Fiction logo

Rivals

Subtle competition never hurt anybody.

By Ashley LimaPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 16 min read
7
Rivals
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

"You know, I can't stand you," Katrina muttered under her breath as she stalked away in the direction opposite of Jamie.

"I know," Jamie smirked, watching her take off, snapping a photo of her with his Nikon DLSR.

"I heard that!" Katrina threw her middle finger into the air, not daring to look back at her competition.

"I wanted you to!" Jamie called back, snapping another photo before turning toward his clientele.

"Sorry about that," Jamie redirected his focus to the newly engaged couple in front of him. "So, anyway, if you could move a little bit to the left, that would be great. The sun isn't cooperating with us at the moment."

The young couple stood stupified in matching baby blue outfits. Slowly and methodically, they shuffled to the left, giving each other perturbed glances before looking back at the photographer in front of them.

"Lovely, that's perfect. Now, if you would, stand slightly behind your bride-to-be and place a hand tenderly on her hip," Jamie instructed.

The young man did as Jamie bade.

"Great, great. Now, Blondie, flash that ring toward the camera and look up at your man with that darling smile of yours," Jamie continued leading the couple, snapping shots between each new direction he gave, catching candids at every moment possible.

The young blonde giggled up at her partner, and her future husband loosened up, flashing a genuine smile down at his beautiful fiancée.

Jamie continued snapping photo after photo, relishing in the tender moment taking place in front of him.

"I still got it," Jamie muttered between shots.

"What?" The couple looked back at him in unison, eyebrows raised, tense once again.

-----

"I couldn't believe it, Mel," Katrina was fuming. "That's my spot. He knows that's my spot. I go there every day after lunch. It's a special place for me, and I'm the only photographer in town who ever uses it!" She took a sip of her coffee and tried to relax into the warm sensation.

"He's using it because he knows it's your spot. Don't let him get under your skin," Mel leaned back in her chair with her legs crossed, taking careful sips of her own drink. "Why do you think he scheduled the appointment for right after lunch?" Mel's expression was both amused and tired as her best friend rambled on about her long-time foe for the third time this week.

"Doesn't he have any dignity? Why does he insist on bothering me all the time? I swear, he's trying to drive me out of town, but I won't have it. I was here first," Katrina droned on.

"You both graduated from high school in the same year, Katrina. You were both here at the same time, lighten up," Mel chuckled between sips.

"Yeah, but I was born in April and he was born in June," Katrina was tense, she scoffed looking out of the café window, ignoring Mel's raised eyebrow.

"You're ridiculous, you know that right?" Mel asked. Setting down her empty mug, she began gathering her things.

"No, he's ridiculous," Katrina muttered.

"Whatever you say, sister. I'll see you next week," Mel bid Katrina adieu, and the bells above the door jingled as she exited the shop.

"Yeah, see you next week," Katrina whispered, playing with the hem of her shirt, her mind going a mile a minute.

She was startled from her rage by the sound of her phone ringing in her purse. She pulled it out to see who could possibly be calling her, but it was an unknown number. With a gulp, she answered.

"Hello?" Katrina asked.

"Hi, this is Adeline Brady soon to be Mrs. Carson. I found your portfolio online, and I'm in the market for a wedding photographer. I absolutely loved your style and would be honored to have you shoot my special day. I can pay you twice your normal rate. Are you free two weekends from now? I know it's last minute, but my previous vendor dropped out, and I'm desperate... Please say yes!"

Katrina's eyes widened. Congressman Carson's bride-to-be was on the other line, asking her to shoot their wedding, willing to pay her an exorbitant amount of money to do it. She cleared her throat and tried to calm down.

"Congratulations on your upcoming nuptials, I will have a look at my immediate schedule to see if I-" Katrina was cut off.

"I'll pay you triple," Adeline was practically begging on the other end of the line.

"I will see you in two weeks," Katrina stifled a gasp before responding. "I do have a non-refundable deposit, just shoot me the details over text and we can confirm the appointment."

