Fiction logo

The Twelve Days of Choir

a short story

By Erin GreyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Twelve Days of Choir
Photo by David Beale on Unsplash

Day One

Why did Mama sign me up for this choir camp anyway?! Is it because it's a holiday thing? Where we sing about Christ and Christmas and all that other stuff? Blegh. I'm not even that good. I only got put on one piece - The Twelve Days of Christmas - and everyday we're talking about each object we sing about. Today was about the partridge in a pear tree. They didn't even explain what a PARTRIDE is! The other items make sense (I guess), but what does a pear tree have to do with anything?

I really hate this camp.

Day Two

Some girl keeps eyeing me. I dunno what she expects from me, but certainly not a solo at the concert, or a serenade. Heh, maybe I'll get her a partridge in a pear tree. They talked about it yesterday - it could symbolize courtship. But I'm not looking for a relationship. Besides, we'd need two partridges and no pear trees for to make sense.

Day Three

What is the stupid difference between a French hen and a regular hen? NOTHING. Literally nothing. They're making it out to be some sort of big deal, when in reality, it's only the location of where the bird is born. Is this the reason they think the carol is French in origin, because of this one line? I swear Mama, this is not making me want to continue choir in school anymore.

Oh, and that girl? Yeah, she sat with me at lunch break yesterday. Did I speak? No, well, only one words. I was too busy eating my chicken and french fries, which I guess what to represent French hens. Whatever.

Day Four

Why. Is. This. Song. All. About. Birds. Why can't other animals be involved? I think this is discrimination against other species in the animal kingdom. Apparently there's a solo in the concert, and of course Mama wants me to try out for it. I said hell NO. I can't even sing that good, I only do choir in high school for fun, and certainly don't want to do FAITH BASED choir.

Girl and I joked about the partridge and a pear tree thing. She likes pears, but not birds, fun fact. So she'd just want a pear tree in a pear tree. Interesting concept.

Day Five

Can I sell the golden rings so I can have enough money to get out of this camp? The only saving grace right now is lunch time and Melanie. She's pretty funny, not gonna lie. She's in a similar situation like me, doesn't wanna be here, but her dad is the pastor in charge of the camp. Bless her soul, I don't know how I'd live if I had to live with a pastor.

They served pears with lunch today. Oh the irony.

Day Six

Thank god they didn't serve geese today at lunch, I think all of the kids would've riot. Although the one youth leader showed us geese memes, so I guess it's kinda okay.

They began prepping the church auditorium for the showcase, and guess what types of trees they put in?

Stupid. Pear. Trees.

Day Seven

Over halfway done, thank god. Auditions were today and somehow my name was added?! Bet you the seven swimming swans Mama emailed the director to put me on the list. Melanie thought my voice was nice, even though I knew I was only half trying.

Also found out the pear trees are fake. How lame. If you're going to decorate the church to look garish as hell, at least use the real stuff.

Day Eight

I GOT THE SOLO!? HOW?!??!

I think Mama bribed someone. I've done a couple solos before so it's not THAT intimidating, it's more of the fact I don't WANT to. Melanie and I exchanged phone numbers to send goose and milk memes during rehearsal. Almost got caught by the song director. Almost.

We're tempted to protest about the lack of real pear trees in the auditorium. She drafted a letter and everything. At least someone else thinks this is rather hilarious.

Day Nine

They brought in a dance troop to perform for us. Ridiculous. So excited for this stupid camp to be over. Found out Melanie is from a neighboring school district and is considering the same college I am, what a bloody coincidence. She told me her letter is going for an 'appeal' to her dad, wonder what that means. Maybe he's considering it? Hell if I know. I'm just here for the drama.

Day Ten

Mama wants to bring the whole family. She's happy I'm embracing our 'culture'. Religion isn't a culture but whatever. Can't wait to tell her I'm an atheist after I go to college in a couple years.

The pear trees got replaced, and some of the men dressed up as 'lords' and leapt across the room. I had to take a video for Melanie - she had to get fitted in her choir outfit.

Day Eleven

Dress rehearsal went fine I guess. I don't get nervous performing solo, I guess playing lacrosse helps with that. And you wouldn't guess what they brought in today.

Eleven god damn pipers.

Did they play the pipes well? No. Were they even pipes? No, they were those stupid recorders kids learn in fourth grade. They also told us we had a surprise for tomorrow night's concert. I wonder if it'll be a pear tree replacing the Christmas tree. Melanie joked about it and it was too good to pass up.

Day Twelve

Melanie asked me to dinner with a pear, promising it would be 'peary fun'. I wasn't expecting the pun, but it worked in the end.

Oh, the concert? It turned out as good as a youth choir could sound with someone teaching who doesn't have a music degree. Mama met Melanie and told me that I did gain a new friend from the experience, along with 'furthering my faith'.

Yeah, only one of those things was right. So I guess I am glad I came to the camp. Thanks Mama, I might owe you one.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Erin Grey

A creator of many different types of media - including writing! Currently a graduate student in PA, I love to write mostly science fiction work (and fan fiction - but that's on a different site). Published author - ask for more info!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.