Fiction logo

To Hell and Back

Another adventure from my Sabrina Series. Disclaimer: This story may be disturbing to some readers, it contains scenes with Devil worship, sexual content and violence. Reader discretion is advised!

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 7 min read
15
To Hell and Back
Photo by Sixteen Miles Out on Unsplash

Disclaimer: This story may be disturbing to some readers, it contains scenes with Devil worship, sexual content and violence. Reader discretion is advised!

“Gnirb reh ereh, emoc ot su tsetaerg hctiw fo eht tsap.” Voices chanted together, humming in unison.

I looked around for the source but scoffed at the annoyance as I realized what was happening.

“Emoc ot su, emoc Sabrina eht lanigiro hctiw fo eht tsew. Ew llac nopu eeht dna nommus uoy won.” Their monotonous voices ended in a simultaneous hum.

I watched as my hands began to dissipate before my eyes. My body felt like millions of needles were pricking my skin, which was not the sensation I expected from this end of an evocation.

Then with a popping sound like that of a cork being evicted from a champagne bottle split, I suddenly found myself in the middle of a dark room. Standing at the centre of a devil’s trap, candles flickered at the edge and I found myself surrounded by the most foolish coven of witches I’ve ever met.

I’m not a demon, which is what made the evocation even more intriguing to me. I wondered how they could summon me. But now was not the time to wonder about that, I had more pressing concerns. Like which mortal body I had inhabited now that I was once again earthbound.

“You there, I need a mirror,” I commanded, pointing a long finger at the fool in front of me.

A compact the size of my palm slid to my feet from the shadows. Immediately I scooped it up and appraised myself, grateful to see the high cheekbones and emerald green eyes of my last body. The one I died in.

Pleased with it, I adjusted my dark locks and closed the compact with a smile of satisfaction.

My hands explored the sultry curves of my reclaimed body until I reached my chest and found the bullet wound that ended my time on Earth.

Rage boiled inside me as I cursed the hunter who left the mark and ruined such an exquisite figure.

It was at that moment that I remembered I had an audience. So with a sigh of disdain, I regained my composure and surveyed the shadowy room in curiosity. I intended to find the ring leader of the clown show and return to my rightful place.

My eyes landed on a tall figure standing behind the idiots who knelt at the edge of the circle. “Why am I here?” I inquired, with a sharp voice as I narrowed my eyes at the lead idiot.

Who stepped forward, bathing himself in flicker candlelight. “My name is Brutus, leader of the North Valley Coven.” He explained as he puffed his chest in pride.

I scoffed, outwardly. Of course, this was a dimwitted warlock’s idea, I thought to myself.

“Look Brutus, I don’t how or why-“

“Silence witch, you are at my mercy.” He bellowed in what he thought was a threatening voice.

A snicker of excitement escaped my lips as I watched him with intrigue. Thinking how much fun it was going to be when Sam saw I was missing and showed up here.

“We have summoned you Sabrina, original witch of the west, to help us with attaining something only you have.” He explained in a theatrical sort of voice.

“Yeah, I don’t help people who summon me like some lowly demon. So if you don’t mind I’ll be going now.” I explained, walking towards the first door I saw but was stopped by some unseen barrier at the edge of the devil’s trap.

“What the f-“

“You see this is no ordinary devil’s trap, this is one for those of a higher power.” Brutus the bonehead explained in his theatrical voice again, from the opposite side of the trap from me.

Full of rage I charged at him, my heels clicked every step of the way.

“You’re making a mistake-“

“Your choice is either to help us or we will send you back to the depths of Hell.” Brutus threatened.

“Then send me back, I’m not a charity service.” I snapped.

Without a word Brutus the bungler snapped his fingers and the coven around him began to chant a new spell.

The words to which fell on deaf ears as the second his snap cleared the air my chest felt like it had been hit by that same, holy water and salt bullet from years ago. I felt a mixture of bile and blood gurgling in my throat, accompanied by the burning and sizzling sound of the bullet boiling on my skin.

Unable to fight the pain I collapsed on the floor and blood dripped from my mouth, painting the floor beneath me.

Just as suddenly as it started, the pain and suffering ended.

I found myself breathing copper-flavoured air instead of choking on my blood again.

A silence rang in my ears as I scowled at my captor, ready to wreak havoc on his miserable soul.

“Are you ready to cooperate?” He asked, looming over me from his side of the trap.

“I don’t serve cowards that hide behind traps and enchantments,” I growled, spitting a pink-hued gob at his feet.