"No problem, I can send the money right now. I'll provide the impending details over text. I'll need you in the bridal suite first thing in the morning to take my "get ready" pictures, and then- Oh forget it, I could go on and on about it for hours. I'm sure you know the drill. Thank you so much for doing this, really. It will be an honor to work with you." Adeline was rambling, but her voice remained sweet and high-pitched.

"Thank you very much for your consideration, future Mrs. Carson. I look forward to capturing your special day. Have a great evening. I'll keep my eye out for the details," Katrina remained calm as best she could.

"Thank you, take care!" Adeline hung up hastily.

Katrina stifled a screech as she furiously went to text Mel about what had just taken place. This was the perfect moment for Katrina's portfolio. This would give her just the edge she needed over Jamie. He couldn't possibly compete with this.

-----

Jamie sat alone. The only light shining in his studio apartment came from the brightness of his computer screen. He stared his strained eyes into the monitor, editing photos from the day's shoot. The desk in front of him was a mess. Take-out wrappers and empty cans of energy drinks spewed about. His walls were bare except for a few photos of his dog, a little Yorkie named Meatball. Behind Jamie laid his unmade bed; Meatball slept soundly beneath a navy blue comforter.

Jamie let out a sigh as he exported the final picture into its proper folder, The Hylands Engagement - 2023. Opening up Gmail, he began composing a message:

It was a pleasure meeting you two. Congratulations on your engagement. You make a lovely couple. I hope you enjoy the photographs I took for you today -

Jamie looked at the clock, it read 2:00 A.M.

today - yesterday, and I hope you had a lot of fun. I know it can be uncomfortable being on the other end of the camera, but you two did fantastically. Let me know if there is more to be desired with this collection. I would be happy to do a reshoot, free of charge, or change the editing style if it's not exactly what you were looking for. My aim is to make sure you get what you want, I understand your time and money is precious. If you're happy with my services, I would love if you could refer me to your family and friends. Much appreciated.

Best Wishes,

Jamie Giles

Jamie ended the message by attaching a zipped file folder containing the goods. After hitting send on the message intended for his patrons, he went over to his calendar to check his itinerary. His entire week was empty aside from the hour of allotted time he set aside each week day to visit his mother at the nursing home.

He went to his social media dashboard to check his analytics, and they had hardly moved. He had a few advertisements running out soon, and with a deep groan, he extended their deadlines an additional three days.

"C'mon..." he muttered.

With that, Jamie shut down his computer and meandered over to his bed. He collapsed onto the mattress with an exasperated sigh.

Meatball woke with a start, poking his nose out of the comforter and sniffing the air. Noticing Jamie in the bed, he tiptoed his way up to his owner's head. Meatball sniffed Jamie's ear before placing gentle licks up and down his cheek.

"I love you too buddy," Jamie gathered Meatball under his arm, and the dog relaxed beneath the weight of his appendage. They fell asleep in no time, chests beating in unison.

-----

"What should I wear?!" Katrina was pacing around her bedroom. Dresses, shoes, and bags were strewn about the floor in no particular order. Different shades of pastels; periwinkle, cerulean, and mint, painted a picture on the rustic hardwood beneath her feet.

"Kat, it doesn't matter," Mel's voice could be heard coming through the speaker of the newest iPhone model that Katrina possessed. "You don't have to look good, you just have to take good pictures."

"Mel," Katrina started, "This is Congressman Carson's bride we're talking about. I have to make a good impression."

"She already likes your photos, you've made a good impression already," Mel's eye-roll could almost be heard through the phone line. "Blend in. Keep it caszh. Put on some modest make-up. Put your hair in a bun with lots of hair spray. All you have to do is be put together."

"Ugh," Katrina exasperated, flopping onto her King-sized, four-poster bed. "You are so right, Mel. This is why I keep you around."

"Don't think I don't know it," Mel let out a soft chuckle before breaking into a lion-sized yawn. "Okay, babes. My drive home from the hospital is almost over. I need to get out of these scrubs and into bed. Love you. Remember your business cards. Keep it profesh, you're going to kill it. Muah!"

Katrina heard three beeps come from her phone as Melanie disconnected the call.

