Fiction logo

Tomorrow

Random word generation microfiction: flawed, speed, gas.

By Ashley LimaPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
35
Tomorrow
Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

Looking in the mirror, all I noticed was my flawed skin. Bumps and scars. Discolored. Pale. Gaunt - Unrecognizable. I re-covered the surface with the towel at once.

The house was cold. The sun was beginning to set, low behind the hills. Night creeping up; again.

One more night. I only need to survive one more night.

It had been 7 months since the grid went out. Give or take. I stopped counting. Half of the county died within the first 2 weeks, primarily due to violence. The radios went dark shortly after. I was alone on the hill, surviving off of sheer willpower and spite. Not another man for miles. Safe in the place I always called home.

I stalked to the porch, watching the sky change from red to grey. A ritual. Sitting on the edge of the deck was the last canister of gas I had. Liquid gold. My lifeline. Enough to take me into town and back. My stomach growled, but it would have to wait until tomorrow. I would need to make the most of it.

The hum of an engine revved up the dirt road. I froze in place, my heart beating fast.

Headlights made their way around the corner, creeping closer with each shaky breath until they finally came into view. Horrifically bright; blinding.

I grabbed the can, turned on my heels, and ran. But my speed would be my downfall, my starving heart giving out within twenty steps.

Tomorrow would never come.

Microfiction
35

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Wow! This was so good!

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    Crikey! This is a dark tale, excellently written. What an ending.

  • What a compelling story! I didn't stop watching till the very end because of the intense feelings and striking pictures.

  • Grz Colm2 months ago

    Intriguing work Ashley! Congrats!! ☺️👍

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Very well written. I am so sad that your main character died. I was hoping he/she would be able to eat some food and feel better.

  • Caroline Jane2 months ago

    😱 noooooo! Despite knowing the genre I still did not expect that ending. Very well done!

  • Gabriel Huizenga2 months ago

    Really gripping writing! You match your style so perfectly to the microfiction genre- congrats!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Wonderful storytelling. Congrats on the TS.

  • Judey Kalchik 2 months ago

    WOW! That was so much detail in so few words. Terrific!

  • Test7 months ago

    The story captures the essence of a post-apocalyptic world so well.

  • Yes, they died! I'm satisfied, lol! I wonder who it was that came driving. Loved your story!

  • Mark Gagnon7 months ago

    I like how you weaved the words together to create not only a background but the character's demise.

  • Sid Aaron Hirji8 months ago

    nice ending

  • Mattie :)8 months ago

    Oh so good, Ashley! Did give me some anxiety tho lol.

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Wow, this had me on edge!!!!! I wish there was more!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great work’! Enjoyed! To bad about the heart situation!

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Interesting

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    That's some tightly knit narrative for sure. I like how we don't even know the cause of this apocalyptic emergency, and your abrupt ending. Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.