“Then we shall wait for your master.” He stated, still watching me with shadowed eyes.

“I have no master,” I replied in an air of defiance, getting up to stare Brutus in the eyes.

“We all serve him, whether you acknowledge or not and I think he will come for his most favourite servant.” Brutus taunted, his eyes glowered hungrily at me as a sinister smile tucked itself in the corner of his lips.

I sighed and rolled my eyes, “That’s a mistake. He won’t be doing you any favours on my account.” I said with an ominous chuckle.

“Then I'll imagine what a reward he will gift us when I present him with you.” He countered, still holding an air of superiority about him.

I laughed to myself in disbelief at this man’s arrogance.

“If only you knew what he had in store for you,” I muttered with a smirk, watching as his confidence began to fade and his smile twitched into a scowl.

“Surely you are worth something to him. After all, he’s given you, the gift of creating different forms of life and even being the mother of his child.” He offered the arrogance in his gaze turned to fear.

“It’s not about what I’m worth but more about the price you’ll pay for kidnapping the Queen of Hell,” I revealed in excitement, eager for Sam’s appearance.

“What do you mean?” He inquired with a shaking voice and fear in his eyes.

Then with a popping sound like the one that brought me here, he appeared just behind Brutus.

With a shink sound like a sword being unsheathed, a long blade protruded out of Brutus’ abdomen.

He looked up in horrified shock and fell to the ground once the blade was removed.

The room erupted into pandemonium, the rest of his coven shrieked in terror as they rose to their feet and ran around wildly.

I watched as their exit was sealed shut by the power of Sam, he then executed every one of them. Even as some of them begged for mercy, he only laughed in their faces and killed them slower, enjoying his game of cat and mice.

This continued until the dark room with littered with bodies, no one but myself and Sam remained.

With ragged excited breaths, Sam smiled at his corpse-covered battlefield before turning his gaze upon me.

“How dare you use these mortals to help you escape.” He growled, blood dripping in a trail with each step he took towards me.

My heart palpated in anticipation, my breath was caught in my throat. I licked my lips hungrily at the sight of him standing at the edge of the trap, only inches in front of me.

“I didn’t ask them-“

“I thought you were happy down there with me.” He whispered in a hurt voice, his eyes held a look of betrayal. I watched his adam’s apple bob as he swallowed the pain with a look of anguish.

“I am happy with you. I don’t want to be here.” I explained and attempted to reach for his hand. But felt the invisible barrier at the edge of the devil’s trap block me.

“Life without you life would be unbearable and an afterlife without you would simply be unspeakable,” I muttered, hurt that he could ever think I would want to leave his side.

He snapped his fingers and I expected my world to fall into darkness with the pain of my neck breaking. But instead a minor tremor rumbled the ground beneath our feet and a crack disturbed the devil’s trap.

I felt a weight lifted from my body and stepped out of the sigil.

Immediately he grabbed me in his rough hands and pressed his lips against mine. Together we became entwined in a fit of very adulterated passion that would put even the worst of sinners to shame.

A Note from The Author:

This is another instalment to my Sabrina the Witch series. For previous instalments:

The Witch of Strasbourg

A Trade

A Devil in the Making

I will advise that these stories are disturbing and disclaimers should be read as some scenes contain triggering content! I do not wish to disturb or trigger my readers and only seek to create content you will find enjoyable! Reader discretion is strongly advised.

SeriesLoveHorrorExcerptCONTENT WARNING
15

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer5 months ago

    I forgot about Sabrina. She is one of my favorite characters you've created. I think the Witch of Strasburg was one of the first stories of yours I read. I remember thinking you really had talent going through its lines. This story was so smart with the way you played Brutus's arrogance. You actually had me questioning how things were going to go before Sam showed up. I hope you find a way to continue this one. Oh and shout out to Lamar I didn't catch the chant the first time either. Very very clever

  • Lamar Wiggins6 months ago

    So delightfully evil. Perfect entry for the challenge. Clever chant, I didn’t catch it right way until I read emoc the second time it was used. Best of luck, my friend.

  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    I squeaked when I saw this was part of the Sabrina series! Brilliant work Donna! I love how.... menacingly indulgent she is! What a character! Also, I thought you might want to know that I spent a truly ridiculous amount of time trying to read the backward language! Eyes squinted and hunched over like a shrimp! What you do to me Donna!!

