Fiction logo

The Valley

Demis & Dragons

By Linda StanfillPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
The Valley
Photo by eberhard 🖐 grossgasteiger on Unsplash

There weren't always dragons in the valley. Up till now it was a serene spot that the Mage people like to dwell and take up positive space in. There were book sermons, how to properly use wands, and planet magic specialty classes. It was only recently that the dragons have taken up residence in the beautiful woods of the planet Coronet. There was a vicious fight between the dragons and the planetary demi-gods that drove them from their home and to stay on ours. My family and I are Mage people. We draw all strength from the planet and use it to power our way of life.

The war was horrible, and many dragons were slaughtered and those that were captured wish they were dead after the experiment's that the demi-gods used on them to test weaknesses. The dragons captured were strapped down and subjected from every form of torment from brutal beatings to test with different kinds of chemicals. Those that died quick were the lucky ones. Few made it out of the capture alive and fewer will speak of it to anyone. The horrors are unimaginable, and we don't want to see what happened. We can speak with dragons in a manner. They don't use words, but an experienced Mage can place their hands on the head of a dragon and receive the message that the dragon is trying to make. Only experienced one I add again because those of us that are in training are not at the level that this can be done safely. Others who have tried it and were not ready got unexpected complications such as pounding headaches lasting for days, even been blind and lost hearing.

After the war, (we call it the demi-dragon war) the dragons came to us peacefully wanting to exist and asking our help to make sure that the Demis wouldn't find them. Knowing that they were legit our elder mages cast a barrier around our plant allowing dragons to enter and no one else but us. They valley that used to be out place of serenity and peace became the place of peace for the dragons and a shelter of sort. We take care of them by food and sustainability, and they take care of us with traveling and location of dropped off goods and services. We have quite a nice and safe relationship as the elders protect the dragons from the Demis and the dragons help us with smaller threats like werewolves and bears.

This is the only issue with our circumstance. We are now vulnerable to outside threats and now Demis with attitude. We have known about them for years, but they were so full of themselves we didn't want to work with them, and we were too powerful for them to mess with, so we just left each other alone. If the Demis find out that we are harboring their arch nemesis, the dragons there will be another all-out war and no telling what this is going to look like. The Demis is strong and powerful like Hercules and other gods. Actual gods in their own right and they act like it too boot.

They know we possess strong magic from the planet and know that because of ancient history we protect ourselves pretty well. Thats the problem. No one has gotten into an actual fight with us in centuries and we are unprepared for any such kind of fight. The elders have grown fat and happy in their little food solitudes. Conjuring items is a required class in school and the elders take this much to seriously with their pastries, cakes, and ice cream deserts. Once upon a time one of the elders had a stroke from all the food he was conjuring up and eating. That is the fastest way to deplete your magic my mom says is to make everything you want to eat when you want to eat it. They went and conjured themselves diseases from the lack of care and concern with magic. A magical diabetic is something to see. They have to magically insert insulin into their bloodstream and check their wrist to see if the number changes. Where we are, all numbers, health factors, and statistics are withheld on a bracelet on your left hand. You can check everything at any time.

The whole room shakes, and you can hear the sound of the thunking when the books on the shelves start smacking the floor one by one. It's like someone had big hand and just pushed the whole library forward a few feet in a few seconds. Magical alarms are going off everywhere and the dragons are scared. The hell, I am scared! The alarm system turns the sky to red to alert everyone at once. My mother immediately calls my phone and asks if I am okay and if my friends are alright! I tell her that she is needlessly worrying but I guess all moms are like that. I tell her that I am fine, and we just took a jump is all. That and I feel bad for the librarian who has to pick up these books once this is all over.

Alarm central gets on the city-wide speaker and the mind readers send out special broadcasts to those that are only interpreting information by psychic intake. They say, " All planetary residence this is not a drill. All of you must go to your dwellings and stay there until further notice. More information will become available when we have it. Just do as we ask and go home. NOW! " Yes, I am scared but things like this have happened before usually when a defunct rocket gets tossed into our upper atmosphere it sets of the alarms as if someone sent it on purpose. Not often but it has happened before. Mom is on her way to get me and were going home. I'm grateful cause my next class was poison knowledge and cures and that is so boring I'd rather be in trouble. I'm Kaylar and I'm 18. In my last years of actual required training before I can pick which magical specialty I want to go into and start training for that. Thanks to the dragons there are more classes like Intro to dragon language, negotiating skills, and how to control a dragon.

Mom is going to be flying in any minute and I have to go. More on this later...

Okay, I'm home and back from school and tucked away in my magical loft that I created because mom said I could. Anyway, mom is freaking because the alarms were real, and she got a psychic message that we may be in more danger than we thought. Is it the Demis? Did they come to finish the destruction of the dragons? Are they that naive that they would be willing to take a chance taking on a powerful opponent just to kill and capture the remaining dragons that took shelter here? I guess we'll find out.

Mom says we need to go to the magical bunker with the dragons to make sure that they are safe as the elders investigate what happened and if there is more to this story than I am getting told? I'm currently packing my things and heading to the safe bunker protected by powerful magical warding that was designed for us come the unthinkable to happen. It's got to be bad if we are all going into the warding with the dragons. Suddenly the earth comes to a shift again and like the library I fall two feet forward in an instant as does my mom and the whole house. The floating streetlights are spinning and that is not a good sign.

The elder mages declare that we are going to a magical war, but with who? Why are we being attacked and is it the Demis? All are locked up tight and are safe and secure under the planets most powerful warding drawn from the planet's core as it exists. There is no stronger magic. Only a few of the most powerful must gather and combine their magic to come up with something so powerful. Even stronger than the warding around the planet making dragons invisible to onlookers. My mother casts a spell of protection around me to make sure that nothing harms me. Downside I can't pick up anything sharp either so crafting scissors are out. There is one last message before the psychic channels all go down and mom and the rest of the psychics are dropped like a psychic passing out.

It States: "Get your wands and powers at the ready they are coming... Coming for your (chidjfkdf)..." The message got jumbled at the worst possible moment too.... The only way I can fight is if I can overcome or get my mom to let down my warding which does not seem likely. A big whole gets ripped into the cover over the bunker and we are finally looking at our attacker. I can say, "This is not what I Expected"!

Then hell breaks loose, and the fun begins.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Linda Stanfill

I’m not what you expect but that has always been my best trait! I’m in the middle of a massive book undertaking and I’m trying pieces out here to see if it will be accepted! Like something??? Please let me know!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.