned around, and she realized it was Kent.

“What the fuck are you doing here? You need to go home now,” he said.

“But baby, I can’t go home,” she said. “Mom went psycho and she knocked me out.”

“Well you can’t stay here Arielle. It isn't really the nicest place.”

“Kent please. I don't care how awful it is inside. Please just let me stay. I’m gunna be happy as long as I’m with you baby.”

“Fuck. You really can't just go home?”

“Baby you said we could run away together when I got old enough. I’m sixteen now. Please Kent. Now is the perfect time.”

Kent smiled and said, “Okay, well come around to this front gate, and I will let you in.”

The cabin was just as old as the gate. The wood was termite infested, and the floor boards squeaked with every step. Little tan sheets hung from the ceiling to close off some corners of the cabin, and used needles were scattered all over the floor. “How does someone live here Kent?” He didn’t respond. The air was so musty it was making her nose run, but she was glad she was safe with Kent now. He led her into a back room that had a queen sized bed neatly made up with a beautiful white comforter and red silky sheets. A radio sat on top of a night stand next to the bed, but that was the only furniture. Who's room is this? Where the fuck am I?

“Wanna smoke, baby?”

“Of course, I do! I have had one hell of a day,” she said.

He reached into the top drawer of the night stand and he pulled out a joint and lit it. He puffed on it once and handed it to Arielle.

“Here, baby,” he said. “I want you to smoke all of it yourself because you deserve it! I am going to get us a drink.”

“Sounds perf to me,” she said. She gave him a big kiss, grabbed the joint, and lay back the bed.

Arielle didn’t know what was happening. She had smoked way more than a joint by herself before, but she had never felt this dizzy. Kent still wasn't back. Everything was a blur, and she could feel herself nodding off. What’s wrong with me? She tried calling for Kent, but she didn't know if the words made it out of her mouth. Have I been drugged? Kent wouldn’t. He couldn’t. Maybe I’m just tripping. Her head got fuzzy, and she slowly started loosing feeling in her body. Kent and another strange man came into the room, but she couldn’t move or say anything. The strange man grabbed her. It was Mark. He began undressing her, and all she could do was mumble “no” and “stop.”

“Bitch, shut up.” Kent slapped her in the mouth hard. He had never laid his hands on her before, and before she knew it, she was completely naked. The strange man began taking pictures of her before he finally shoved a little white pill into her mouth and climbed on top of her.

Arielle woke up naked on the floor beside the bed with a throbbing headache, and her thighs covered in purple bruises. She tried to get up, but she had no control over her body. There weren't any windows in the bedroom, so she had no idea what time it was. How long have I been out? Why the fuck did Kent do this to me? She let the tears fall down her face as she lay on the floor hating herself. Mom was right. Men are awful. I’m just garbage. Useless.

Kent came back into the bedroom and picked her up. She wanted to kick him, and fight him, but she did not have the energy.

“Why did you do that to me? I thought you loved me,” she said.

“It’s not personal baby. It’s business,” he said. “Do not worry hun, I won’t let anything really bad happen to you. I take care of all of my girls.”

All his girls? “This isn't legal.”

“Yes, I’m aware, but you'll like it. You're a whore anyway, you’ll be okay. Just think of it as your price of living,” he said.

Still carrying her, he pushed a door open. There were six sleeping bags on the ground, and five of them were filled with young women. He lay her down in the open bag, kissed her on the head, and said “Goodnight, beautiful. Daddy will be here to see you in the morning, so get some sleep.” He slammed the door shut, and she heard the key turning to lock it.

As she laid in her sleeping bag, she knew this was going to be her life from now on. She said her prayers, asked God to kill her while she was asleep, and lay there motionless accepting her new fate.

