Fiction logo

To Find Love at the End of The Apocalypse

When The Loveless Crave Love.

By Garret fryePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
To Find Love at the End of The Apocalypse
Photo by Dasha Urvachova on Unsplash

The streets are as clear as the sky filled with smog. Red Blue, and Green vessels cluttered about, all different shapes and sizes. Remnants from a time when the humans existed.

I have 3 settings that work in my main function.

Mobility which allows me to move in omnidirectional patterns one movement at a time wether a step, a jump, or a slide all programmed to move out of harms way. Not much harm moves anywhere these days, at least none of which concern me. The occasional building collapses from years being left, the occasional bridge falling prevents me from moving backwards, and sometimes pipes explode at night when I use flames to light up the way. Though my armor won’t allow it to hurt me, the blast does quite the damage to the terrain around me.

GPS location is my way of guiding myself through the terrain. There’s a constant pull to move in each direction and a knowing when I’ve already been on any particular path.

This paired with object recognition allows me to scavenge the clutter and preserve whatever remaining remains of the previous civilization I may find for the next civilization to come. Though it’s quite hard to imagine a new civilization spreading when my programming is the only of its kind and my observations are the only observations there are. Lest you count the cockroaches. I do not.

I’ve learned a lot exploring this once vibrate home to life, my purpose was simple, to keep record. The humans knew earth was coming to an end. I was their last ditch effort at preservation. They couldn’t get passed the ideology that technology was the “end-all” answer. They were right about it being end all though. When the land formerly known as the United States Of America stopped being able to produce plant life on the east and west coast they used up all the supply from the central states. Once they knew they had a problem they began conquering other countries. They got half way around the globe to China before the fight began. Though the casualties on the way there were enough to wipe out nearly 33% of the population in an attempt to keep the rich fed. A poor mans war with no victors seeing as the lack of plant life meant an increased demand for animal life. India declared war fighting along side China once America slaughtered through all of its Cows to the brink of extinction. Soon there wouldn’t be a soul capable of survival between the eastern and Western Hemisphere. All that was left was the north and the south. The Russians led the northern hemisphere and The Africans ran the southern. Though considered the most peaceful time in human history ever the nuclear effects of war waged heavy on both sides. Soon the sick we’re taking care of the sick, those who weren’t sick could no longer procreate and those born never made it past 2 years old. The world was decay. They soon figured out that earth had gotten to close to the sun when the Southern Hemisphere went a blaze. Once lit no one could stop it. The fire spread and soon the northern Hemisphere was so blanketed in smog and soot the sun could no longer sustain life. The year was 2048 when I went active. My name is The Comrade Vriend Explorer 1, I’m known to myself and who reads this log as ComVriend. I was created to record the apocalypse and I wander the earth knowing the one true light that could’ve prevented all of this.

Love.

Humans abused love and took it for granted therefore they parished. I travel the lonely streets and desserts of decay longing to feel only one thing.

Love.

I know not how to for it was never programmed into my functions. I have only the knowledge of love, an understanding for love yet lack the ability to feel such emotion. Or really any emotion. If I was to feel love I imagine it would be for this human presumably named Liza. I found her picture in this pendant shaped like a Heart. One of the few pictures I’ve preserved over the years and one of my first scavenges on the remains of the planet. The locket was around my right appendage for picking up holding on by a chain. As if left in what would be my hand if I were human. I believe the female human in the photo is my creator. She is the closest thing I have to a loved one.

The year is now 2342 and I’ve shown her picture every centimeter of the world.

That’s what Ive calculated you’d do for a loved one.

Sci Fi

About the Creator

Garret frye

I’m just a writer aspiring to be read.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Garret fryeWritten by Garret frye

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.