Fiction logo

The Well in the Garden

Aria Grace

By Aria NorthPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
Like
The Well in the Garden
Photo by Josh Kahen on Unsplash

There is a legend surrounding the well that resides in the deepest part of the gardens on the royal estate. A legend that states that those with pure intentions would find success after visiting the well. Today I will be testing that out.

I had heard the legends my whole life. The well that sat somewhere on my estate would grant wishes to those with pure intentions. No one knew if that meant good, or evil.

I am tired of being the princess. Of all the state dinners and having to maintain my perfect image for the people of my kingdom. Tired of being paraded around like a prize horse to be married off when my elder brother was off in some opium den, knowing his future was secure as the next in line for the throne. I was tired of it all.

As I readied for yet another day of monotony, my mother entered my rooms, a huge smile splitting her face almost grotesquely. I groaned internally as it was likely yet another suitor she had invited to the castle.

“My dear you are going to fall in love with the young man you are meeting today.” She professed, not taking my more then obvious scowl into account.

“He is tall, handsome and first in line for his own throne. He is also devilishly charming and well educated. You could do no better and not could I in picking him out for you.” Good grief she would not shut up.

I retreated behind my changing screen and rubbed my temples, a headache forming already and it was only nine in the morning. My mothers shrill voice kept sounding off details of this new suitor and it was grating on my nerves.

“Mother, do you not think that you should let the prince inform me of what his personality is like?” I interrupted, adding on under my breath, “or lack thereof.”

My mother hastily agreed and bade me farewell as she went to plan yet another frilly occasion to show me off. As I finished getting dressed, I dismissed my lady’s maids and sought out the library. It was my one haven in this place.

I’d read almost every book I could get my hands on since I was young and had made my way into the more restricted sections a year earlier. A part of the library that housed tomes of evil magic and deeds that people only whispered about in dark alleys. Stories of ancient wizards and witches battling evil forces in the name of the kingdom so they were not thought of as evil themselves.

It was to these books that I found myself gravitating towards. I couldn’t help myself. Something about them felt right somehow. I pulled a book down from one of the higher shelves and sat at one of the small reading tables scattered around the library to devour the book. I flipped the cover over to find it was about the legendary well that I had heard of. I almost put it away when I saw it wasn’t just the story, but a map of how to find it as well.

Hiding the book in my skirts, I exited the library hastily, spouting that I was late to some event or other so the librarian wouldn’t find my quickened pace alarming. I made my way out into the gardens and hid behind a hedge that blocked me from the castles view. Opening the book again, I studied the map and found where I had to go. Turning left, I made my way deeper and deeper into the gardens, the trees here growing more wild and untended. It seemed the gardeners didn’t get out here often. Probably due to most of the revelry being closer to the castle itself. I eventually found a little beaten path that the map had led me to and made my way down it, lifting the skirts of my dress so it wouldn’t catch on anything as I had been taught and was now second nature to do.

As I emerged off the path, I came upon the well. It was as if time had not touched the area surrounding it, or the well itself. The clearing was so well kept, one would assume a gardener had been through here just this morning. The sunlight filtered through the trees to light my way to the well, my feet carrying me towards it without my instruction to do so. I peered down into the well curiously, only to find it empty. As I looked back up, I saw a small inscription on the stone around the opening of it.

“What you desire is within your grasp, should your intentions be pure.”

I looked down into the well once more and the desires I kept locked up inside me came bubbling to the surface. Desires of chaos and pain, of power and fear and never being at anyone else’s mercy.

A grin stretched over my face as magic crackled at my fingertips. This was going to be fun.

Short StoryFantasy
Like

About the Creator

Aria North

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.