Fiction logo

The Watcher

Night Watch

By Ashley SindonePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
The Watcher
Photo by Sebastian Unrau on Unsplash

I hid behind the thick cover of the leaves watching the mother. I sat on a wide oak branch under the cover of darkness. She looked around knowing there were preditors out there, waiting,watching for her to drop her guard. She wouldn't though, she was too new at this and so much in love.

She held her babies close to her, almost sitting on them to protect them. Does she not have anyplace to go for the night I wondered. I could tell she was afraid by the way her dark eyes widened and her head whipped around at any noise.

The babies were not afraid though; they were too young and too naive to sense the dangers of this world. There weren't many, just two... This would make it easier for the mother to protect. They were comforted snuggeled up in the warmth of her large thick bosom. She struggled to stay awake as her young fell into a dreamy sleep.

Sleep will eventually come to her, once she gets more used to the night, the forest.

I wish I had true love like that, I don't remember my mother. Instead the weaker of the world looks at me like a preditor. Like I am the one wanting to do the harm. Why? Because I watch them at night? I hide in the dark where I cannot be seen? That makes me the preditor?

I mean, sure I do have to kill every so often but everyone has to eat don't they? Isn't that the way of the world? Eat or be eaten? I only eat what I am supposed to eat. I do not over indulge or try to be stingy. Besides I usually pick the ones who do not seem to even have a chance in this world. I, actually help them! By taking them out of the misery this life has to offer.

I sigh at the realization that I can never change the cards that I have been handed. I can simply live with them and continue to do what I must. I am the watcher, I am the protector of the forest. Even if those who see me think I am a murdering creep.

I know that if this mother saw me she would take her babies and run, she would hide from me. I know her thoughts would be that I had intent to harm her. I have no interest in this mother and her babies, not tonight, not ever I do not think.

Her type is too much work to eat. I like a quick meal, with no struggle, no fight. I have a system and it works. Tonight, this mother and her babies are safe from me.

The cool breeze stirs up a scent of rain and wet leaves. It reminds me that the cold and snow will soon follow. I know that I must find a shelter before that happens. Last year I found a nice barn, I hid way in the back behind the hay. I think the farmer must have known I was there, he didn't seem to mind though.

The night goes silent as the forest falls into a deep sleep. Off in the distance I can see a rustle in the trees, ever so slight that if I had turned my head I may have missed it. A true preditor is coming, he is creeping on the ground like a filthy snake. This preditor does mean harm to the mother and her babies. He is sly, his stealth is better than anything that I could ever conjur up. However, my hearing is much better. I know that he is still a ways off but I can hear him coming.

His soft brown paws are slowly finding soft earth to land upon to stay as silent as possible. He lowers his body to the ground and slinks like a cat. His tail, however, stays high in the air. I cannot see it but I hear the sound it makes as it flicks back and forth creating the slightest breeze. He is too excited to stop his tail, too hungry.

Tonight is not the night for this fox. I allow him to come a little closer, make him think he has the advantage. I am feeling lazy and tired as the sun is just under the horizon. It is threatening to come up. I wait until he gets close enough that I have little work to do.

With one swift movement I open my wide arms and swoop down right over his head. My wings cut through the air like a hot knife melting butter away. Just as my face is right above his I scream a warning, loud, letting him know he has been seen by the watcher.

My scream jerks the mother duck awake, she knows that danger is iminent. She scoops her ducklings up and rushes to the water. They slide on her back with ease. Like a boat cutting through the ocean, she quickly moves her way to the middle of the pond. You are safe my dear, I think to myself.

However, I can't seem to ignore the side eye glance the mother duck gave as she saw me swivel around and back to my tree. My hiding place is now evident to her. My heart sinks knowing that she believes me to be the threat. I am once again reminded that love or appreciation may never find me.

As for the fox, I see his black tipped tail disapear deep in the forest. He too, has disdain for me. For he will go to bed hungry tonight.

The sun slowly starts to paint a yellow orange line on the horizon. I stretch my mouth into an open yawn as my eyes start to close.

Before I fall into my slumber I remember my father. I remember the task he had passed down to me. The task I will pass down if I do in fact ever have young of my own.

I am the watcher of the forest, I will keep the balance as it should be.

I am the barn owl.

Short Story

About the Creator

Ashley Sindone

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ashley SindoneWritten by Ashley Sindone

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.