"Love you too," she rolled her eyes and reached for her phone to check the time. 6:15 A.M. She needed to be at the Bed and Breakfast in an hour, and it was thirty minutes away. With a deep sigh, she got up and did what she always knew she needed to do.

-----

Katrina's jaw dropped when she walked up the Bed and Breakfast, 10 minutes early, of course. It was on the most lavish estate she'd ever set foot on in her entire life. The brick walls of the building were aged but clean. Roman-style columns lined the front of the building, and immaculate floor-to-ceiling windows lit up the front room. Peaking in, she could see ornate Victorian couches, large bookshelves filled to the brim, and a marble fountain with Cupid's likeness, emitting light-pink water.

Katrina dawned a sleek, light green dress that covered her arms, dipped low on her back, and rested gently above the knee. It was perfectly appropriate for late September in Georgia, and enough to blend in at such a noble affair. It was lightweight and fitted, hugging closely to her petite yet sturdy frame. She had pearl earrings with a matching necklace laced snugly around her neck, and matching light green kitten heels on her feet. Her photography bag was slung neatly over one shoulder, made of hand-crafted light brown leather, it matched the earth tones of her attire quite nicely.

Katrina reached to open the door to the foyer, but as soon as she grazed the bronze handle with her fingers, they swung open, manned by two concierges wearing suits and bellhops atop their heads. They said no words but nodded at Katrina. She cleared her throat as she walked through the door.

She heard each of her footsteps as she walked on the ornate tile flooring. Making her way to the fountain, she studied its artistry before being interrupted by the ding of an elevator.

"Katrina Franklin?" An older woman asked in a high-pitched, posh voice.

"Yes, that would be me," Katrina stifled a smile; excited, but attempting to remain straight-faced and professional.

"Wonderful!" The woman shuffled over to Katrina and put a hand on her arm. "Do come up to the room, Adeline is delighted to finally meet you. We have so much work to do! She needs you to capture it all!" The woman put a hand behind Katrina's back and began ushering her to the elevator doors. "Oh, yes! I'm Georgina Brady, Adeline's mother. So sorry I didn't introduce myself sooner, my mind is escaping me on the most marvelous of all wonderful days." Georgina looked like she was about to pass out, face red, eyes bulging, but she did her best to remain regal and important.

Katrina had to hold in a laugh.

"Don't you worry, Mrs. Brady-" She started.

"Please, dear. Call me, Georgina. Mrs. Brady is my mother-in-law," Georgina giggled.

"Of course, Georgina. I'm here to serve. Just lead me to where I need to go, and I will do what Adeline needs me to do." Katrina smiled as the elevator doors closed in front of them.

The morning went off without a hitch, except for the hitch in Katrina's breath after all the running around she did. She was pleased with the way the photos were turning out, but it was nearly impossible for them to be bad considering how breathtaking all the women were and how gorgeous the natural light in the villa was.

Adeline had 10 bridesmaids, and each one needed before and after shots. Not to mention the different iterations of group photo she was expected to capture. Adeline also request a plethora of stills of just her during the entiretly of the getting ready process. Katrina was expected to get images of the finger food buffet, pictures of the flowing champagne, and everything in between. Adeline wanted every moment of this day documented, and Katrina was grateful she brought extra memory cards because her first one was almost shot.

Adeline sent Katrina off for a bit around noon. She wasn't needed until their "first look" session around 12:30, and "Addie," as Katrina had been instructed to call her, wanted alone time with her girls for her last moments as a single woman. Katrina happily obliged, making her way down to the rose garden where the ceremony would occur.

She was in awe at the magnificence of the estate grounds. The amount of luxury and wealth was aspirational to say the least. She took her time, soaking in the sights, when she caught a glimpse of something that nearly caused her to faint.

-----

Jamie looked around anxiously before flicking his finished cigarette into a rose bush. When he exhaled and looked out in front of him, he couldn't believe his eyes.

"No fuckin' way," he exhaled his last cloud of smoke before making his way over to the person he least expected to see.

Katrina stood, frozen in time, her face turning redder by the second, her jaw agape, her mouth ready to fall off her face.

"What are you doing here, Turtle?" Jamie chided.

