Fiction logo

The World Of Purple Mist

Purple Mist World

By Tiggerish Eeyore (Aaron Wood)Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

As I walked down the sunlit country road on a beautiful spring day towards the creek I liked to spend my Sunday afternoons the world suddenly turned a strange shade of violet with black shadow swirls dancing all around me. A woman appeared a short way in front of me, her blueish skin complimenting her black dress and sun hat well. At first, she was staring intently at the ground, as if nauseous or fascinated by something there. She slowly raised her head to look at me, a sinister smile crossed her face. The woman appeared to fall back into the swirling misty purple haze and vanished in a blink.

More than a little unnerved, I started walking faster and faster with the fog seeming to keep me within a bubble that I could never hope to escape. I broke into a run, my only goal being to break free from this purple prison and back into the sunlit road so I could return home and never speak of this again. A stitch in my side caused me to stop running, panting, and hunched over I looked around at my surroundings but nothing seemed familiar within the gloom. Gnarled and twisted blackened trees seemed to dance just outside of the bubble, an unnatural darkness appeared to be growing as I watched in terror.

A sound similar to a whoosh mixed with a slight sucking as if something had imploded erupted behind me. I turned my head and caught a glimpse of a swirling portal made from the shadowy purple mist as the woman from before grabbed my neck with a clawed hand, digging her nails into my skin so I could feel the blood dripping down my throat.

“W-wh-what do you want?” I gasped, frantically trying to break her hold while struggling for air.

I felt the woman's wispy hair brush against my ear as she brought her head over my right shoulder. “Lunch. I want lunch. You will make for a delectable meal. Human meat is by far the sweetest I have ever known. Your blood is like a rich gravy. Your soul makes for a delicious dessert. The bones and skin may yet also serve a purpose, I am in need of a new dress.” The lady sank her teeth deep into my shoulder and I let out a scream of pain. Releasing my shoulder with a sigh of ecstasy and relief. “Your screams only make my dinner that much sweeter, please scream more,” as she bit me again. I could feel her barbed tongue snaking out into my wound now, seeking to absorb all of the blood it could before slithering further into the wound.

I was starting to lose consciousness due to the rapid blood loss, I had to act fast. I twisted abruptly and brought my left fist up to punch this devil woman in the face. She released me upon impact, more out of surprise than actual pain but it was enough. I dropped like a stone but managed to tuck and roll into a run, desperately looking for a way out of this nightmare. A portal opened in front of me and the woman sent me flying backward with a solid smack from the back of her hand. I groaned in pain, rolling onto my stomach to crawl away. I found myself flying again as this monster grabbed me by my injured shoulder and threw me like a rag doll against a tree. I slumped against the tree, winded by the impact.

The woman approached me with hatred in her eyes as the tree reached out and grabbed me, lifting me off the ground out of her reach. “Give it back,” the woman spat. “Give me my meal back NOW!”

The tree lifted me higher and smacked the woman backward before shoving me into its trunk. The inside was damp and slippery, but I kept my eyes closed as I continued to feel myself moving. What felt like an eternity later, the motion stopped. I kept my eyes closed for a bit longer, terrified of what I might see. I squinted at my surroundings, then my eyes flashed open. Everything was normal, I could almost believe I had some kind of nightmare. Almost, except I was covered in a dark liquid from head to toe that might have been blood and the bite was still throbbing.

I ran home and hid since that day, three days ago now. I cleaned myself up as best as I could but the wound seems to be infected. Black veins have started to spread from it now and sunlight burns my eyes. A knock at the door, who could it be? I get up slowly and shuffle to the door. The door swings open slowly to the purplish world from the other day and the woman is floating just past the threshold. She parts her lips in a smile of sorts, blood dripping from her teeth.

“Welcome home, dear. When I tasted your flesh you became trapped in my world. I think I will keep you as a pet, you can prevent anyone else from escaping or I will plant you like a tree.”

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Tiggerish Eeyore (Aaron Wood)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.