Fiction logo

Today’s Journal Entry

Let’s blame the cat.

By Ghostface WriterPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like

It’s been a while since I’ve written an entry in this journal, but here I am with a tale that is worthy of an entry. It was a week ago that I got a call out of the blue from a highschool friend of mine. She explained that she needed someone to house-sit for her and she remembered how we used to go home from parties together, sleep in the same bed without her worrying about getting taken advantage of because, apparently, I was that trustworthy. So I became the obvious choice.

I agreed to house-sit for her for a few reasons, one of them being, I had a huge crush on her back in highschool. I never confessed it to her because I was afraid of ruining our friendship and it was quite clear that she only saw me as a friend. So I took this as an opportunity to re-connect, even though I already knew from her social media that she was still together with her highschool sweetheart, whom she had known since childhood. What could I do? How was I supposed to compete with that?

Anyways, I got to her place and it was gorgeous. It was this large multi-story mansion by the beach. I mean, I always knew her family was rich. I’ve been to their family home and it was even larger than this mansion by the beach, but this was her own place - in my mind, that made it next-level. I unpacked and made myself at home. The first thing I did was sit by the pool and read a book.

I didn’t realize it, but I actually fell asleep. I woke up to a buzzing noise and was startled to see a drone hovering just above me. It dropped a small package and made a quick getaway. But as it did so, a crow swooped down from a tree and tried to attack the drone, but it got messed up badly by the propellers and both crashed into the pool. I picked up the crow first with the pool net, but it was unfortunately dead so I dumped its body on the grass until I could give it a proper burial. Then I picked up the drone. I studied it carefully and noticed that there was a tag on it that said “Property of Kyle.”

So I had a couple of mysteries on my hands. First, what was inside the package? And second, who was Kyle? I did not want to open the package without Amber’s permission so I decided to give her a call first. She picked up and gave me the ok to open it, but she also said that she didn’t know who Kyle was or why he would drop a package by drone. Well, at least I had one of my questions answered. I carefully opened up the package and saw… the tiniest pair of bikinis I had ever seen. I immediately concluded that this Kyle must be a pervert who was sexually harassing my friend, Amber. I suddenly gained the motivation to find this guy and to make him aware that this needs to stop or I will go to the police.

I immediately phoned Amber to ask if she had security cameras installed and she said yes. She gave me access to the footage and I managed to find where the drone originated. It was three houses down from Amber’s mansion. I was so enraged by the actions of this Kyle guy that I ended up going down to his house without any concern for my own safety. The house was behind large gates, and the front gate had an intercom installed. I rang the intercom and demanded to see Kyle. “Kyle’s not home, who is this?” replied the voice from the other side. “Well, tell Kyle that he can stop hiding behind these gates and apologize for harassing my friend, Amber!” was my own reply.

From behind the gates, I saw the door to the house open, and out came this little kid who proceeded to walk in my direction. “Oh, swell. He’s too chicken to confront me so he sends some little kid out to take the hit.” “What do you mean by taking the hit? I told you, Kyle isn’t home. I’m his younger brother, Bobby. Why don’t you come in and we can discuss this like adults.” He opened the gates and motioned for me to come follow him. His speech took me by surprise. He was well-spoken for such a young kid.

I showed Bobby the (broken) drone and the box with the bikini, and he confirmed that the drone was indeed Kyle’s, but he didn’t know anything about the bikini. “Why don‘t you sit down and I’ll get us some refreshments. My brother should be home soon and we can ask him if he knows anything about the bikini,” he said. “But how do you know he will admit to harassing my friend?“ I asked. “I know my brother, he would never do anything like that,” he replied. Just then, a cat came out of hiding and took a seat on my lap. I noticed it had something in its mouth. It was a bikini top! Aha! Busted! This was the evidence I needed to pin the crime on Kyle.

“Is that cat yours? It has a bikini top in its mouth. I think that’s very incriminating,” I said to Bobby. “Max! What are you doing with Sandra’s bikini top?” shouted Bobby. “Sandra? Who’s Sandra?” I asked. Bobby replied, “she’s my brother’s girlfriend.” I calmed back down and we waited until his brother got home. As soon as I saw Kyle, I immediately confronted him and asked how Sandra’s bikini ended up in a box and how that box ended up being carried by a drone to my friend, Amber’s residence. “Sandra? Who’s Sandra?” asked Kyle. “How do you not know your own girlfriend, dufus?” replied Bobby. “What are you talking about? And who the heck are you? What are you doing here?” asked Kyle, I thought he was referring to me, but he was actually pointing at the boy. This was getting messy, so I asked everyone to sit down so we could get to the bottom of things.

After a couple of hours of interrogation, mostly by me, I have pieced together the following conclusion. Kyle had a crush on my friend, Amber, and had been using the drone to spy on her. The kid, Bobby, who was actually Kyle’s neighbour, and not his brother, also had a crush on Amber and managed to sneak into the house to steal (*ahem*, borrow) Kyle’s drone to send Amber a gift. The box, was initially supposed to contain a teddy bear, but the bear was somehow taken out of the box and replaced by a bikini by Max, the cat, who was just a stray cat, and was neither owned by Kyle nor Bobby (I still don’t believe this part of the story).

I went home satisfied that I had solved the mystery. I phoned Amber later that night to summarize what had happened. After we finished chatting and I had hung up the phone, one of her comments continued to ring in my head: “So what did Sandra say about her bikini being used for such a nefarious purpose?” I felt a sudden chill up my spine. I was fairly sure I never mentioned that part of the story to her at all. How did she know about Sandra if she supposedly didn’t know who Kyle was? Sandra wasn’t even real. She was just someone that Bobby had made up. I sat there thinking about what I had gotten myself into. But that, I’m afraid, is a mystery for some other time.

MysteryShort Story
Like

About the Creator

Ghostface Writer

Writing stories in my spare time. Daydreaming all the time. Welcome to the world inside my head.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.