Fiction logo

The Three Wishes

Kevin is granted three wishes from a mysterious source

By Roy TsukishimaPublished about a year ago 5 min read
1
The Three Wishes
Photo by Andrey Svistunov on Unsplash

Kevin is a 27-year-old single male who is walking through the park when he notices a squirrel in distress. As he crept up to it, he saw the squirrel had his back left leg caught in a snare. At this moment, Kevin was not sure what to do. He thought if he tried to help the squirrel, it might try to bite him, but Kevin decided to act after thinking it over for a few seconds. He slowly walked up to the squirrel, talking to it, trying to remain calm.

"Take it easy, little buddy. I am only trying to help you." Kevin reached out and was surprised the squirrel didn't react. Kevin thought maybe the squirrel knew he was trying to help. Kevin grabbed the squirrel's leg and was able to loosen the snare and remove it from the squirrel.

Kevin let go of the squirrel and said to it, "There you go, you should be good to go."

"Thanks for your help." Said the squirrel

"Did you just say something to me?" Asked a bewildered Kevin

"Yes, I said thanks for your help."

"I didn't know squirrels could talk?"

"Well, I am a special squirrel with magical powers, and because you helped me, I will help you."

"And how can you help me?"

"I said, I have magical powers. For helping me with my problem, I will grant you three wishes."

"Do you expect me to believe that you can grant me three wishes?"

"You question my magical powers, but you don't seem to question my ability to speak."

"Ok, you got me there. You must have magical powers to talk to me, so maybe I should believe you when you tell me you will grant me three wishes. I have a question. In all fairy tales, they seem to grant three wishes. Why is it always three wishes?"

"Well, I guess it is because two might not be enough, and four may be too many."

"That sounds sensible. So how do these wishes work?"

"You tell me your three wishes, and tomorrow morning after you wake up, your wishes will be granted. Now there are a few rules I must explain to you. First, one of your wishes can't be to ask for more wishes. Second, what you wish for must be physically possible. For example, you can't wish to live forever. Third, once you make your wish, it can't be undone, and finally, be careful what you wish for as your wish may have unintended consequences, so make sure you know exactly what you want."

Kevin thought briefly and replied, "That sounds good, so do I give you my wishes now?"

"If you are ready, but if you need some time, I can let you think about it for a few minutes."

"Ok, my first wish is easy, as I want to be rich, so I wish for $1 Billion. I don't want any tax implications, so I want this money to be tax-free. I also don't want the police coming after me, so I don't want this money coming from illicit sources, such as the drug trade. My second wish would be that I am married to a beautiful sexy woman. I want her to be intelligent, caring, and thoughtful, have a good sense of humor and personality and share many of my interests. I want her to be around the same age as me and love me for who I am, not my wealth. Now for my third wish, what should I wish for?" Kevin thought for a few minutes before deciding. "Since I will have wealth and the perfect wife, my last wish would be for the benefit of all humanity. My third and final wish is that there will no longer be wars between nations and no longer violence among humans. I want everyone to be tolerant of other races, gender, and sexual orientation. I want enough food and clean water for everyone and all children to grow up in a safe environment."

"Are you sure that is what you want?"

"Yes, these are the three wishes I want to be granted."

"Then it will be done. Go home, and your three wishes will be granted when you wake up tomorrow morning."

"That sounds great. Thanks for everything."

"Don't thank me yet. I will see you in the morning to see if you are happy with your wishes."

Kevin nodded in agreement and then said goodbye and headed home. When Kevin got home, he was not sure what to do. He didn't want to tell anyone as no one would believe him, as he wasn't sure if he believed it himself.

Kevin didn't sleep well as he tossed and turned all night, excited about what would happen in the morning.

When Kevin awoke in the morning, he wasn't sure what was happening as he was surrounded by thick fog and could not see anything.

After a few minutes, he heard a familiar voice.

"Good morning Kevin." Said the squirrel.

"What is happening here? This is not what I wished for."

"I told you to be careful what you wished for. Your third wish was to end all wars, violence, and hatred among humans. The only way to grant your wish was to eliminate all humans from the planet."

"Wait, this is not what I wanted. Please reverse it."

"I told you that you can not undo your wishes, and I warned you that your wish may have unintended consequences."

"But I don't understand why you must eliminate all humans from the planet. There must be some humans who qualify to exist in this new world?"

"Think about it, Kevin. Throughout the existence of humanity, there have always been wars, and there has always been violence. People around the world are always suffering. This is built into your DNA, so unfortunately, humans can not exist in this new world you created. If it makes you feel any better, humanity did not have long before they would be wiped off the planet by mother nature."

"No, that does not make me feel any better. So what happens to me now?"

"Well, you exist now in a temporary environment. You are only here so that I can explain to you what happened. Now that you know what happened, you will fade from existence."

"Well, that sucks." Says Kevin as he slowly fades away.

Fable
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.