Fiction logo

To Be A Mentor Chapter One

He hadn't wanted this to happen. In all his years, he wanted to just live in peace. Now his worst fears have come to light. How will he be able to handle this?

By Raphael FontenellePublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like
To Be A Mentor Chapter One
Photo by Sora Sagano on Unsplash

I think most of of us have heard of or watched the 'The Wolf Man'. At least like once in our lives. The line 'whoever is bitten by a werewolf will become a werewolf themself' or a variation of that line. It's been a long time since I've even thought of that movie. Thought of my own origins into my new life. And that's a whole lot of stuff that will take forever to explain. None of which I really got the time for right now. As I'm debating my next move. Whether to skip town under a whole new name. Along with a lot of other things that I'll need to illegally require. As I have done something so incredibly stupid. More so than I have ever done in my whole life. Lycan or as a human.

And that's really saying a lot.

I have bitten someone. Nearly killed this woman. If it weren't for my friend, I would have actually eaten her. But, I didn't. I didn't and this woman is a live. With a few bite marks that'll turn into some really nasty looking scars. No missing limbs or anything else, which is good. Still very traumatizing for her but good. And at the next full moon, she's going to be like me. And I don't think I have the means to help this lady. Well, not in the way that she will need. As my own spot is barely big enough for me. And I doubt that I could reasonably fit her in it either. Nor would it be a wise decision to have another lycanthrope in with me.

I heard we can be quite territorial.

Anyway, I've been thinking of just straight up running out of here. Getting a whole new identity and all that Jazz. Probably change up my look on top of it. Just like I had done at least six years or so ago. I can't entirely remember when and not like it really matters right now. Right now, I need to think of my next course of actions. Either stay and be the mentor that I never had.

Mostly thanks to the fact that the guy who turned me...got hit by a bus? I think? It was a really difficult and chaotic moment. So I wasn't really paying attention to him. And I think he sort of exploded into little pieces behind me. So I never got to meet the dude. Or lady or whomever they were.

And I could provide her with the help that I didn't exactly have. Sure, I had someone around me to keep me from mauling people. But they weren't fellow werewolves. They were some vampires that were in the area. Who did it to protect their own identities and out of boredom. But, still it was sort of help. Sort of nice. Especially since they didn't have to. And they had a newbie vampire for me to hang out with.

That dude has been such an amazing help with my moons. I've also gotten to help him a few times. Mostly by getting him blood. Animal blood, just to be clear. I've never killed another human being in my existence. And I don't think I need to explain why I've had to do this.

I also still haven't murdered anyone thanks to this guy. Tonight, I'm probably going to treat him to an expensive dinner. One with lots of beef blood and maybe some liver. Like a huge portion of beef liver that I think he'll really love. Since he absolutely loves that junk for whatever weird reason he has.

Speaking of whom, the friend who had helped me is sitting with me. We're sitting at this crappy sort of run down diner. One that was super small and out of the way. And more importantly wouldn't be easily found out by any hunters. Or at least we're hoping it wouldn't be. My friend is wearing a hoodie that covers his face by quite a bit. Along with glasses and a face mask. It was to help his identity. From who? Probably the rest of his coven as they probably wouldn't want to see him in this place. My friend, let's call him Delaney, toys with his cup of coffee. Of which he has been barely drinking the whole time we've been here. Delaney asked,"So, have you decided what you're gonna do about the gal you attacked?"

"I-I've been thinking of skipping town again.",I answered. Skipping this town like the last one. It would be so much easier this time around. As I know what I'm doing this time around. And I'd rather not hang around risk getting caught. By whom? I'm not entirely sure who but I know that there was going to be hunters coming. Sooner or later, they're going to be hunters coming. I can't just be around for any of that. Especially for teaching purposes. As I'm not the best person for that kind of thing. Considering that I can barely keep myself safe. How in the Hell could I keep her safe, too? Poking at my scrambled eggs, I add,"I'm really not the type to help someone with this sort of thing."

"How do you know you can't do it if you've never tried?",Delaney questioned. Fair enough. But, I'm so very certain that I ain't the mentor type. Mostly because I don't have the patience for that sort of thing. Setting my fork down, I answer,"I can barely afford to take care of myself in and out of my shifted state."

"The Hell do you expect me to take care of another person in that state?",I asked. It ain't like I'm made out of money either. Just how in the world can I afford more werewolf restraints. How does Delaney expect me to do this? Sell some of my organs or something? Oh man, I can't even picture how much that would fuck up another person. Not thinking it over as I sat up a little straighter. Delaney took my hand in his own and gave it a gentle squeeze. He answered,"It's something you gotta figure out, Chip."

"You really owe it to her to give her some form of help after turning her.",he added. Giving my hand another gentle squeeze as I think he's looking into my eyes. I really can't tell thanks to the glasses. It's like he thinks this'll somehow sweeten the demand that he's just made of me. That I'll do whatever he wants because he's being super adorable. And that it'll make me feel guilty or whatever. Sometimes I hate how Delaney knows how to get me to do what he wants. With a sigh, I roll my eyes as he lets go of my hand. Chuckling a little as I mutter,"Fine, I'll give it a shot. But Yoda I am not."

"Hey, I promise that I'll be helping you out with this. Don't think I'd just make you do this without me.",Delaney stated. Of course he would. He's a good man, vampire...you get the point. I pick up my fork once again and start digging into my food. Which I've barely touched since we've gotten here. He joked,"Be the Yoda to your Skywalker I must"

"Act like a total nerd you do.",I joked back. Earnestly eating the worst scrambled eggs that I've ever ordered. Not even my wolf state would have liked these things. Even if they were warm. And that idiot eats anything he can get his hands on. Mostly squirrels. I don't know why but, he really loves squirrel. And don't ask me how I know about it. I just do. Just like I've realized squirrel tastes better than these oily things called eggs.

That have way too much salt.

But, I'm so freaking starving and Delaney bought them for me. And I don't want any of his money to go to waste. Even if this really tastes disgusting. We really should never come back here. This place is cheap and it's really all we can afford if we want to go out. Looking up at Delaney, I smirk as he pulled his mask down. Taking a giant sip of his coffee and then made a face. Tilting my head to the side, I ask,"I take it that the coffee's not up to standards?"

"Tastes like dirty dishwater, Babe.",Delaney answered. I'm not sure if I want to know how he knows that. Or even the why. So I just finish my rubbery eggs as fast as I can. Hating the taste as I eat them. Soon as I was done, I push the plate away. I ask,"Do you think we could just cook at my place after one of my moons?"

"Yeah, that's probably wiser.",Delaney agreed. Downing the rest of his coffee in one go. Wincing at either the taste or the fact that it was hot as Hell. Then recovering his face once more. Pulling on gloves to make sure they weren't visible. And then the rest of himself. We start to leave the terrible diner that we barely come to. Delaney left some money to cover the bill. And I leave a little bit of money for a decent tip for the waitress. As it wasn't her fault everything was kind of disgusting. And with this, we immediately left to go to my house.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Raphael Fontenelle

Horror movie fan trying to write decent horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.