"I told you to never call me that," Katrina huffed, crossing her arms across her chest.

"C'mon, it's cute, Franklin. I used to love that cartoon growing up," there was a smirk growing across Jamie's face as he continued his approach.

"If you must know, I'm working, obviously. But what are you doing here?" Katrina asked, malice painted thoughtfully between each word.

"Working," Jamie started. "Obviously."

"Of course you are, of course. I can never have anything to myself, now, can I?" Katrina laughed sarcastically, throwing her crossed hands into the air in a shrug.

"What's that supposed to mean?" Jamie asked genuinely.

"You stole my spot, now you steal my job," Katrina rolled her eyes.

"Your spot? For Christ's sake, Franklin, it's a public beach," Jamie's voice was monotonous but teasing.

"But you know that I'm the only photographer that shoots there. You know I go there after lunch everyday. You know how much it means to me," Katrina's voice was beginning to crack.

"Katrina, if I'm being honest, I don't much about you at all, other than the fact that you hate me for no good reason." Jamie reached into the pocket of his black slacks to pull out another cigarette. "You see what you make me do? I'm going to die young because of you."

Katrina paused for a moment, not knowing what to say.

"Y'know, it's quite popular for people to hire more than one photographer for their wedding. I was shooting the groom and his men, let me guess, you were shooting the bride and her entourage? Don't worry, I'm sure you'll throw another tizzy when you realize they hired a separate videographer as well. Not everything is about you, Turtle."

"Don't call me that," Katrina's face softened.

"And another thing I didn't know you were going to be here. Had I known, I would have turned down the generous offer, even if I needed it so badly, if it only meant not dealing with your nonsense." Jamie lit the end of his cancer stick after placing it between his lips.

"Can I have one?" Katrina asked softly, a puppy dog look in her eyes now.

"Only if I can call you Turtle," Jamie teased.

"Fine," Katrina smirked back at him. "Also," she paused.

"What?" Jamie looked up from his carton to meet her gaze.

"I'm sorry," Katrina said.

"For what?" Jamie asked.

"You're right. I hate you for no reason other than you're a better photographer than I."

Jamie laughed, handing over a Marlboro to his enemy.

"You've got to be joking me," he inhaled deeply, nearly choking on the smoke through his elation.

"I am not a prankster, in fact, I tend to take things far too seriously, if you haven't already noticed," Katrina reached for the cigarette and their fingers touched.

"You're the most talented - you - you - I would only be so lucky to see the world through your lens," Jamie's face turned red as he looked toward his feet, all confidence escaping him through his confession.

Katrina's face dropped and her breath caught in her throat. She took the cigarette he gave her and placed it in her cleavage for sake keeping before finding the back of his neck with her hand.

Jamie looked up the abruptness of her touch, their eyes meeting briefly before their lips collided in a passion drawn out over years of subtle competition. Their hands couldn't study each other fast enough, as Jamie flicked his barely smoken cigarette off to the side before they fell over into the mulch of the garden, capitivated by the beating of their equally frantic hearts.

"How - long - until - the - first - look?" Katrina asked through pining kisses.

Jamie made his way from the corner of her mouth down to her jaw.

"Who cares?" He teased with a smirk painted across his face as a gasp escaped Katrina's smudged lipstick stained mouth.

Young AdultLoveHumor
7

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Lol, I knew where this was going! I really liked that he called her Turtle! That was so funny and cute! Loved your story!

  • Mark Gagnon8 months ago

    I had a feeling you were going to go in that direction. You did a great job outlining the characters personalities. I think I found a couple of typos but overall, great work.

  • Mattie :)8 months ago

    Really good, Ashley. Completely draws us in. Great detailing within the scene too. Well done, friend :)

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I’m so invested in Jamie and Katrina. I have to know what happens! 💕 But seriously what a great story, the build up was great. The details are enough to give us pictures and feel like we can seee it in our mind. The characters are likable and flawed. I love this!

  • Kenny Penn8 months ago

    Great story Ashley, with an ending I didn’t see coming! Isn’t it funny how we sometimes treat the people we’re attracted to? Brilliantly done, thanks for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.