Fiction logo

Father-daughter Dance

The Beginning of The End

By E. W. LynnPublished 15 days ago 3 min read
Like
Father-daughter Dance
Photo by Chip Vincent on Unsplash

One hot tear trickled free. The billowing white dress surrounding me, reminds me of the dreams I always had as a little girl. Spinning around the dance floor I knew the moment would end all too soon. The song had only a few verses left.

Over my dance partner's shoulder, I see the river of tears spilling from my mother's eyes.

"How does it feel?" my father asked as the song of a father's love surrounded us. All the onlookers wanted to see the bittersweet smiles.

"Surreal," I say. I think of the vows I said in front of nearly three hundred people only a few hours ago.

He squeezed my hand bringing my attention back to him rather than being focused on Mama. "That will all change, one day," he promised.

I wasn’t sure what his words meant--wasn’t sure if I wanted to. But the more I tried not to think about it the more my brain obsessed over it and raced through scenarios. Would the feelings change between us? One day would I choose something different? Will I be able to?

"Where is the honeymoon again?" He has only asked me a dozen times in the weeks leading up to the nuptials.

"St. Marteen, Daddy," I said shifting my gaze to my husband. His confident posture could be seen tall and proud at the edge of the dance floor, it told me all I needed to know. The heat in his eyes was enough to make my steps faulter.

"Forgetting the steps?" Daddy asked as I stumbled over my own feet. These heels made moving nearly impossible. I barely reached my father's chin without them, now I stood eye-level. In those eyes I could see the man who'd always bent over backward to give me and my sister everything we ever wanted. Today they looked more tired than usual.

"Are you okay?" I asked. Although I didn't expect him to tell me the truth.

His grip on me increased again as we spun around one last time.

The song was nearing its finish, and I couldn't help the lump growing in my throat. At any moment I would be handed back over to my husband. The title still sounded foreign even to my own thoughts, regardless of the fact that we spent months planning this elaborate celebration. A commemoration of the bonding of our lives.

"I just worry about you dear."

I could read between the lines. I knew what he’s leaving unsaid. So, instead of telling him lies neither of us would believe I smiled at him. My way of telling him I would be okay, I am strong, I will do what I need to do.

The pain growing in my chest and throat had nothing to do with the fact that I wasn't going to be his sweet and innocent little girl for much longer. Before I had a chance to steel myself, the song was over and I was flung into the chest of the man who wanted me for one reason and one reason only.

He was so handsome, most wouldn’t realize there was a devil behind those sparkling eyes and easy smile.

"Hello, Darling," he purred. "How was your dance?"

"Fine," I say not meeting his eyes.

"Bek, look at me." There was an urgency to his voice. His eyes formed into slits as he examined me, I hated the feel of those piercing eyes on me. "Do you know what led us to getting married?"

I should my head so slightly I was surprised he noticed. The only thing I was told was his father demanded it. His eyes swelled and simultaneously grew dark, there it is. The devil.

"Wendy, your sweet little sister is the reason you're standing here with me. It was supposed to be her, but your father and stepmother negotiated."

My gaze moved from my Mama and her tear-streaked face to my father standing with my stepmother and sister. "Why?" I asked on an exhale, it was as if the wind had been knocked out of me.

"She was trespassing, selling herself in my father's territory. So, he gave your father a way to keep her out of the ranks with the rest of the prostitutes."

My throat went dry as the lump I'd been avoiding earlier came back full force.

"They traded your life for hers. They sold you to my father."

My knees buckled; he kept me upright.

"I meant those vows. I will keep you safe, even from my father."

Somehow, I believed him, all while everything else in my life crumbled around me.

Short Storythriller
Like

About the Creator

E. W. Lynn

I love to read and am now beginning to enjoy writing.

I aspire to be a published author, as a hobby. I currently have 4 novel ideas going.

Wish me luck! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.