Fiction logo

Skinwalker III

A microfiction

By Ashley LimaPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
13
Skinwalker III
Photo by Ray Hennessy on Unsplash

The snow outside had footprints, but I couldn't hear a soul in the silence of the night. The full moon rose above the hills, and the sharp sensation of cold ran down my spine. My cheeks were hot; pale skin nipped by the evening breeze. The breath that poured out of my mouth trickled upward, settling into the thick air, endlessly in front of me.

When I turned my back to the wilderness, making my way inside the humble abode I called home, I saw a reflection of myself. Standing straight, tall, and strong, staring into my damaged soul.

One hand up. One hand down. The man mirrored my movements.

Our breaths were in sync, but no vapor left his lips.

I watch his sclera change from white to black.

My heart started beating fast.

I opened my mouth to scream but found I couldn't make a noise.

The man in the mirror spoke back to me, and it seemed he stole my voice.

"Get out of here you wretched mutt. Get out of here at once."

When I looked down toward my human feet, I only saw fur and claws.

Microfiction
13

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Lovely sensory language Ashley! ☺️👏

  • Mark Gagnon7 months ago

    You created calculated confusion. It was well done!

  • Oooo, now that was so unexpected! Loved your twist!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    This is amazing! Great and scary!

  • Alivia Varvel8 months ago

    Very haunting and extremely well written!

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Bestial and chilling. There is a whole I-don't-know-what to this version that adds a whole new dimension of fright/isolation/tortured psychology. I would have to compare to see what that little touch consists of.

  • Sid Aaron Hirji8 months ago

    Be cool to turn into a dog/canine

  • Pleasant Read & Storytelling 😉💙👌

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.