Fiction logo

To Do List

Whose List; The Man's or Woman's

By StrangerSloanPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Credit: StrangerSloan

A man is sitting on his recliner reading a newspaper with empty cup siting next to him, blues jazz is heard faintly and softly being played, a dog lays right by the mans feet. Upstairs a hair dryer is heard, as well as a feminine voice humming to the tune of the blues jazz. Suddenly there is a loud whistling heard from the kitchen.

“I think the tea is done sweetie.”

“I’ll be right there to get it let me finish up.”

The whistling grows much more intense and louder. As it gets louder the sound of the hair dryer goes silent, shuffling upstairs can be heard, as well as a newspaper being wrinkled up. Soon the sound of someone walking down old wooden stairs is heard as well as the sound of a recliner being un-reclined.

“Can you please take care of that?”

“I will let me finish up first give me two seconds.”

The dog gets up and goes to the door looking to be let out. The woman who is now in the downstairs hallway looks into the living room where the dog is looking outside.

“I think Buddy wants to go outside.”

“Yeah I see that, I’ll let him out once I’m done doing this.”

“Don’t forget about the tea.”

“I won’t . I’ll be right in to get it.”

The woman grabs a pencil and paper and starts writing a to do list down on the piece of paper.

~ TO DO LIST~

1. Pick up Mail from mailbox

2. Clean Dishes

3. Wash cloths/Flat Iron

4. Go to grocery store for…

a. Milk

b. Eggs

c. Bread

The woman stares at the finished To Do list and thinks to see if she is forgetting anything, she taps the back of the pencil against her lip while looking up at the ceiling. The tea gets to the point where the pot starts shaking.

“Honey the Tea?”

“Oh my, I nearly forgot.”

“Don’t worry about it. I got it, I might run a bit late for work, but that’s Okay I’m sure John won’t mind.”

“He never does, does he.”

The man gets out of his chair and walks over to the kitchen. At this point a Baby is heard crying in another room. Both the man and woman look over into the room.

“The tea must’ve woke him.”

“Don’t sweat it I got this. Get to work I don’t want you running late.”

The man then smiles, walks over and turns off the tea. The man then walks into the room with the crying baby. He smiles at the baby, tucks it back in and the baby falls right back to sleep, the man then walk back into the kitchen.

“Bye Love, have a good day at work.”

“I’ll see you after unless I am still running these errands.”

“I doubt they will take you that long.”

“I don’t know, Cleaning…Dishes, that’s a lot on my plate.”

The woman and man exchange a laugh and a kiss. Then the noise of a door is heard opening and then closing. Soon nothing is heard but a piece of paper being picked up and stuffed into a pocket.

FIN

family

About the Creator

StrangerSloan

Just writing some stories for some strangers, cause who knows I might change a life, or my own.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    StrangerSloanWritten by StrangerSloan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.