  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    Awww even hell bound souls need some lovin'! The backwards chanting was fun 😁

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Your sensitive soul always thinks your stories are triggering. I see how Dharrsheena is enjoying your darker sides. I am proud of my two witches, I so love great witchy and dark stories. You two should collaborate on a scary story. Would be such a treat. Poor Sam, such a darling.

  • Oh dear Donna, please forgive me. I read this about 12 hours ago, and opened The Witch of Strasbourg in a new tab because I wanted to reread it later. It is now later and I'm rereading The Witch of Strasbourg. Halfway through my reread, I tried to recall my comment on this piece but I couldn't. I came back here and had my worst fear confirmed. I forgot to comment 🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️😓😓 Most foolish coven of witches and ring leader of the clown show! I cackled at those 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I love your sense of humour! I didn't like Brutus at all and I'm so glad Sam killed him! 🤣🤣🤣 I also loved how the spells were reversed words like the Relliks! Thank you so much for giving me a new slice of Sabrina! I enjoyed this so much! 💖

  • J. S. Wade7 months ago

    Oh ! Imagine all the baby devils running around. Great episode and perfect entry for the challenge. Sam is the man but she’s got him wrapped around her finger. The temperature sure did rise at the end . 🥰😎

  • Brin J.7 months ago

    I didn't find this triggering at all, and maybe that says something about me🤣. I loved this story! I love how it felt like a movie. I could see the whole thing playing out in my head so clearly. <3 Very good writing! And the clever use of a backward summoning chant! I'll admit that was what drew me in because I wanted to decipher it.

  • Alexander McEvoy7 months ago

    I love how confident and condescending Sabrina was to Brutus! The sheer power she knows she wields is wonderful to watch, especially given that she was the one trapped this time. And of course, the cult got what was coming to it. Always pleasant to watch the weak and desperate and cruel get their just desserts. Question, though: the name of the coven was very specific which leads me to wonder if there’s a governing authority who decides what is and is not an official coven. That could be a really funny story

  • Test7 months ago

    Wow, this story starts off with a mysterious, eerie tone. The chanting and the devil worship elements really set the mood. It makes me wonder what's going to happen next.""I appreciate the Donna Fox note at the end, providing a heads-up about the potentially disturbing content. It's essential for readers to know what they're getting into."👌👍

  • Thavien Yliaster7 months ago

    Uh, due to this involving witchcraft and devil worship I am obligated to only type "Gosh Dang!" "Rage boiled inside me as I cursed the hunter who left the mark and ruined such an exquisite figure." My, my my, sultry curves and emerald eyes, that indeed is an exquisite figure. Curves like that remind me of the curves of a mountain pass. How can only not fantasize driving upon them all day and all night? Whenever I read the name Brutus I instantly think if Popeye's rival. Still cartoon antics aren't enough to save somebody from making a deal with the devil. Besides, what did they think Sabrina was, Sam's concubine? I know that men of royalty were known to have concubines and mistresses galore, but when You mess with a king's queen, or an emperor's empress, yeesh that's like removing one of their most favorite people from their lives. How are they not going to be pissed. Besides, they make it sound like they were going to use Sam as a way to get Sabrina to do their bidding. Like, if she's his queen, I'm sure that they'll already do dastardly deeds for each other. Unless You have their lives constantly threatened while Your own remains safe, best not to mess with stronger supernatural powers. Sure, they had safeguards set up against Sabrina, but not enough. Goodness, why didn't they just try to get Sam in the first place? Plus, what were they thinking of doing? Having Sabrina have more of Sam's get? These kidnappers don't know how to kidnap correctly. "Then I’ll imagine what a reward gift us when I present him with you.” - I think You might need to add a "he'll" between "reward" and "gift." My eyes landed on a tall finger standing behind the idiots who knelt at the edge of the circle. - I do think that You meant "figure" instead of "finger." Unless Sabrina only sees the witches and warlocks as parts of a hand meant to do Sam's work. Together we became entwined in a fit of very adulterated passion that would put even the worst of sinners to shame. - Oh no, how did this lawn chair with sunglasses and buttered popcorn suddenly end up beside me? Lowkey, that's a highkey hot ending. I did enjoy Your use of backwards words in the beginning if the incantation. I'm assuming that this is meant for Vocal's coven challenge, isn't it, Donna? Also, why was Sabrina's name the only thing not reversed in the incantation?

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Well, I'm going to have to catch up on the rest of this series, for sure. Well done, Donna!

  • Mark Gagnon7 months ago

    A simple case of being careful what you summon back from the dead. Guess some people's egos are bigger than their powers. Fun story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.