Fiction logo

They Call Me Avalon

For the eternal dream that lives within us all

By Soleira GreenPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image by Rag’N’DroneMan www.ragndroneman.com

I have been asleep so long that even in my dreams the memory of the hall, where I had been summoned and sent forth, were drifting into obscure nothingness. It used to be that every few centuries an adept would come along and offer me her body and being to wreak wondrousness upon the planet ... and then the memories of my sending would surge forth. But it has been a long time since the last one came and the memories are almost gone.

I have been known by many names, but you may call me Avalon. I have been waiting … waiting for an acolyte, a priestess, a godling, an actualiser of that which I have been sent to do. I’m calling … Are you there? Are you ready? I yearn for this work to be fulfilled through us now. I am calling you. The winds are carrying my name to you. ‘Avalon’, they whisper to all who would hear. Come. Surrender. Let us begin the work we were sent forth to do.

* * * * * * *

“Avalon!”, they summoned me. And so I came from HER to them. The hall of my summoning going silent as I entered. The pitter patter of all those gods’ feet and the chitter chatter of all those gods’ teeth went absolutely silent ... deafeningly so. Inside this hall of glittering green and golden lights were beings so vast as to make you shudder in your dreams ... and they went silent for me. Me. For I was to undertake a mission so vast it would put an end to older dreamings. But I was not daunted by them. I had been prepared. I was ready. I would be the one to go, to put final the end to sorrow in the world of man, no matter the number of epochs it would take to make it so.

The head honcho of head honchos, the God of Gods you might call him, sat terrifyingly looming from his throne. But I was not afraid ... of him or any other of the Gods gathered here. I was the one to put silence to the clatter. I was the one who would go clean up their mess. We all know it takes a woman to clean up a man’s creation. It was ever so. And I would prove once again that the power of the Mother, the wisdom of the Goddess, the creations of the Femme, would overarch them all.

I did not care what they had to say. I did not need their pomp and circumstance to make them feel in some way a tiny part of Her advent. For SHE was alive in me and ever it would be so.

I would represent HER to the worlds and beyond for as long as I held form in the formless state of HER Embrace.

So I walked to that God’s throne. I listened to their platitudes and accepted the Mantle they placed on me. The world their God had created was trapped, lost between the sorrows of Woe and the rapture of Wonder. But never misunderstand. It was not really them who sent me forth, those tiny god creatures of long lost worlds. It was ever HER and only HER that I served and it was HER bidding that I was now set to do.

So send me forth God of Gods, for you do not frighten me. I am of the Mother of All Life and we shall win the war upon Infinity and Wonder shall find its rightful place upon your throne again.

So I smiled into their silence and began the walk that would seal my fate for thousands upon thousands of mankind’s years.

I come now peoples of Earth. You shall know me by the name of Avalon and I shall beat Wonder deep into the souls of all who meet me there.

* * * * * * *

At first the Mother went with me, sending scouts ahead to prepare the way. SHE knew there would be hard times to come, times when the memory of the Mother would fade from the existence of man and thereby diminish in those sent to do HER bidding.

But I was determined never to forget. I placed HER front and centre in my dreams and made of HER my heart. That the beating of it would ever remind me of HER Power. For SHE was not a docile creature with sad eyes and a weak smile the way that some began to paint HER in later years. SHE was a powerful force of fire and blood, of ferocious brilliantosity, of the kind of genius and power that could and would remake the worlds.

SHE made me of these forces and I too, l like many others sent to other worlds, was built of these things. Designed to withstand the dreary drip of time. Ready to power up at a moment’s notice the Forces that dwelt in HER and me.

But neither SHE nor I understood the force of apathy and forgetting that ran rampant on this planet. I tried to overcome it in my dreams by gifting them dreams of fire and blood. Not the violent kind, but the magical kind that stir the elements of creation in all who remember them.

For a while that worked and they came to me to worship HER. But then the Apathy became too strong and they forgot … and I grew weaker and weaker in my dreaming. But that was later and I rush ahead too fast. Let me tell you of the good times in those earlier millennia, some even before man began to mark his moments of time with hours and years. For those memories will lead us to now and the work that you and I are destined to do.

to be continued......

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Soleira Green

I love writing & have written a book called 'The Genius Game' (one of 10 books currently published). I love empowering people to unleash their brilliance into the world. Discover more about me at https://www.soleiragreen.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.