Fiction logo

The Uber Cat

The cat who drove an uber

By Tyler Simmonds Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
2

The only thing stranger than a talking cat is what I, Rue, have learned from speaking with humans. It’s not so much the things they say, though that by itself is strange enough. It’s more how they say it; always with an undertone of complaint, murmurings of discontent or outright anger about everything from the weather to politics to who knows what.

It shocks me to observe how humans function, the way their brains work, or don’t work. They complain about everything and nothing. The same topics are discussed over and over in a state of near-constant dissatisfaction. I have a very hard time understanding why they do this.

As a cat, I simply observe, accepting the world and its conditions as they are. We cats have no desire to change, improve, or speculate on the reasons behind why things are the way they are. We just accept them, and we’re better off for it.

What I’ve seen of the human way of life, however, is a laborious effort to constantly improve and move. Whether it’s with their appearance, their homes, or their relationships, humans appear to feel the necessity to constantly improve and move. While admirable and sometimes beneficial, it also produces huge amounts of stress, worry, and dissatisfaction.

I don’t know if this is a natural or learned behavior, but it’s one that I will never understand. To me it seems a futile effort, since so much of life is not in our control. I see humans getting worked up over things they can’t change, or complaining about their problems instead of facing them.

It’s like they’re trying to make a mountain out of a molehill. There is no denying that there is pain and suffering in this world, but it seems to me that wallowing in it is not the best use of our time.

What’s worse, sometimes this dissatisfaction is spread to people close to them, making those around them feel terrible as well. To make it even worse, it’s often the people we love and care about the most.

I’d like to think that humans are capable of changing, that they can learn to accept things they can’t change, and to worry less about the stuff that isn’t as important.

So after much contemplation, I decided the only way to truly understand and make sense of the human's bizarre behavior was to join them and experience it for myself. Thus I decided to put on a wig and fake mustache and take a job as an Uber driver. After all, what better way to really get a view of the world than through the eyes of one who takes the backseat to so many different passengers? I had to see firsthand the level of anger and discontent that humans indulge in on a daily basis!

Long story short, it didn’t take long before I realized that humans weren’t just a bit strange - they were downright bonkers. From the angry rides about lost items to the heated political debates, being an Uber driver proved to be a real eye-opening experience.

I did discover one thing though; sometimes humans need to let off some steam and let out their inner free spirit. So to them I say - if you want to be truly free, just spread those wings and ride in an Uber! It’s the perfect way to escape the monotony of life, if only for a few glorious moments at a time.

Just when I thought I had seen it all, something new and more bizarre than the last would pop up and take me by surprise. The truth? I loved it.

I laughed, I cried, I yelled and shouted my way through dozens of different scenarios - and even if sometimes the outcomes weren't always the prettiest, I felt more alive on the road as an Uber driver than I ever had before.

It was as if I had found the great American dream, with each new ride I took, I felt a sense of freedom and a newfound appreciation for the simple, yet chaotic beauty that human life has to offer. The world is a strange and wonderful place, and with every new passenger comes a unique combination of challenges and opportunity - it's up to each of us to make the most of it.

Humor
2

About the Creator

Tyler Simmonds

Tyler Simmonds is an Award Winning Canadian Film Director and Keynote Speaker. Tyler is a writer who pulls from real life experiences. Combining fact with fiction, darkness with light. Using words to test the boundaries of fear.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel M.Jabout a year ago

    I love this, "Long story short, it didn’t take long before I realized that humans weren’t just a bit strange - they were downright bonkers."

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.