Fiction logo

The Oval Office Wall

A story about the most powerful man in the world

By Roy TsukishimaPublished about a year ago 8 min read
1

If walls could talk, I would have a lot to say as I am a wall in the Oval Office of the White House. Over the years, I have partaken in many top-secret meetings, and I don't want to reveal classified information, so I won't discuss these. But there is one incident that happened a few years ago that I would like to tell.

There was a group of school children taking a tour of the White House, and on this day, the President allowed the group of children, who were about 9 or 10 years old, to visit him in the Oval Office. After taking a few questions from the children, the group left the office, but one girl stayed behind. At first, the President thought everyone had left, and it wasn't until the little girl walked around the desk that the President could see the child.

"Oh, someone is still here. What's your name?"

"My name is Cathy Johnson."

"Shouldn't you be with the rest of your classmates?"

"Maybe, but I wanted to talk to you in private."

"Really? What would you like to talk about?"

"I have a problem that maybe you can help me with."

"What is your problem?"

"There is a boy in my class, Billy Turner, who has been harassing me for a while now. I have talked to my parents and my teacher, but there is nothing they can do as Billy's father is the Mayor of our town, and he controls everything. My father says the Mayor has ties to organized crime and is untouchable, and the police force is run by a corrupt and stupid Chief who is useless."

"That is an interesting problem you have there. How do you think I can help you?"

"There are people who work for you that can help me. The agency is called the CIA, and I would like you to assign someone from this agency to eliminate my problem."

"Don't you think that is a little drastic for a bully?"

"No, I think that is what Billy deserves."

"Well, sorry young lady, but I can't assign someone from that agency to do your little dirty work. Maybe you should talk to Billy and see if you can straighten things out with him."

"I tried that, and he just laughed at me and said he would torment me even more now. So, I got fed up with him and kicked him in his balls, and when he fell to the ground, I punched him in the nose, jumped on him, and continued to punch him until a teacher pulled me off of Billy. After that incident, I got expelled for a week and was told to apologize to Billy. The Mayor also threatened to have my father fired from his job if I ever did something like that again. Now, Billy torments me all the time, and there is nothing the teacher or my parents can do."

"That is some problem you have there, young lady, but I am not sure there is anything I can do to help."

"But you are the President of the United States, and my father says you are the most powerful man in the world. If you can't help me, then I guess no one can help me."

"Sorry, Cathy, but there are some things that even the President can't help you with."

"Ok, I guess I have to figure this out myself." Says a dejected Cathy as she slowly turns away. "You have a good day, Mr. President."

"You have a good day yourself, Cathy."

After Cathy left his office, the President called up the Attorney General and asked him to come to his office.

A few minutes later, the Attorney General entered the Oval Office. "What can I do for you, Mr. President."

"I had an interesting conversation with a young lady. Her name is Cathy Johnson, and she is in the fifth grade at Lincoln Elementary School in Parkland, Ohio. The town's Mayor is Mr. Turner, but I didn't get his first name. His son Billy is tormenting the young lady, and no one can help her since the Mayor is powerful and is said to have ties to organized crime. She tried to take matters into her own hands by beating up little Billy, but she got into trouble by doing that, and now she is helpless from Billy's bullying."

"And what is it you want me to do?"

"I want you to assign someone from the FBI to investigate this young lady's claim."

"Are you sure you want to involve the FBI in such a trivial matter? Shouldn't local police handle this?"

"Cathy says the Chief of Police is also corrupt and is probably paid off by the Mayor. If Cathy is correct that the Mayor has ties to organized crime, we need to get the FBI involved."

"If that is what you want, I will assign an FBI agent to investigate."

"Good, keep this under wraps and have the agent report directly to you. Let me know what you find out."

"I have an agent I can trust, and I will contact him immediately, Mr. President."

"Thanks, George."

The meeting wrapped up, and the Attorney General left the Oval Office. About two months later, the Attorney General called the President and asked for a meeting.

The Attorney General entered the Oval Office and met with the President.

"Good morning Mr. President."

"Good morning George. What can I do for you this morning."

"Remember that request you gave me from that little girl, Cathy Johnson?"

"Yes, of course, I remember that."

"Well, I have a report from my agent."

"Very good; what do you have to report?"

"My agent checked, and the girl told you the truth. Billy Turner has been bullying Cathy for a while now, and because his father is the Mayor, no one can help the young lady. The Police Chief is a corrupt ignoramus who is no help as he is indeed on the Mayor's payroll. Cathy did beat up Billy and did get expelled for a week, and the Mayor threatened her father that he would lose his job if this ever happened again.

The agent checked if the mayor had ties to organized crime, and he found a direct tie to Cleveland's Lonardo crime family. We wiretapped the Mayor's phone at his office and house, as well as the Chief of Police phones, and we have the Mayor and the Chief on tape confessing to numerous crimes, including drug trafficking and extortion."

"Do do have enough evidence to make an arrest?"

"Yes, we have enough to arrest the Mayor and several of his staff, plus the Chief of Police and several deputies."

"When does your agent plan on making the arrests?"

"He is going to make the arrests tomorrow at 8:00 AM. I wanted to inform you of these arrests before it happens. We are planning on hitting the Mayor's office and the Police station simultaneously to arrest the Mayor and the Chief of Police."

"Thanks, George. I will let little Cathy know her problems will soon be over."

After the Attorney General left the Oval Office, the President got his secretary to call the Johnson family.

"Hello." says Mrs. Johnson.

"Hello, Mrs. Johnson. Can I talk to your daughter Cathy?"

"Who may I say is calling?"

"This is the President speaking."

"Did you say you are the President?"

"Yes, I am the President."

"Who do you think you are kidding? Why would the President of the United States want to talk to my daughter?"

"I met your daughter a couple of months ago when she visited the White House with her classmates. I am not sure if Cathy told you, but we had a little discussion between just the two of us."

"Cathy did tell us that she talked to the President, but we did not believe her."

"Cathy was telling the truth, and I need to talk to her if she is available."

Mrs. Johnson was unsure if she could believe who wanted to talk to Cathy, but after a moment's hesitation, she called Cathy to the phone.

"Hello." Says Cathy

"Hello there, Cathy. Do you recognize my voice?"

Cathy thought for a second and replied, "You sound like the President."

"That is correct; I am the President."

"What can I do for you, Mr. President."

"You remember that problem of yours you told me about."

"Of course, I remember. You are talking about Billy."

"Yes, I am letting you know that your problems will be resolved tomorrow. I can't give you any detail yet, and you shouldn't tell anyone about our conversation until tomorrow afternoon.

"Wow, that is great, Mr. President; I can't wait to find out what happens tomorrow."

"I knew you would be excited, and I am so glad I could help you with your problem."

"I knew I was talking to the right person when I met you. If the President of the United States couldn't fix my problem, then no one could. Thanks, Mr. President. I will have to tell my father that he was wrong when he told me you are not fit to be President."

"Thank you, Cathy; I am glad there is someone out there who thinks I am fit to be President. Unfortunately, you are not old enough to vote."

"Thanks again, Mr. President; Goodbye, and have a nice day."

"Goodbye, Cathy, and you have a nice day also."

The next day Mayor Turner and several of his staff were arrested, as well as the Chief of Police and several deputies.

When the arrests were made, the FBI let everyone know that little Cathy Johnson was responsible for the arrests.

From that point on, Billy Turner never bothered Cathy Johnson again.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.