A skinny, blonde woman was in the sleeping bag to Arielle’s right. She could hear her breathing funny, so she sat up and tried waking her up. Her body was shaking, but she looked asleep. Arielle tapped on her. “Hey. You alright?” The woman didn't move. Her body convulsed on the hard wood floor. Arielle reached for her right arm to check her wrist for a pulse. Her arm was covered in fresh track marks and scars from attempted suicides. Arielle felt a slight pulse, but she really didn't know what to feel for. This girl is overdosing. She needs help. The only light in the room was coming from the crack under the door.

Arielle jumped up and started rubbing every corner of the walls in hopes of finding a light switch. The other girls in the room were stirring and beginning to wake up now.

“There’s not a light switch in here. You're wasting your time,” a voice said from somewhere in the back of the room.

“Well someone help me! This girl is dying!” No one moved.

“Did I fucking stutter? Help me!”

A young brunette rolled out of her sleeping bag saying, “You can't help her. They are punishing her, like they are going to do to you if you don't stop.”

“Who is they, and what do you mean punishing her? They are going to kill her!”

“Exactly,” said the brunette.

“We can't just let her die,” Arielle said. “I’m gunna find a way to help her.”

Arielle returned to the blonde woman’s side, and prayed to herself. “God please help me find a way out of this mess. I know I haven't talked to you since Daddy died, but please help me help this girl. Please keep her alive long enough for me to find a way out of here.”

A tall dark haired woman emerged from the shadows and sat down beside Arielle.

“I know how to help her. Let me handle this,” she said.

“How?”

“Because I took nursing classes a few years ago. I am Shannon by the way.”

“Arielle,” she said. “How can you help her?”

Shannon rolled the girl on her side and started rubbing her back and shoulders. “I’ve done this a couple times, but it doesn't always work. While I am doing this I need you to do something for me. Tap the walls until you hear a hollow sound. Once you've done that, come let me know.”

“What for? Can you get us out of here?”

“I think we can get out, but I need your help,” Shannon said. “None of the other girls have ever been brave enough to help me escape, except Lindy here, and well, she got caught and this is how they are punishing her.”

Arielle didn't need to hear anymore. She jumped up and started tapping the walls. She finally found a weak spot in the very back of the room. She tapped it. “It’s hollow. We can push through this.” Arielle found two pink high heels in the right corner of the room. Perfect.

“Shannon look. This spot is hollow, and I found heels to beat through the wall with.”

“Great, get started,” Shannon said.

Arielle swung the heel as hard as she could, but she wasn't making very much progress. The other girls were getting mad because she was making a lot of noise. They didn't want anyone to come see what was going on. I can do this. Arielle took one more swing and finally poked a hole through the wall. “Finally!” Shannon ran to her side, picked up the other heel, and started pounding away. Just as they made a hole big enough to slide through, the sound of footsteps coming down the hall stopped them.

“What should we do, Shannon?”

“Attack him,” Shannon said.

Arielle and Shannon ran to the door and waited for it to swing open. Kent walked inside, and the two girls jumped out at him and beat him with the pink high heels. Kent pushed Shannon down, and Arielle hit him in the head with the heel. He screamed in pain as he swung at Arielle. She dodged his hand and kept hitting him. Shannon grabbed his legs and made him lose his balance while Arielle hit him repeatedly in the head with the heel. Arielle gave him one final blow to the head before she jumped up and stomped his head into the ground. “Fuck you Kent! Fuck you!”

No one could believe what had just happened. Kent was laying in a pool of blood, and if they could all get out of the house before the other men came to check on him, they could be free. Arielle and Shannon picked up Lindy, who was now partially conscious, and headed straight for the exit. The other young women followed.

Arielle led the way through the freezing, pitch black forest.

“Stay close everyone, and keep up.”

I can do this. I can lead them to my mom’s. It’s safer there. It’s warm there.

Arielle finally made it back to her mom’s, and she walked right inside. Not to her surprise, her mother was passed out on the couch. She told everyone to come inside and make themselves comfortable. She grabbed the phone and dialed 911. Thank you God. I did it. I saved them. I saved myself.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.