Fiction logo

Time

Waiting For It To Happen

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
13

In The Loop

I think I have stopped time, or time has stopped for me. I am not sure what I’ve done or what has happened or what is happening.

I’m in this basement, sat on a crate looking at a bomb with a mechanism that should be counting down, well it is doing. It gets down to 00:01 then restarts at 00:59.

I was sent down to disarm this and save the patients in this hospital who hopefully have been evacuated.

I cut the correct wires but the countdown mechanism kept going down, so I couldn’t leave but told the others to go, which thankfully they did.

I’m not religious but I prayed for help or something to happen when it got down to ten minutes.

I got more and more scared and should have really run and let it just blow, but I didn’t know if there were any patients still in there, something wouldn’t let me leave the bomb.

My communicator is dead, my mobile phone is dead, and I dare not move. I think if I leave the bomb will go off.

No one has come back to see how I am, the bomb has not gone off so, surely they must be wondering what has happened.

The timer resets to 00:59 again.

I don’t know how many times this has happened.

The weird thing is I don’t want anything to eat, I don’t need a drink, I don’t need the toilet, it’s like my bodily functions have sort of stopped , though I am still breathing and thinking and wondering what is going on.

I’ve not heard anything from above though I have shouted a few times, but I have not been answered.

The fact that no one has come down for and the fact I am not hungry or thirsty is what is making me think that time has stopped. Well not stopped but seems to be in a one minute repeating loop. I am sure Dr Who or Stephen Hawking would have a clue about what is going down here.

The other thing is the total silence, the timer is counting down but it is silent.

Another thing is I have not slept or dozed off, I am totally alert, wired in fact, but I can’t do anything or move. I know if I leave, that bomb will explode, taking me and this building with it. It is a big bomb, not nuclear but it will take this hospital down if it goes off.

In The Control Room

“Thank God we got the patients out, that was some blast, I haven’t a clue how much was in it, and Mike was our best bomb disposal expert, but he must have done something wrong, though there is nothing left of him now. It must have been a mistake, something that he screwed up, though it’s not like him to miss anything, I’m glad he had no family, so no one will miss him”

In The Loop

And it’s back to 00:59 again. How long will this go on? I cannot believe no one has come for me, I cannot believe I am stuck in a cellar with a bomb it a time loop.

This is driving me mad, I almost wish the bomb would go off, at least I wouldn’t be stuck in this cellar.

I can’t move, every time I get up and then find myself sitting on this chest watching the timer countdown that final minute over and over and over.

And the timer reset to 00:59

MysteryShort StorySci Fi
13

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • JBazabout a year ago

    Great concept....and so sad

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    Wow, enjoyed the story! Congratulations on 900 stories!🎉🎉🎉

  • Good captivating story. Well done.

  • Wowww, this was soooo captivating and I didn't expect the twist. I wonder how did he get stuck in a one minute time loop and if he will ever come out of it. Awesome story!

  • Gina C.2 years ago

    Wow - 900! That sure is an achievement! This was a very engaging piece! Thoroughly enjoyed it. Great job!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Congrats on 900. Great story.

  • 🌹❤️🚨🚨🚨🎉🔥🙏👍💋😇👑 Congrats 👏 Thanks for sharing Such a Compelling Story!!!!

  • Outstanding!

  • I really dig this! It's very Vonnegut, and coming from me, there's very little praise higher than that. Fantastic job!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    That was great!!! And happy 900th!! You kept up a nice pace in this that had be going, and the twist was even better. Well done :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.