Fiction logo

The Countdown

Just a Minute Entry

By Madi HaywoodPublished 15 days ago 2 min read
Like

Start.

My fingertips barely brushed against the cold button before the vibrations started up. A dull, orange light lit up the box and enlgihtened the mug inside it, which started slowly spinning on the round glass plate.

The timer beside the translucent window appeared, bright orange lines connecting to make the oddly angular numbers.

00:59

My feet moved of their own accord, taking me to the laundry room, where a basket of clothes sat patiently waiting to be washed.

With one hand, I clicked open the washing machine and fumbled for the tide pods box.

My knee held open the door as I leaned across the room to drag the basket closer. A moment later, the door slammed shut and the machine started to spin.

Racing back to the kitchen, I glanced at the timer.

00.37

Damn, longer than I thought.

My hands found the kitchen tap, and switched on the hot water, slowly filling the washing bowl. A few drips of Fairy Liquid later and it started bubbling up nicely.

I turned around to head to the living room for a moment, and almost face-planted the floor. Under my feet, I noticed, was a blonde, armless barbie doll. Her dress, once pink and sparkly, now resembled the rags that Cinderella's stepsisters turned her ballgown into.

I let out a frustrated groan, collected the limbless doll, and walked the four steps to the toy basket in the corner.

As usual, it was surrounded with mess. I wasted a few precious seconds picking up after the kids.

There's not really much point, really. All the toys are going to be out on the floor again within the next hour anyway.

Raised voices came through the wall.

"Give me the remote!"

"It's MINE!"

I rolled my eyes so hard I thought I might start seeing through the back of my skull.

"MUM! Danny's not SHARING!"

I suppressed the urge to scream back. "I'll just be a minute, be nice to your sister!"

I couldn't hear what they said in response, but the quietened voices of bickering floated through the air.

At least they weren't being so loud the neighbours would complain.

The time on the microwave flashed.

00.10

With the remaining time, I quickly brushed a tea towel over the counters, wiping away water droplets and brushing toast crumbs onto the grey tiles, in the path of the roomba. He hungrily ran over the mess, leaving a shiny clean floor behind him. (His name was Gary, named by my daughter when she was four.)

The sink was almost overflowing with bubbles, so I fliched the tap off, and reached out to the microwave.

00.01

I tried to hit the button in time, so it wouldn't start the shrill beeping, but I was a second too late.

PING!

I clicked open the door, and it swung open before me.

There sat my re-heated cup of tea, lightly steaming and begging for escape.

After a moment's thought, I took it out, and placed it on the counter after one quick sip.

Ouch, too hot.

Better wait for it to cool down again.

"MUUUUUUM!"

Sigh.

Microfiction
Like

About the Creator

Madi Haywood

Hi there! My name's Madi and I'm an aspiring author. I really enjoy reading modernised fairy tales, and retellings of classic stories, and I hope to write my own in the future. Fantasy stories are my go-to reads.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.